Prior to September 27, 1906, an immigrant who wished to naturalize could do so in any court in any jurisdiction. The process could start in one court and complete it another, even in a state hundreds of miles away. This makes finding early naturalization records challenging. The naturalization process changed over time. In 1790, the first Naturalization Law required an individual to be a resident of the United States for two years and at least one year in the state where the naturalization took place. The law changed in 1795 to require a Declaration of Intention three years before the naturalization and that the individual needed to be a resident of the United States for at least five years and a resident of their state for at least one year. In 1898 the law was changed to require fourteen years residency before naturalization. In 1802 congress changed the requirement back to five years. A law in 1804 permitted naturalization of aliens residing in the United States between 1798 and 1802 to naturalize without a declaration. Another law permitted aliens who served in the union army during the Civil War to obtain citizenship with only one year of residence and without a declaration. The law changed again in 1906. The new version required the naturalization process to be executed in the Federal Courts rather than the state courts. History and Genealogy has an every name index to these post 1906 naturalizations on its website. https://www.slcl.org/content/saint-louis-missouri-naturalization-index
Married women did not naturalize independently of their husbands until after the 19th amendment. If he was a citizen, she was a citizen. If he was an alien, she was an alien. If he naturalized, she and their minor children were naturalized too. African Americans were blocked from citizenship by birth or naturalization until after the civil war and the passage of the 14th amendment. Chinese and by extension other Asians were prohibited from naturalizing by the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882. In some cases, Chinese Americans had their previous naturalizations annulled. The law was to last for ten years, but was not fully repealed until 1965.
To facilitate research in these records, both the Missouri State Archives and the St. Louis Genealogical Society maintain online every name indexes to these records. This finding aid can be used to take the information from either of these indexes to learn the FamilySearch DGS # and the History & Genealogy film number.
Newman, John J., American Naturalization Processes and Procedures, 1790-1985. Indianapolis: Family History Section, Indiana Historical Society, 1985. Call no. R 323.6 N553A and 323.6 N553A
Newman, John J., American Naturalization Records, 1790-1990: What They Are and How to Use Them. Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998. Call no. 929.1 N553A
The Missouri State Archives index, located at https://s1.sos.mo.gov/records/archives/archivesdb/naturalization/, provides, among other information, the Missouri State Archives film number that contains the record. The first portion of this finding aid organizes the films by the Missouri State Archives film number but includes both the FamilySearch number and the History & Genealogy Film Number.
C 25758
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Declaration of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
02 Jan 1850 Mar 1854 19 1 7793523 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
03 Mar 1854 Dec 1854 19 2 7793523 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
04 Jan 1850 Nov 1855 19 3 7793523 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
Volume 4 does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
C 25759
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Declaration of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
05 Nov 1855 Aug 1858 20 1 7793524 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
06 pp1-729 Aug 1858 Feb 1869 20 2 7793524 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
Volumes 5 and 6 do not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
C 25788
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Declaration of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
06 pp728-951 Aug 1871 Aug 1871 21 1 7793525 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
07 Aug 1871 Dec 1877 21 2 7793525 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
08 Jan 1878 Oct 1890 21 3 7793525 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
Volumes 6, 7, and 8 do not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
C 25789
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 pp1-139 Nov 1842 Feb 1869 22 5 7793526 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
03 Nov 1842 Dec 1845 22 2 7793526 Missouri Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
09 Apr 1866 Oct 1866 22 4 7793526 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
Second and Soldiers Papers
C 25790
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 pp139-159 Oct 1866 May 1869 23 1 7793527 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
02 Oct 1866 Sep 1868 23 2 7793527 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
03 May 1869 Oct 1872 23 3 7793527 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
04 pp1-249 Oct 1872 Oct 1876 23 4 7793527 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
Volumes 3 and 4 do not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the indvidiual volumes are indexed
C 25792
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Minors Naturalization Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
06 pp382-498 Sep 1890 Dec 1892 25 1 7793529 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
07 Dec 1892 Oct 1896 25 2 7793529 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
08 pp1-179 Dec 1892 Sep 1896 25 4 7793529 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
C 25793
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Declaration of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
08 pp178-600 Oct 1896 Apr 1903 25 3 7793529 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
09 Jan 1891 Dec 1896 26 3 7793530 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
17 Jan 1899 Apr 1903 26 4 7793530 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
Volume 9 does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the indvidiual volumes are indexed.
