When you are sick or hurt, a team of people are ready to make you well again. Doctors, nurses, physical therapists, researchers , lab technicians, and many others are ready to help, and these are all jobs in the Health Services career cluster.
101 Careers in Health Care Management by
A] digestible yet comprehensive resource describing the many career opportunities in healthcare management... and] a valuable resource for current undergraduate and graduate students as well as career changers interested in pursing a job in the healthcare management field."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Careers in health administration continue to grow despite an overall downturn in the economy. This is a field that offers tremendous job opportunities across the spectrum of healthcare delivery and payment organizations. 101 Careers in Healthcare Management is the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The guide clearly explains the responsibilities and duties of each of these careers and how they differ from other management jobs. It describes the integral role of healthcare administrators in creating and sustaining the systems that allow healthcare clinicians to do their best work. The book covers educational requirements, opportunities, traditional and nontraditional career pathways, and helps students assess whether they are temperamentally and intellectually suited to a career in healthcare management. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, the guide describes careers in 14 different healthcare and related settings. These include long-term care, physician practices, commercial insurance, consulting firms, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, information technology, and biotechnology. Additionally, the book offers numerous interviews with health administrators, from those in entry-level positions to CEOs, to more vividly portray potential careers. Key Features: Presents the only comprehensive guide to all major employment opportunities in health administration Written in clear, jargon-free text Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education Includes interviews with many different healthcare administrators at various types of organizations
Careers in Healthcare by
Salem's new series explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields, emphasising STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) occupations and outlooks and green technologies where applicable. Written for high school and undergraduate students as well as general nonspecialists, this series will provide much needed insight into the career opportunities of this growing field. This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in healthcare and allied health such as: Nursing, Dental Hygiene, Nuclear Medicine, Physical Therapy, Radiation Therapy, Speech Pathology, Respiratory Therapy, Athletic Training, Healthcare Information Management and more. The essays on the fields of healthcare and allied health include Core Concepts; Applications Past and Present; Impact on Industry; and Social Context and Future Prospect. Also included is a fact-based overview of the branch or subfield it covers. The essays on the corresponding occupation profiles include Education and Coursework; Daily Tasks and Technology; Earnings and Employment Outlook; and Related Occupations. Further reading suggestions accompany all science articles and a listing of occupational web resources accompany all occupational profiles. Every entry also includes sidebars, photos, and graphs illustrating key concepts.
Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT) by
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Careers in Sports Medicine and Training by
Understanding the wide scope of jobs for those interested in sports medicine and training is important for anyone preparing for a career that involves both traditional careers in medicine, therapy, and training like cardiologist, podiatrist, and surgeon; massage therapist, personal trainer; rehabilitation counsellors; and acupuncturists and massage therapists. This title includes lengthy chapters on a broad range of occupations, including Cardiologist, Chiropractor, Exercise Physiologist, Health Coach, Neuropsychologist, and Sport Psychologist. Careers in Sports Medicine & Training is enhanced with numerous charts and tables, including projections from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, and median annual salaries or wages for those occupations profiled. Interesting enhancements, like Fun Facts, Famous Firsts, and dozens of photos, add depth to the discussion. Additional highlights in the book include Conversation With - a two-page interview with a professional working in a related job - that offer insight into specific areas of sports medicine and training.
Cutting Edge Careers in Medicine by
The field of medicine is growing dramatically due to advances in research and technology, and there are many ways to have a rewarding medical career. Traditional jobs such as doctors and nurses are in demand, and new medical frontiers such as robotic-assisted surgery are creating exciting opportunities. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Dental Hygienists by
Dentistry is one of the most in-demand professional areas in the country. Often referred to as the nurses of the dental world, dental hygienists find themselves spending more time with patients educating them on oral health. While dentists are in high demand, dental hygienists are in even higher demand, expected to grow as a profession by nearly 20 percent in the next decade. This rewarding field comprising more than 200,000 professionals nationwide is finding itself poised to take on more responsibilities in the dental office. What does a dental hygienist do? What does it take to become a dental hygienist? Have dental hygienists always worked with dentists? Readers will stand in a dental hygienist's shoes as they navigate through salary information, the history of the profession, and the way of the dental hygiene future. Every book in the Careers in Healthcare series gives readers the necessary tools to evaluate pursuing a career in the healthcare profession. Unique to this series are firsthand interviews with professionals aimed to give readers an upfront and close perspective into the daily lives of those currently working in the field. Each title in this series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including: an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehe
Health Care Careers by
Health care is the fastest growing industry in America-and shows no sign of stopping. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at health care jobs ranging from family practitioners to pharmacists to paramedics.
How to Choose Your Perfect Healthcare Career by
Choosing a career can be tough. There are so many options and choices available--how do you figure out what is right for you? This book takes students by the hand and helps them explore their interests, personality type, likes and dislikes, and hopes for the future so they can navigate a pathway to their perfect technology career. With flowchart quizzes that allow the reader to narrow down their options and find a route that is right for them, How to Choose Your Perfect Health-Care Career helps take the stress out of making a good career choice. Students will learn what qualifications they need for their ideal career, and where and how to achieve them. They will discover if further education is right for them, or if a more practical route to their ideal career choice is best. They will learn what a day in the life of each career option is like so they can figure out if it might suit them. This is a must-have guide for all students making decisions about their future.
