Explore more than 1000 dinosaur activities for preK-8th grade students. From reading comprehension to art projects to dino-themed math activities, Scholastic Teachables is sure to have a dino-rific worksheet for your students!
Hoopla has hundreds of dinosaur titles for children. Below is a sample of available books.
Amargasaurus by
The amargasaurus lived during the Early Cretaceous period. Its neck and back sported two rows of distinctive spines! In this hi-lo title, readers are immersed in the world of dinosaurs with detailed illustrations. Leveled text shares how the amargasaurus ate and survived in South America. Special features help readers visualize the dinosaur's diet, size, and more!
Carnotaurus by
This beginning reader title introduces Carnotaurus by covering when it lived, what it looked like, what it ate, and where some of its fossils have been found. This title is a Level 1 and is written specifically for beginning readers. Aligned to the Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Dash! is an imprint of Abdo Zoom, a division of ABDO.
Dinosaurs by
Dinosaurs remain a popular topic for kids, and for good reason! It's amazing to believe that huge reptiles actually roamed Earth and left enough fossils behind for us to know they were real! From the massive Diplodocus to the tiny Compsognathus, a variety of dinosaurs are showcased in this colorful book, complete with full-color photographs of fossils and other images. Questions throughout the text engage the reader with the many facts readers encounter, from what a dinosaur ate to which ones had feathers.
Dinosaurs for Kids by
Discover the fascinating world of prehistoric life with this children's book that includes an introduction to paleontology and a guide to dinosaurs. Dinosaurs are as mysterious as they are captivating. Children hunger to better understand them. Become a young paleontologist. Learn all about the Mesozoic Era. James Kuether, an acclaimed paleoartist, presents a kids' introduction to paleontology. From some of the earliest predators, like rauisuchians, to the most famous dinosaurs, such as Tyrannosaurus rex, this comprehensive book provides the information that kids want to know. Dinosaurs for Kids starts with an introduction to fossils and an explanation of what makes an animal a "dinosaur." Then it guides readers through the history of plant- and animal-life in the Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous periods. The book further discusses types of dinosaurs and how they lived. In the field-guide section, 150 species are organized by type. James's incredibly lifelike paleoart (digital reconstructions of extinct animals) portrays the dinosaurs as they may have appeared, and his text offers glimpses into their amazing lives, based on the latest information in dinosaur science. Inside You'll Find Beginner's guide to the Mesozoic Era The basics of paleontology and the history of life on Earth Identification section to 150 dinosaurs and non-dinosaurs Of course, no amount of research can tell us how dinosaurs behaved or interacted with their environments. For that, we need to get creative. Dinosaurs for Kids perfectly balances what we know with what we can imagine.
Spinosaurus by
The spinosaurus was a fierce dinosaur known for the long sail on its back. It could live on both water and land! The high-interest title is a primer for young dinosaur lovers, introducing the iguanodon's habitat, diet, defenses, and more. Alongside the colorful illustrations and leveled text, special features illustrate the dinosaur's size, range, and favorite foods. The title concludes with a two-page profile that highlights important facts about this ferocious dinosaur!
Dig through Explora Elementary's vast collection of dino-rific articles! From the homepage, select "Animals" from the list of topics and then "Dinosaurs." Then scroll through the list of specific dinosaurs to find a topic of interest.
The St. Louis County Library has a large collection of children's books and DVDs about dinosaurs. Below is sample of available titles. Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Fossils and Dinosaurs by
Earth was a lot different when dinosaurs were alive. Scientists study important clues that were left behind to learn what kinds of dinosaurs lived where, what they ate, and how fast they could run. Even though there have been incredible changes on Earth, there are still dinosaur relatives living today!