This records for Volume 7 is inexplicably labeled as Item 5 but there are only 4 items on the roll.
C 25794
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Second & Soldiers Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
11 Oct 1872 Oct 1876 27 1 7793531 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
12 Oct 1876 Sep 1886 27 2 7793531 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
13 Oct 1872 Aug 1888 27 3 7793531 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
15 pp1-259 Oct 1892 Sep 1896 27 4 7793531 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
C 25795
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Second & Soldiers Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
15 pp258-390 Sep 1896 Sep 1896 28 1 7793532 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
16 Sep 1896 Dec 1898 28 2 7793532 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
C 25796
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
14 Aug 1888 Oct 1892 29 1 7793533 Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
C 25797
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 Nov 1816 Dec 1819 30 1 7638947 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
02 Dec 1819 Aug 1821 30 2 7638947 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
03 pp1-312 Nov 1816 Feb 1824 30 3 7638947 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25798
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
03 pp331-428 Oct 1824 Jul 1824 31 1 7638794 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
04 Oct 1824 Jun 1827 31 2 7638794 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
05 Jul 1827 Apr 1830 31 3 7638794 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
06 pp1-163 Apr 1830 Aug 1831 31 4 7638794 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25799
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
06 pp162-521 Aug 1831 May 1833 32 1 7638793 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
07 Jul 1833 Dec 1835 32 2 7638793 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
08 pp1-377 Jul 1833 Nov 1837 32 3 7638793 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25800
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
08 pp376-423 Mar 1838 Dec 1837 33 2 7638792 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
09 Mar 1838 Dec 1839 33 2 7638792 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
10 Dec 1839 Jun 1840 33 3 7638792 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
11 pp1-259 Jul 1840 Sep 1841 33 4 7638792 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25801
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
11 pp258-503 Jan 1841 Jan 1841 34 11 7638791 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1956
12 Jan 1841 Aug 1841 34 2 7638791 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816- 1856
13 Oct 1841 Feb 1843 34 3 7638791 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816- 1856
14 pp1-275 Apr 1843 Dec 1843 34 4 7638791 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25802
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
14 pp274-461 Apr 1844 Mar 1844 35 1 7638790 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
15 Apr 1844 Jan 1845 35 2 7638790 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
16 Jan 1845 Dec 1845 35 3 7638790 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816- 1856
17 pp1-239 Dec 1845 Apr 1846 35 4 7638790 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25803
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
17 pp238-629 Jun 1847 Jun 1847 36 1 7638789 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
18 Jun 1847 Dec 1848 36 2 7638789 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
19 Jan 1849 May 1850 36 3 7638789 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25804
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
20 May 1850 Mar 1851 37 1 7638788 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
21 Apr 1851 Apr 1852 37 2 7638788 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
22 May 1850 Feb 1853 37 3 7638788 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25805
St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
23 Feb 1853 Dec 1853 38 1 7638787 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
24 Jun 1854 Apr 1855 38 2 7638787 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
25 Feb 1853 May 1856 38 3 7638787 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
C 25806
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Declarations of Ailens & Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 Jul 1844 Dec 1849 39 1 7793712 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
02 Jan 1850 Jul 1857 39 2 7793712 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
03 pp1-313 Jul 1844 Aug 1860 39 3 7793712 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
C 25807
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
03 pp312-603 Jan 1866 Sep 1865 40 1 7793713 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
04 Jan 1866 Jun 1876 40 2 7793713 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
05 Jul 1876 Oct 1883 40 3 7793713 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
C 25808
St. Louis City Circuit Court-Criminal Court--CCCC, 1839-1896
Second & Minor Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
06 Oct 1878 Oct 1888 41 1 7793714 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County)
07 Oct 1888 Oct 1890 41 2 7793714 Missouri. Criminal Court (St. Louis County
C 25809
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815-
Minors Naturalization Records
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
F Aug 1903 Sep 1906 42 1 7794936 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
S Aug 1838 Mar 1841 42 2 7794936 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
T Aug 1903 Dec 1848 42 3 7794936 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
C 25810
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815-
Declarations of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
U Jan 1849 Jun 1856 43 1 7794935 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
V Jul 1856 Jun 1878 43 2 7794935 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
W pp1-239 Jan 1849 Jul 1878 43 3 7794935 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
Volume V does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the indivdiual volumes are indexed.
