This resource provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
From Gale, this resource offers access to primary sources and materials relating to LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Find materials from hundreds of institutions and organizations dating as far back as the 1500s, as well as an unparalleled collection of newsletters, newspapers and periodicals by, for, and about the LGBTQ community.
A collection of primary source documents about the histories and daily lives of Americans of Asian and Pacific Islander heritage—including those of Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, South Asian, and Vietnamese backgrounds, among others.
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles*, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time.
For remote access, enter St. Louis County Library as your institution's name.
A searchable collection of articles published in the Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, and The Richmond Enquirer between November 1860 - April 1865
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
HistoryGeo provides a searchable database of 12.3 million names connected to land ownership maps covering the 29 public land states and Texas. The database also features a historical map collection. Available remotely.
Features digitized southern plantation records from 1775-1915, documenting the far-reaching impacts of plantations on the nation. Plantation records include both business records and personal papers drawn from archives across the American South. Also has a timeline feature, highlighting key events in the 1800s with quick links to documents relating to those events
Features digitized southern plantation records from 1775-1915, documenting the far-reaching impacts of plantations on the nation. Plantation records include both business records and personal papers drawn from archives across the American South. Also has a timeline feature, highlighting key events in the 1800s with quick links to documents relating to those events
Access a rich archive of information about the history of Missouri and local communities. Included are educational resources like classroom curricula accessible through this website.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. You can also find every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, and many modern histories of slavery. For remote access, enter St. Louis County Library as your institution's name.