My First Big Book of Dinosaur Facts by
This big book of 96 info-packed pages introduces young readers to all the key science and facts about dinosaurs in a fun question and answer format. The book's wide-ranging Q&As include: How did dinosaurs become fossils? What happens at a dinosaur dig? Who invented the word "dinosaur"? Were dinosaurs striped and feathery? Which dinosaur's bite was the most powerful? Did dino poops become fossils? What sounds did dinosaurs make? Did dinosaurs build nests? And what happened to the dinosaurs? * Perfect for early elementary earth science projects about fossils * Detailed diagrams show how fossils formed * Shows paleontologists and other scientists at work * Packed with photos and high-quality 3D digital illustrations * Close picture and text match with lots of labels * Carefully-leveled text for newly fluent readers * Key content vocabulary with helpful phonetic pronunciations * Includes a glossary and comprehension quiz This high-interest topic is perfect for introducing students to non-fiction reading. And the fantastic imagery and quantity of information will have kids returning to the book again and again, making it a valuable resource for classrooms and libraries. ulary with helpful phonetic pronunciations * Includes a glossary and comprehension quiz This high-interest topic is perfect for introducing students to non-fiction reading. And the fantastic imagery and quantity of information will have kids returning to the book again and again, making it a valuable resource for classrooms and libraries. ulary with helpful phonetic pronunciations * Includes a glossary and comprehension quiz This high-interest topic is perfect for introducing students to non-fiction reading. And the fantastic imagery and quantity of information will have kids returning to the book again and again, making it a valuable resource for classrooms and libraries. ulary with helpful phonetic pronunciations * Includes a glossary and comprehension quiz This high-interest topic is perfect for introducing students to non-fiction reading. And the fantastic imagery and quantity of information will have kids returning to the book again and again, making it a valuable resource for classrooms and libraries.
Our World in Pictures the Dinosaur Book by
Find out everything you need to know about dinosaurs, pterosaurs, marine reptiles, and prehistoric mammals with this picture-packed encyclopedia of curiosities. Come face-to-face with some of the most incredible creatures ever to exist in this incredible book of dinosaurs and other prehistoric life. With more than 1,000 extraordinary images and fascinating facts, kids aged 9-12 will love poring over the pages of Our World in Pictures: The Dinosaur Book. This book brings to life all forms of prehistoric creatures through vivid illustrations and realistic digital reconstructions, showing their fearsome teeth, tails, legs and scales that enabled them to eat, move and defend themselves against predators. Celebrate your child's curiosity as they explore: - Striking and detailed diagrams, drawings, and illustrations on every page. - Covers all forms of prehistoric life, from the first primitive invertebrates to dazzling dinosaurs, and the earliest mammals. - Up-to-date, essential information about dinosaurs' evolution and extinction, and every aspect of dinosaur science. - Picture-heavy and text-light approach to introduce geological periods, evolution and extinction, and every aspect of dinosaur science. Young readers will love to find out about the latest scientific discoveries that have changed the way we see these fascinating prehistoric animals - from the discovery of feathered dinosaurs to analyzing what has been found in their stomachs. Find all this and more in this dinosaur encyclopedia, featuring at-a-glance panels that provide a quick reference to all the stats, making it an ideal combination of colorful diagrams and informative text boxes. The easy-to-read text is accessible for kids aged 9+, yet can be enjoyed by the entire family, making this enthralling children's encyclopedia a beautiful and educational gift that can be passed down generations. Learn all about the world one picture at a time! If you like Our World in Pictures: The Dinosaur Book then why not complete the collection? Part of the highly visual Our World In Pictures series, avid readers can become vehicle virtuosos with Cars, Trains, Ships and Planes, journey across the globe with Countries, Cultures, People & Places and become antiquarians with The History Book.
Why? Questions and Answers for Toddlers - Dinosaurs by
A board book geared towards toddlers that is dedicated to the question favored by children and geniuses alike, why? And questions of dinosaurs are answered in this board book with flaps! Children ask question after question about dinosaurs. Luckily, in this board book, it has the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions on dinosaurs. With fun flaps, cute illustrations and detailed answers, this board book encourages any young child's curiosity!
Dinosaurs! by
DINOSAURS! follows the evolution of these spectacular creatures from their earliest beginnings as little fellows who had to evade attacks from giant croc relatives to today's living dinosaurs.