C 25811
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815-
Declarations of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
W pp239-400 Jul 1878 Aug 1884 43 1 7794934 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
X May 1887 Sep 1890 44 2 7794934 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
Y Jul 1878 Jan 1894 44 3 7794934 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
Z Feb 1894 Apr 1896 44 4 7794934 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
Volume X does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the indvidiual volumes are indexed.
C 25812
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
E Feb 1847 Jan 1853 45 4 7794933 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
F pp1-152 Feb 1853 Mar 1856 45 5 7794933 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
C 25813
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
F pp252-477 Mar 1856 Jun 1857 46 1 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
G May 1857 Dec 1865 46 2 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
O Mar 1856 Apr 1846 46 3 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
P Apr 1846 Oct 1848 46 4 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
Q Oct 1848 Apr 1850 46 5 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
R pp1-299 Apr 1850 Nov 1852 46 6 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
C 25814
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865 Second Papers
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865 Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
R pp298-607 Oct 1852 Dec 1865 47 1 7794932 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
01 Oct 1853 Jan 1856 47 4 7794931 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
02 §1 p1-259 Jan-56 Nov-56 47 6 7794931 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
02 §2 pp258-418 Oct 1853 Nov 1856 47 6 7794931 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
C 25815
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
08 Dec 1865 Dec 1865 48 1 7794945 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
C 25816
St. Louis City Law Commissioner, 1851-1865
Second Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
H Aug 1856 Oct 1857 49 3 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
J Oct 1857 Mar 1860 49 1 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
K Aug 1856 Oct 1865 49 2 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
L Mar 1861 Dec 1865 49 4 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
N pp1-196 Aug 1856 Jul 1860 49 5 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
C 25817
St. Louis City Law Commissioner, 1851-1865 Second Papers
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815- Second & Soldiers Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
M Sep 1853 Dec 1865 48 23 7794945 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
N pp1-196 Aug 1856 Jul 1860 49 5 7794944 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
A Mar 1856 Jun 1875 50 2 7794943 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
B Oct 1874 Oct 1890 50 3 7794943 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
C 25818
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815-
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
D Jul 1875 Oct 1892 * 2 7795191 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
D Aug 1896 May 1903 ** 3 7795191 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
C Oct 1890 Aug 1896 51 2 7794942 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
C Apr 1856 Oct 1875 51 1 7794942 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) NaturalizationRecords
D Oct 1890 Apr 1903 51 4 7794942 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
D Jul 1875 Oct 1892 51 3 7794942 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
* Appears to be a duplicate filming of FamilySearch DGS 7794942 Item 3
**Appears to be a duplicate filming of FamilySearch DGS 7794942 Item 4
C 25819
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815-
Minors Naturalization Records
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
E Oct 1892 Apr 1903 52 4 7794941 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
E Jun 1903 Sep 1906 52 3 7794941 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
F Oct 1892 Sep 1906 52 5 7794941 Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Naturalization Records
C 25820
St. Louis City Circuit Court, 1815- Declaration of Aliens
Declaration of Aliens
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
A-1 Apr 1896 Jun 1902 53 1 7795189 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
B-1 Jun 1902 Oct 1905 53 2 7795189 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
C-1 Apr 1896 Sep 1906 53 3 7795189 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
Volumes B1 and C-1 do not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
C 25821
St. Louis City Circuit Court for Criminal Causes--CCCC, 1897-
Minors Naturalization Records
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 Feb 1897 Jul 1903 54 1 7795190 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
01 Feb 1897 Jul 1903 54 2 7795190 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