Medical Careers in the Military by
The medical field offers many career opportunities for military personnel. This book explores six jobs in the medical field. What the jobs entail, required education and training, and employment prospects in the civilian world are discussed along with insights from service personnel.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition! This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Physician Assistants by
Physicians Assistants play a major role on the medical team, working with physicians to perform medical procedures, assist in surgeries, and treat patients in hospitals and other medical facilities. Physician Assistants go through a rigorous masters program, with a residency with the ability to specialize in various fields. What does it take to be a physician assistant? Readers will discover the profession: from the educational requirements, to the day-to-day tasks, to the developments in the field, as well as all the different job opportunities. This book will answer all the reader's vital questions when considering being a physician assistant as a career. Every book in the Careers in Healthcare series gives readers the necessary tools to evaluate pursuing a career in the healthcare profession. Unique to this series are firsthand interviews with professionals aimed to give readers an upfront and close perspective into the daily lives of those currently working in the field. Each title in this series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including: an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together addit
Skilled Jobs in Wellness and Beauty by
According to the Global Wellness Institute, the wellness and beauty field was a $4.2 trillion market as of October 2018. As both individuals and corporations continue to realize the importance of making wellness a priority, the industry--which includes fitness, alternative medicine, workplace wellness, spas, beauty, and nutrition--will provide opportunities for years to come. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Careers in Nanomedicine by
Readers get acquainted with the people behind today's most cutting-edge technologies in the nanomedicine field--from bright ideas to cool new products--and inspires readers to consider a high-tech future career. Careers in Nanomedicine introduces six exciting careers and features sidebar activities that invite readers to Imagine That! and Dig Deeper! Includes table of contents, glossary, index, and supplementary backmatter.
Health Sciences by
Health Sciences in the World of Work series provides an age-appropriate and interactive introduction to the nationally recognized Health Sciences career pathway using informal self-assessment elements, career profiles, informative sidebar features, and back matter activities.
Jobs in Genetic Engineering by
Genetic engineering--the rearranging of bits of DNA--has helped crops survive droughts and decreased the need for pesticides. It has helped make the production of human insulin possible for people with diabetes. And many in the field are seeking even more treatments and cures for a variety of diseases. Those interested in a career in genetic engineering or just wondering more about how the process works will find lots of interesting information in this accessible text supported by informative photographs and images, enlightening sidebars, and truly fascinating fact boxes.
Jobs in Global Health by
Those who pursue careers in global health help people in low-and middle-income countries battle public health problems, such as diseases, mental illnesses, and chronic conditions. No matter the patient, young or old, they seek to make a difference. This inspiring book introduces readers to the topic of global health and to a variety of global health professionals, including analysts, researchers, educators, and nurses as well as some of the respected organizations they work for. The well-researched text informs about the education needed for such careers as well as the impact today's global health workers are having on people's lives.
Ultrasound Technicians on the Job by
Highlights the schooling, job training, and life on the job for ultrasound technicians. Additional features include a Fast Facts spread, critical-thinking questions, a phonetic glossary, resources for further study, a selected bibliography, an introduction to the author, and an index.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Careers in Medical Technology by
Artificial organs, gene therapy, nanotechnology, and other technologies are changing medicine and offering endless career opportunities. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at medical technology jobs ranging from research scientists to biomedical engineers to radiation therapists.
Dream Jobs in Sports Fitness and Medicine by
Sports fitness and medicine professionals play a crucial role in the lives and careers of athletes. This book is an indispensable, resource-rich, comprehensive guide to the field of sports medicine, including information on education requirements, internships, training, career advancement, work environments, duties and responsibilities, and detailed job descriptions. Special resource sections include a comprehensive list of college and university programs and professional development programs relating to the field; At-a-Glance capsule summaries of what is needed in terms of academics and experience to get started in the field, the various possible career paths within the field, and the various duties, responsibilities, and tasks associated with each major job in the field; and Bureau of Labor Statistics information on the field, including nature of the work, work environment, training, qualifications, advancement, and job outlook.
Genetic Engineering: Science, Technology, Engineering (Calling All Innovators: a Career for You) (Library Edition) by
Find outt what role genetics are likely to play in upcoming technology and discover what it takes to make it in this fascinating field of science.Calling All Innovators series introduces students to careers in science and technology. The complex text allows readers (Grades 5-8) to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. From apples that don't turn brown when you slice them to new ways of treating deadly diseases, genetics are at the heart of many of today's most incredible innovations. Readers will learn about the history of genetics from the initial discover of DNA to today's most incredible developments.
Nurse by
Find out what it takes to be a nurse with character...Nurses work in many settings, including: Hospitals; Clinics; Medical centers; Nursing homes; Schools; and, Private homes. These professionals need strong backgrounds in science, psychology, and math. They also need the right personality for the job and the right character. Nurses need to demonstrate: integrity by dealing honestly with patients...respect and compassion by aiding those who are sick or in pain...and courage to face crises with strength and endurance. Nurses touch the lives of others. Read Nurse and find out how. Book jacket.
Psychologist by
Find out what it takes to be a psychologist with character... Psychologists can specialize in a variety of areas, including: Experimental psychology; Physiological psychology; Development psychology; Social psychology; Clinical psychology; School psychology; Industrial psychology; and, Counseling psychology. Although professionals in this field need strong educational backgrounds, they also need: The diligence to follow through on long-term treatments or research...respect and compassion for other human beings who are in emotional pain...and a sense of justice that enables them to treat each patient or client fairly. Few other professionals relate so closely with other human beings. If you pursue a career in psychology, you will have opportunities to help individuals become emotionally healthier and happier. Psychologists have the power to teach society better ways to live. Read Psychologist and find out how. Book jacket.
Sports Medicine: Science, Technology, Engineering (Calling All Innovators: a Career for You) (Library Edition) by
Find out what it's like to be in sports medicine.From people who like to stay in shape by jogging to pro football players, athletes risk injury every time they lace up their shoes or take the field. Readers will find out how the field of sports medicine has developed unique methods of treating the athletes' ailments. They will also discover how medical professionals work with patients to help them choose the correct ways to exercise, why some sports are riskier than others, and more.