LibGuides: Teen Reference: World News

Introduction

Access world news from a variety of reliable resources. Some of these databases can be difficult to navigate, so for detailed instructions, please see the Electronic Periodical Access LibGuide.

Full magazines: Libby and Flipster

Online news sites: New York Times Online, St. Louis Business Journal

Full images of newspaper pages: NewsBank

News articles: Factiva, ProQuest

Simple explanations of world events: News for You

Full Magazines

Libby is an innovative mobile app from OverDrive designed to make borrowing and enjoying e-books, magazines, and audiobooks from the library easier than ever. Explore magazines covering the latest news and interest pieces from around the globe. Check out great magazines like The New Yorker, Wired, and Newsweek.

Download the app or open Flipster on your computer to access over several popular magazines including Forbes, The Atlantic, and People Magazine.

Online News Sites

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
NYTimes.com provides free access to the New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news articles, reviews, blogs, videos, and more. There are two different ways to access NYTimes.com depending on if you are inside or outside the Library. For both onsite or offsite access, you need to sign up for a free account using a valid email address.
St. Louis Business Journal
Full digital access to all St. Louis Business Journal’s daily editorial content, the St. Louis Business Journal Weekly Edition, the Business Journal Book of Lists, and much more.

Simple Explanations

News For You This link opens in a new window
News for You provides adult ESL students and struggling readers with news and human interest stories that are easy to read and understand. These engaging, timely stories will help students build language, reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, listening and speaking skills.
Use the password 0EEEB7 to enter.

News Articles

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, St. Louis Post–Dispatch, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today and so many more newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest news and information from nearly every industry and region, with access to popular resources such as The Wall Street Journal, St. Louis Business Journal, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The New York Times, and more!

Full Newspaper Images

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text and indexing of many U.S. and international newspapers, including print and online-only resources. Provides comprehensive news and information on differing perspectives for a variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, international affairs and defense, sports and much more.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore St.Louis history through local news, events and people with St. Louis Post-Dispatch Collection. Search current and archived issues from 1988 to present with full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Now featuring full-color newspaper pages of daily issues from 2020 to present!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Information from many sources on popular research topics for students. Topics include Business and Economics, Energy and Environmentalism, Health and Medicine, Law and Politics, National Topics, Society and Culture, War and Diplomacy, and Science, Technology, and Ethics.