01 Feb 1897 Sep 1906 54 3 7795190 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
A Oct 1903 Sep 1906 54 4 7795190 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
B Jul 1903 Sep 1906 54 5 7795190 Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
Volume 1 does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
C 46598
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Second & Soldiers Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
10-front pp1-312 Sep 1868 Oct 1872 102 7 Not at FamilySearch
C 46599
St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
Minor Papers
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
10-back pp1-312 Sep 1868 Oct 1876 103 7 Not at FamilySearch
C 60402
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
01 Feb 1841 Sep 1841 105 4 8573607 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
02 §1 Feb 1841 Apr 1842 105 5 8573607 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
02 §2 Nov 1841 Apr 1842 105 5 8573607 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
03 pp1-159 Apr 1842 Jul 1842 105 6 8573607 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
C 60403
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
03 pp158-380 Jul 1842 Oct 1842 106 1 8731000 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
05 Apr 1843 Apr 1844 106 2 8731000 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
06 Sep 1844 Mar 1845 106 3 8731000 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
07 Apr 1843 Apr 1846 106 4 8731000 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
08 pp1-173 Sep 1846 Nov 1846 106 5 8731000 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
C 60404
St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
08 pp174-461 Nov 1846 Oct 1847 107 1 8731001 Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
C 65977
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
05 Apr 1861 Apr 1863 110 1 8731008 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
06 Apr 1863 Jun 1864 110 2 8731008 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
06 Apr 1861 Jun 1864 110 2 8731008 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
C 65978
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
07 Jun 1864 Dec 1865 110 3 8731008 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
C 69575
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865
Record
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
02 §1 pp1-419 Jan 1856 Feb 1857 108 1 8731011 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
02 §2 pp419-956 Mar 1857 Jan 1858 108 2 8731011 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
03 §1 pp1-412 Jan 1856 Jun 1858 108 1 8731011 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
C 69576
St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865 Record
St. Louis City Law Commissioner, 1851-1865
Volume Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS FamilySearch Name
03 §2 pp413-816 Jan 1856 Jun 1858 108 1 8731011 Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
04 Feb 1856 Dec 1857 109 2 8731009 Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County
The St. Louis Genealogical Society index, searchable at https://stlgs.org/searchtest, indicates the court and the volume. The second portion of this finding aid organizes the films by court and volume number and cross-references the Family Search, History & Genealogy, and Missouri State Archives film numbers.
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: C.C.C.
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Court of Criminal Corrections--CCC, 1866-
FamilySearch Name: Missouri. Court of Criminal Correction (St. Louis County)
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS M.S.A. Film Notes
01-pp1-139 Declarations & Minor Apr 1866 Feb 1869 22 5 7793526 C 25789
01-pp139-159 Declarations Feb 1869 May 1869 23 1 7793527 C 25790
01-pp1-87 Minor Feb 1869 May 1869 23 1 7793527 C 25790 (1)
02 2nd Papers Oct 1866 Sep 1868 23 2 7793527 C 25790
03 Declarations May 1869 Oct 1872 23 3 7793527 C 25790 (2)
04-pp1-249 Declarations Oct 1872 Oct 1876 23 4 7793527 C 25790 (2)
04-pp248-798 Declarations Oct 1876 Aug 1893 24 1 7793528 C 25791
05 Declarations Aug 1893 Apr 1903 24 2 7793528 C 25791
06-pp1-383 Minors Sep 1886 Sep 1890 24 3 7793528 C 25791 (2)
06-pp382-498 Minors Sep 1890 Dec 1892 25 1 7793529 C 25792
07 Minors Dec 1892 Oct 1896 25 2 7793529 C 25792
08-pp1-179 Second Papers Mar 1891 Sep 1896 25 4 7793529 C 25792
08-pp178-600 Minors Oct 1896 Apr 1903 25 3 7793529 C 25792
09 2nd & Soldiers Papers Apr 1866 Oct 1866 22 4 7793526 C 25789
10-front pp1-312 2nd & Soldiers Papers Sep 1868 Oct 1872 102 7 X C 46598 (3)
10-back pp1-312 Minors Sep 1868 Sep 1876 103 1 X C 46599 (3)
11 2nd & Soldiers Papers Oct 1872 Oct 1876 27 1 7793531 C 25794
12 2nd & Minor Papers Oct 1876 Sep 1886 27 2 7793531 C 25794
13 2nd & Minor Papers Jul 1880 Aug 1888 27 3 7793531 C 25794
14 2nd Papers Aug 1888 Oct 1892 29 1 7793533 C 25796
15-pp1-259 2nd & Soldiers Papers Oct 1892 Sep 1896 27 4 7793531 C 25794
15-pp258-390 2nd & Soldiers Papers Sep 1896 Sep 1896 28 1 7793532 C 25795
16 2nd & Soldiers Papers Sep 1896 Dec 1898 28 2 7793532 C 25795
17 2nd & Soldiers Papers Jan 1899 Apr 1903 26 4 7793530 C 25793 (4)
(1) On the roll after the Declarations.
