ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help children ages 2-8+ build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse is 100% educational and fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities (books, puzzles, educational games, science and math videos, art activities, songs, and more) across all major subject areas (Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music)—including more than 2,000 STEM learning activities and 1,200 learning activities in Spanish. Home access includes the Assessment Center which creates customized lessons that are targeted to help a child improve in specific skill areas identified by the assessments.
To use ABCmouse from home, choose Missouri as your state, then St. Louis County Library as your library. Then enter your library card number and PIN. The first time you visit, you will need to provide an email address and create a password.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
From Rosen Digital, Digital Literacy empowers learners in grade levels 7-12 with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s digital landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, PSAs, multimedia presentations, digital business plans, social media campaigns and more. Database articles explore cyber bullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism and more.
Driving-Tests.org provides access to the following state-specific information:
- 11 car practice tests
- 8 motorcycle practice tests
- 3 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice tests
- 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)
- An FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions
Find more than 2100 full text scholarly journals and over 1700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Collection provides focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality educational journals. Provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and link to sites valuable for teachers.
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
From Rosen Digital, the Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro- and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams. Beneficial for grades 7-12 as well as adults.
A collection of databases designed to help high school students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
LOTE (Languages Other Than English) Online for Kids is an online database of digital picture books which provides UNLIMITED access to over 1600+ book titles in 50+ World Languages together with English translations.
Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports. Includes biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags.
Read full issues of National Geographic Kids online going back to 2009. Click Explore Topics for simple, kid-friendly browsing to learn more about the world around us.
Use Peterson’s Test and Career Prep to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships, and access online practice tests and eBooks for exam preparation. This resource also provides career tools, resume builders, and study guides for exams like SAT, ACT, GRE, NCLEX, and more.
Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.
Thousands of searchable and printable educational materials for Pre-K through 8th grade, including skills and activity sheets, mini-books and lesson plans by topics.
This resource provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular and self-help support. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying and LGBTQ+ issues. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more. Grade level 7-12.
World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.
Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures using hundreds of interactive timeliness. Create an account to build and save your own timelines.