Pinocchio Rex and Other Tyrannosaurs by
Read and find out about tyrannosaurs beyond T. Rex in this colorfully illustrated nonfiction picture book. Everyone knows that Tyrannosaurus rex is the huge dinosaur with sharp claws and tiny arms. But in this appealing level 2 picture book from acclaimed science writer Melissa Stewart, you'll learn that T. rex is not the only tyrannosaur that existed in prehistoric times. This book is the perfect overview of the exciting new discoveries in the land of tyrannosaurs. Read and find out how tyrannosaurs evolved--from the tiny Dilong to the enormous T. rex. The book also includes an infographic, activity, and glossary, as well as "Dr. Steve Says" sidebars that give readers insight into what it felt like for Dr. Steve to be involved with the discovery of P. Rex! In the last fifteen years, scientists have found many tyrannosaurs, including one with a really long pointy nose. The New York Times bestselling coauthor of this book, Dr. Steve Brusatte, went to China in order to help ID the dinosaur that he would give the nickname Pinocchio Rex. This is a clear and appealing science book for early elementary age kids, both at home and in the classroom. It's a Level 2 Let's-Read-and-Find-Out, which means the book explores more challenging concepts for children in the primary grades. The 100+ titles in this leading nonfiction series are: hands-on and visual acclaimed and trusted great for classrooms Top 10 reasons to love LRFOs: Entertain and educate at the same time Have appealing, child-centered topics Developmentally appropriate for emerging readers Focused; answering questions instead of using survey approach Employ engaging picture book quality illustrations Use simple charts and graphics to improve visual literacy skills Feature hands-on activities to engage young scientists Meet national science education standards Written/illustrated by award-winning authors/illustrators & vetted by an expert in the field Over 130 titles in print, meeting a wide range of kids' scientific interests Books in this series support the Common Core Learning Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) standards. Let's-Read-and-Find-Out is the winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science/Subaru Science Books & Films Prize for Outstanding Science Series.
Science Comics: Dinosaurs by
Every volume of Science Comics offers a complete introduction to a particular topic--dinosaurs, coral reefs, the solar system, volcanoes, bats, flying machines, and more. These gorgeously illustrated graphic novels offer wildly entertaining views of their subjects. Whether you're a fourth grader doing a natural science unit at school or a thirty-year-old with a secret passion for airplanes, these books are for you! This volume: in Dinosaurs, learn all about the history of paleontology! This fascinating look at dinosaur science covers the last 150 years of dinosaur hunting, and illuminates how our ideas about dinosaurs have changed--and continue to change.
Tales of the Prehistoric World by
Travel back in time in this collection of exhilarating dinosaur adventures for kids and grandchildren aged 7-10 from paleontologist and YouTuber Kallie Moore. Who needs Jurassic World when the truth is this exciting? Prepare yourself for jaw-dropping discoveries, scandalous stories, and dinosaurs so weird you won't believe they're real! The tales in this dinosaur book are all completely true and many are included in a kids' book for the first time. Readers will come face-to-face with incredible prehistoric beasts including the Australian dinosaurs that fossilized into gemstones, the prehistoric shark with a circular saw in its mouth, and the relative of T. rex that was found frozen at the top of a mountain in Antarctica... The book is broken down into chapters covering the whole of Earth's history: Chapter 1 - The Beginning - featuring prehistoric goo and the first squishy animals Chapter 2 - An Explosion of Life - featuring king-sized trilobites, armored fish, and giant bugs! Chapter 3 - The Age of Reptiles - featuring spiny sauropods, pterosaurs the size of airplanes, and musical dinosaurs. Chapter 4 - The Recent Past - featuring gigantic snakes, Ice Age mammoths and sabre-toothed cats, and the hairy primates that would one day evolve into humans! Every thrilling story has been meticulously researched by author Kallie Moore, a fossil expert who also hosts the hit YouTube show PBS Eons. Beautiful illustrations by critically-acclaimed illustrator Becky Thorns bring incredible prehistoric beasts like Stegosaurus and Triceratops to life for younger readers. Unlike most kids' dinosaur books on the market, Tales of the Prehistoric World shines a light on the work of palaeontologists - from Susan Hendrickson, who discovered the most complete T. rex ever found, to Nizar Ibrahim, whose discoveries in the Sahara desert changed everything we thought we knew about Spinosaurus (SPOILER: it could swim!) "Will please both fledgling and confirmed dinophiles. . .An insider's view of exciting sites and finds, with prehistoric portraits aplenty to match." -Kirkus A gift to stand the test of time This beautiful hardback book makes the perfect gift for dino-mad kids. The cloth-textured cover is gilded with gold foil, and everything is printed using sustainable FSC® certified paper. Collect the series Part of Neon Squid's acclaimed series of educational bedtime stories that also includes Tales of Ancient Worlds and Tales of World War II.