(2) This volume does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
(3) Film not available at FamilySearch
(4) Sometimes this item is Item 5 but there are only 4 items on the roll.
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: C.C.C.C.
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Circuit Court for Criminal Causes--CCCC, 1897-
FamilySearch Name: Missouri Circuit Court (St. Louis City) Naturalization Records, 1896-1906
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS M.S.A Film Notes
01 Record Mar 1831 Jul 1838 22 1 7793526 C 25789
01 Declarations & 2nd Papers Jul 1844 Dec 1849 39 1 7793712 C 25806
02 Declarations Jan 1850 Mar 1854 19 1 7793523 C 25758
02 Record Jul 1838 Nov 1842 No Book or film Found
02 Second Papers Jan 1850 Jul 1857 39 2 7793712 C 25806
03 Declaration of Aliens Mar 1854 Dec 1854 19 2 7793523 C 25758
03 Record Nov 1842 Dec 1845 22 2 7793526 C 25789
03-pp1-313 2nd Papers Sep 1857 Aug 1860 39 3 7793712 C 25806
03-pp312-603 2nd Papers Aug 1860 Sep 1865 40 1 7793713 C 25807
04 Declarations Dec 1854 Nov 1855 19 3 7793523 C 25758 (1)
04 2nd Papers Jan 1866 Jun 1876 40 2 7793713 C 25807
05 Declarations Nov 1855 Aug 1858 20 1 7793524 C 25759 (1)
05 2nd & Minor Papers Jul 1876 Oct 1883 40 3 7793713 C 25807
06 2nd & Minor Papers Oct 1878 Oct 1888 41 1 7793714 C 25808
06-pp1-729 Declarations Aug 1858 Feb 1869 20 2 7793524 C 25759 (1)
06-pp728-951 Declarations Feb 1869 Aug 1871 21 1 7793525 C 25788 (1)
07 Declarations Aug 1871 Dec 1877 21 2 7793525 C 25788 (1)
08 Declarations Jan 1878 Oct 1890 21 3 7793525 C 25788 (1)
08-pp1-179 Minors Jan 1891 Nov 1896 26 2 7793529 C 25793
08-pp178-416 2nd Papers Sep 1896 Nov 1896 26 1 7793530 C 25793
09 Declarations Jan 1891 Dec 1896 26 3 7793530 C 25793 (1)
01 Minors Feb 1897 Jul 1903 54 1 7795190 C 25821
01 Declarations Jan 1897 Sep 1906 54 2 7795190 C 25821 (1)
01 Second Papers Feb 1897 Jul 1903 54 3 7795190 C 25821 (1)
A Second Papers Oct 1903 Sep 1906 54 4 7795190 C 25821
B Second Papers Jul 1903 Sep 1906 54 5 7795190 C 25821
(1) This volume does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: Circuit
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Circuit court 1815- Minutes
FamilySearch Name: Missouri County Court, (St. Louis County) Minutes 1816-1856
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS Mo. State Archives Film Notes
01 Record Nov 1816 Dec 1819 30 1 7638947 C 25797
02 Record Dec 1819 Aug 1821 30 2 7638947 C 25797
03-pp1-312 Record Aug 1821 Feb 1824 30 3 7638947 C 25797
04 Record Oct 1824 Jun 1827 31 2 7638794 C 25798
05 Record Jul 1827 Apr 1830 31 3 7638794 C 25798
03-pp331-428 Record Feb 1824 Jul 1824 31 1 7638794 C 25798
06-pp1-163 Record Apr 1830 Aug 1831 31 4 7638794 C 25798
07 Record Jul 1833 Dec 1835 32 2 7638793 C 25799