Titanosaur: Discovering the World's Largest Dinosaur by
Scholastic and the American Museum of Natural History join forces in a thrilling new picture book about the discovery of the Titanosaur -- the biggest, heaviest creature to ever walk Earth! Get ready to meet the Titanosaur -- the biggest, heaviest creature to ever walk the Earth! This book tells the story of the discovery of this new dinosaur from the mouths of the paleontologists who led the dig! From its discovery by a local herder, to the organization and completion of the excavation, this riveting story will have readers on the edge of their seats, and the beautifully painted illustrations will mesmerize. The final spread will open up into a gatefold showing a photograph of the full Titanosaur skeleton on display at the museum. Chock-full of back matter like a glossary and extra information and photographs from the dig, and an inside jacket poster of the Titanosaur, kids of all ages will devour this book.
What Was the Age of the Dinosaurs? by
Travel back to the time when the mighty dinosaurs ruled the earth. The Age of Dinosaurs began about 250 million years ago. In the beginning they were quite small but over time they evolved into the varied and fascinating creatures that captivate our imaginations today. What we know about dinosaurs is evolving, too! We've learned that some dinosaurs were good parents, that dinosaurs could grow new teeth when old ones fell out, and that most dinosaurs walked on two legs. We've even discovered that birds are modern relatives of dinosaurs!
Absolute Expert: Dinosaurs by
Tear through tons of facts, figures, timelines, and the most up-to-date intel straight from the field, with National Geographic explorer and paleontologist Steve Brusatte as your expert guide, in this cool book all about dinosaurs. Have you met Pinocchio rex? Meet this fascinating dino along with favorites, such as Tyrannosaurus, Stegosaurus, Triceratops, Velociraptor, Apatosaurus, Ankylosaurus, and Giganotosaurus.Plus, check out some weird or newly discovered dinos you may not know about. See how fossils are formed. Learn about the epic, earth-shaking extinctions that paved the way for life today. Find out whether dinosaurs reallyhad feathers, and so much more! All this, along with special features, awesome illustrations, sidebars, wacky trivia, and facts from experts in the field, make this the ultimate book to help YOU become an absolute expert on one of your favorite subjects.
Bizarre Dinosaurs by
With state-of-the-art, digitally modelled images, fantastic photos of fossils, and up-to-date scientific interpretations, Bizarre Dinosaurs introduces dino-lovers to a group of very strange creatures indeed. The cast of characters includes Masiakasaurus, a fierce some beats whose mouth bristled with serrated, slightly hooked, forward-poking teeth; Deinocheirus with his ungainly long arms and huge triple claws; Epedendrosaurus with a tiny body and pinkie fingers as long as his arms; and flat-faced Dracorex hogwartsia, the "dragon king of Hogawarts", named after Harry Potter's School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Palaeontologist Josh Smith uses clear and informed text to tell kids what we know and what we are still guessing about this collection of odd-looking monsters, including how scientists think they used their individual bizarre characteristics. In his introduction, life-long dinosaur enthusiast John Updike gives young readers a new perspective on the sheer weirdness of dinosaurs by turning our relationship with hem on its head: "That thin and featherless skin, that dish-flat face, that limp upright stance, those fleeable clawless five digits at the end of each limb, that ghastly utter lack of tail-ugh.
Dining with Dinosaurs by
SureyouknowT-Rexwasthemeat-eatingkingand brontosaurusmunched on leaves, but what else was on the dino dining menu during theMesozoic era? Meetthe'vores- carnivores, piscivores, herbivores,insectivores, "trashivores," "sunivores," and omnivores like us. Readers will be surprised and inspired to learn about dino diets and they'll get to explore how scientists can tell which dinosaurs ate what just from looking at fossils! Journey through artist and author Hannah Bonner's whimsical world to learn how the dinosaurs and their contemporaries bit, chewed, and soaked up their food.
National Geographic Kids Everything Dinosaurs by
In National Geographic Kids Everything Dinosaurs, kids will explore the fascinating world of dinosaurs, meeting prehistoric creatures as tall as houses, and others that were as tiny as chickens. Kids become dino experts as they browse the eye-popping illustrations and absorb the authoritative information, made extra fun through a lively and humor-infused presentation. National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information.
National Geographic Kids Ultimate Dinopedia by
In the crowded field of dinosaur books, this is the very first to offer children ages 7 to 10--those at the height of their enthusiasm for the prehistoric giants--complete coverage of all the known dinosaurs.Don Lessem, author of more than 60 books--most of them about dinosaurs--teams up with Franco Tempesta, a talented illustrator with a fresh and appealing style. The exciting result is an accessible, visually stunning book that's packed with facts that kids can use to impress their friends and families.The Ultimate Dinopedia is organized by the periods that are well known to young enthusiasts: Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous. It includes almost every dinosaur ever discovered, and highlights 125 species that scientists know sufficiently to describe in rich detail. Special features include How We Know What They Looked Like, Baby Dinosaurs, Great Dinosaur Goofs, and much more. Every featured dino gets a fact box that delivers important information at a glance--Scientific Name, Discoverer, Place and Date of Discovery, Length, Habitat, Diet, Fossils, Fun Facts, and Range Map. This book provides--in fabulously illustrated, kid-friendly form--all the information an 8-year-old fact hound needs to lord that knowledge over parents and teachers!
National Geographic Kids Ultimate Dinopedia, Second Edition by
Dinosaurs continue to fascinate kids, and although these amazing creatures roamed the Earth ages ago, new dinosaur discoveries are still being made today! The new edition of the popular Nat Geo Kids Dinopedia includes all the latest species and is the most complete, up-to-date dinosaur reference available. Find favorites, like the fierce T-rex and the gentle Brontosaurus, plus audacious new finds, like the Anzu, Kosmoceratops, and Yi. Every dino profile is colorfully illustrated and features descriptions of when they roamed the Earth, how they lived, what they ate, and more. There are more than 600 dinos featured in all, including 10 profiles of recently discovered dinosaurs and new entries in the Dino Dictionary. Reports from paleontologists present the latest news and insights from the field.
National Geographic Little Kids First Big Book of Dinosaurs by
The third title in National Geographic Little Kids First Big Bookseries, this book is for kids 4- to 8-years-old who LOVE dinos! The prehistoric world comes alive with dinosaurs small, big, giant, and gigantic, with stunning illustrations by Franco Tempesta-who illustrated National Geographic Kids The Ultimate Dinopedia.Bursting with fun facts and age appropriate information, each spread features a different dinosaur, along with simple text in big type that is perfect for little kids. Young dino fans will love the interactivity included in every chapter, and parents will appreciate tips to help carry readers' experience beyond the page.
Tracking Tyrannosaurs by
This book highlights a newly discovered T. rex relative in China with a coat of downy feathers! This one-ton predator is the largest known animal to ever have walked the Earth. This discovery was made public in April 2012, and is a timely addition that sets this book apart from other dinosaur titles. We meet 19 kinds of tyrannosaurs--including seven new species discovered in the last two years--that came before T. rex. The names are strange, like Bistahieversorand Zhuchengtyrannus. The creatures were strange, too, and many of the newly discovered ones caught scientists by surprise. Filled with engaging, lifelike illustrations by Xing Lida,Tracking Tyrannosaurs explains to kids how T. rex, the most famous, ferocious dinosaur of all-time was only one of many tyrannosaurs that lived on Earth for over 100 million years!
Learn about your favorite dinosaurs with World Book Kids! See photos, read or listen to age-appropriate articles, and explore beyond the database with World Book's specially curated list of external dino links. Plus, you can access these articles in Spanish through Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, the Spanish language version of World Book Kids.