06-pp162-521 Record Aug 1831 May 1833 32 1 7638793 C 25799
08-pp1-377 Record Mar 1836 Nov 1837 32 3 7638793 C 25799
08-pp376-423 Record Nov 1837 Dec 1837 33 2 7638792 C 25800
09 Record Mar 1838 Dec 1839 33 2 7638792 C 25800
10 Record Dec 1839 Jun 1840 33 3 7638792 C 25800
11-pp1-259 Record Jul 1840 Sep 1841 33 4 7638792 C 25800
11-pp258-503 Record Sep 1840 Jan 1841 34 1 7638791 C 25801
12 Record Jan 1841 Aug 1841 34 2 7638791 C 25801
13 Record Oct 1841 Feb 1843 34 3 7638791 C 25801
14-pp 1-275 Record Apr 1843 Dec 1843 34 4 7638791 C 25801
14-pp274-461 Record Dec 1843 Mar 1844 34 1 7638790 C 25802
15 Record Apr 1844 Jan 1845 35 2 7638790 C 25802
16 Record Jan 1845 Dec 1845 35 3 7638790 C 25802
17-pp1-239 Record Dec 1845 Apr 1846 35 4 7638790 C 25802
17-pp238-629 Record Apr 1846 Jun 1847 36 1 7638789 C 25803
18 Record Jun 1847 Dec 1848 36 2 7638789 C 25803
19 Record Jan 1849 May 1850 36 3 7638789 C 25803
20 Record May 1850 Mar 1851 37 1 7638788 C 25804
21 Record Apr 1851 Apr 1852 37 2 7638788 C 25804
22 Record May 1852 Feb 1853 37 3 7638788 C 25804
23 Record Feb 1853 Dec 1853 38 1 7638787 C 25805
24 Record Jun 1854 Apr 1855 38 2 7638787 C 25805
25 Record Apr 1855 May 1856 38 3 7638787 C 25805
A 2nd & Soldiers Mar 1856 Jun 1875 50 2 7794943 C 25817
B Soldiers Oct 1874 Oct 1890 50 3 7794943 C 25817
C 2nd & Soldiers Oct 1890 Aug 1896 51 2 7794942 C 25818
C Minors Apr 1856 Oct 1875 51 1 7794942 C 25818
D 2nd & Soldiers Aug 1896 Apr 1903 51 4 7794942 C 25818
D Minors Jul 1875 Oct 1892 51 3 7794942 C 25818
D Minors Jul 1875 Oct 1892 2 7795191 C 25818 (1)
D Minors Aug 1896 May 1903 3 7795191 C 25818 (2)
E Minors Oct 1892 Apr 1903 52 4 7794941 C 25818
E 2nd & Soldiers Jun 1903 Sep 1906 52 3 7794941 C 25819
F Second May 1906 Sep 1906 52 5 7794941 C 25819
F Minors Aug 1903 Sep 1906 42 1 7794936 C 25809
S Declarations Aug 1838 Mar 1841 42 2 7794936 C 25809
T Declarations Mar 1841 Dec 1848 42 3 7794936 C 25809
U Declarations Jan 1849 Jun 1856 43 1 7794935 C 25810
V Declarations Jul 1856 Jun 1878 43 2 7794935 C 25810 (3)
W-pp1-239 Declarations Jul 1878 Aug 1884 43 3 7794935 C 25810
W-pp239-400 Declarations Jul 1878 Aug 1884 43 1 7794934 C 25811
X Declarations May 1887 Sep 1890 44 2 7794934 C 25811 (3)
Y Declarations Sep 1890 Jan 1894 44 3 7794934 C 25811
Z Declarations Feb 1894 Apr 1896 44 4 7794934 C 25811
A-1 Declaration Apr 1896 Jun 1902 53 1 7795189 C 25820
B-1 Declaration Jun 1902 Oct 1905 53 2 7795189 C 25820 (3)
C-1 Declarations Oct 1905 Sep 1906 53 3 7795189 C 25820 (3)
(1) Appears to be a duplicate filming of FamilySearch DGS 7794942 Item 1
(2) Appears to be a duplicate filming of FamilySearch DGS 7794942 Item 2
(3) Volume does not appear to be in the Missouri Naturalization Index but the individual volumes are indexed.
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: Common Pleas
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Court of Common Pleas, 1841-1865
FamilySearch Name: Missouri. Court of Common Pleas (St. Louis County)
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS M.S.A. Film Notes
01 Record Feb 1841 Sep 1841 105 4 8573607 C 60402
02-Part 1 Record Nov 1841 Apr 1842 105 5 8573607 C 60402
02-Part 2 Record Nov 1841 Apr 1842 105 5 8573607 C 60402
03-pp1-159 Record Apr 1842 Jul 1842 105 6 8573607 C 60402
03-pp158-380 Record Jul 1842 Oct 1842 106 1 8731000 C 60403
04 Record Oct 1842 Apr 1843 No book or film found
05 Record Apr 1843 Apr 1844 106 2 8731000 C 60403
06 Record Sep 1844 Mar 1845 106 3 8731000 C 60403
07 Record Sep 1845 Apr 1846 106 4 8731000 C 60403
08-pp1-173 Record Sep 1846 Nov 1846 106 5 8731000 C 60403
08-pp174-461 Record Nov 1846 Oct 1847 107 1 8731001 C 60404
E 2nd Papers Feb 1847 Jan 1853 45 4 7794933 C 25812
F-pp1-152 2nd Papers Feb 1853 Mar 1856 45 5 7794933 C 25812
F-pp252-477 2nd Papers Mar 1856 Jun 1857 46 1 7794932 C 25813
G 2nd Papers May 1857 Dec 1865 46 2 7794932 C 25813
O Declarations Mar 1841 Apr 1846 46 3 7794932 C 25813
P Declarations Apr 1846 Oct 1848 46 4 7794932 C 25813
Q Declarations Oct 1848 Apr 1850 46 5 7794932 C 25813
R-pp1-299 Declarations Apr 1850 Nov 1852 46 6 7794932 C 25813
R-pp 298-607 Declarations Oct 1852 Dec 1865 47 1 7794932 C 25814
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: Court of Appeals
Missouri State Archives Name: Court of Appeals
FamilySearch Name:
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS Mo State Archives Film Notes
01 Record 1898 1902 No book or film found No book or film found
02 Record 1898 1902 No book or film found No book or film found
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: Land Court
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Land Court, 1853-1865
FamilySearch Name: Missouri. Land Court (St. Louis County)
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS M.S.A.Archives Film Notes
01 Record Oct 1853 Jan 1856 47 4 7794931 C 25814
02 Part 1-pp1-259 Record Jan-1856 Nov-1856 47 6 7794931 C 25814
02 Part 2-pp258-418 Record Oct 1856 Nov 1858 108 6 7794931 C 25814
03-Part 1-pp1-412 Record Jan 1858 Jun 1858 108 3 8731011 C 69575
03-Part 2 pp413-816 Record Jun 1858 Apr 1859 109 1 8731007 C 69576
04 Record Apr 1859 Apr 1861 109 2 8731007 C 69576
05 Record Apr 1861 Apr 1863 110 1 8731008 C 65977
06 Record Apr 1863 Jun 1864 110 2 8731008 C 65977
06 Record Apr 1863 Jun 1864 110 2 8731008 C 65977
07 Record Jun 1864 Dec 1865 110 3 8731008 C 65978
08 Record Dec 1865 Dec 1865 48 1 7794945 C 25815
M Declarations Sep 1853 Dec 1865 48 2 7794945 C 25815
St. Louis Genealogical Society Abbreviation: Law Comm
Missouri State Archives Name: St. Louis City Law Commissioner, 1851-1865
FamilySearch Name: Missouri Law Commissioner's Court (St. Louis County)
Volume Title Start Date End Date SLCL Film Item FamilySearch DGS M.S.A. Film Notes
04 Record Feb 1856 Dec 1857 109 2 8731009 C 69576
H 2nd Papers Aug 1856 Oct 1857 49 3 7794944 C 25816
J 2nd Papers (& Minors) Oct 1857 Mar 1860 49 1 7794944 C 25816
K 2nd & Minors Papers Mar 1860 Oct 1865 49 2 7794944 C 25816
K (second filming) 2nd & Minors Papers Mar 1860 Oct 1865 49 1 7794944
L 2nd Papers Mar 1861 Dec 1865 49 4 7794944 C 25816
N-pp1-196 Declarations Aug 1856 Jul 1860 49 5 7794944 C 25816
N-pp195-492 Declarations Jul 1860 Dec 1865 50 1 7794943 C 25817