After the Constitution was put into place, the First Congress suggested twelve amendments, or changes, to the document. Those suggestions included ways to protect individuals' freedom and limit the government's power. James Madison wrote a final draft of ten of those changes, known as the Bill of Rights. They were approved by 3/4 of the state legislatures on December 15, 1791.
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.
A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.
No Soldier shall, in time of peace be quartered in any house, without the consent of the Owner, nor in time of war, but in a manner to be prescribed by law.
The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.
No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just compensation.
In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed, which district shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defence.
In Suits at common law, where the value in controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise re-examined in any Court of the United States, than according to the rules of the common law.
Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.
The enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights, shall not be construed to deny or disparage others retained by the people.
The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.
The Bill of Rights
by
Which freedoms do Americans hold most dear? The Bill of Rights is a list of important freedoms shared by everyone in the United States. Join President James Madison to find out how the Bill of Rights came to be. Also, discover what it means to people today.
The Bill of Rights: Guaranteeing Liberty
by
The Bill of Rights is an exceptionally important part of the Constitution. Not only does the Bill of Rights guarantee individual liberties and place limits on government powers, but without the addition of this section, the Constitution itself might never have been approved. This absorbing volume discusses the Bill of Rights and how it came to be, the language of each amendment, and how amendments have been interpreted. Intriguing controversies surrounding some of the amendments are explained. Sidebars, fact boxes, and graphic organizers enrich the learning experience.
A Kids' Guide to America's Bill of Rights
by
Which 462 words are so important that they've changed the course of American history more than once? The Bill of Rights: the first ten amendments to the Constitution, the crucial document that spells out how the United States is to be governed. Packed with anecdotes, sidebars, case studies, suggestions for further reading, and humorous illustrations, Kathleen Krull's introduction to the Bill of Rights brings an important topic vividly to life. Whether you're a middle grader or high schooler or even an adult, and whether you're looking to expand your knowledge or to reearch a report, the format of this "kids' guide" makes the information understandable and interesting. Find out what the Bill of Rights is and how it affects your daily life in this fascinating look at the history, significance, and mysteries of these laws that are designed to protect the individual freedoms of Americans--including young people. Some of the questions addressed in this easy-to-follow book: Why did early American founders argue that individuals needed a Bill of Rights to protect them from government? Why is freedom of speech so thrilling and so controversial? What is religious intolerance, and when can it be fatal? What does it really mean to take the Fifth? How does the Bill of Rights affect the rights of kids?
United States Civics - Bill of Rights for Kids 1787 - 2016 Incl Amendments 4th Grade Social Studies
by
After America has gained its independence from the Britain, it now had to deal with several internal issues. One of which is to create a constitution that will serve as a set of universal laws that will help govern the new country. Read this book to understand the processes of creating the constitution, and its amendment. Also, go over the important amendments done to ensure the rights of Americans.
Us Constitution and Bill of Rights
by
Have you ever wondered about the events that laid the foundations of the United States of America? This title investigates the people involved with and the events leading up to the US Constitution and Bill of Rights. Special features include sidebars, infographics, on-page definitions, online search sidebar, further evidence sidebar and primary sources. This title also includes a timeline, glossary, Web links, index, and common core activities. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Discover ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about the Bill of Rights, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The Bill of Rights, 2 Volume Set
by
The Bill of Rights is a comprehensive survey of all aspects of the U.S. Bill of Rights; from its origins to its role in modern American history. Special attention is given to the organic relationship of the Bill of Rights to the original Constitution, its ongoing interpretation and incorporation by the U.S. Supreme Court, and the political and social issues it has spawned. This new edition adds new coverage of recent challenges to and reinterpretations of The Bill of Rights regarding reproductive rights, same-sex marriage, and free expression in a digital age. Essays are divided under four broad headings: Overviews survey the history and significance of the Bill of Rights within the broader contexts of the principles of constitutional law and U.S. legal history. Amendments provide individual coverage of each of the first ten amendments. Issues cover subjects ranging from censorship, civil rights and liberties, due process and freedom of religion, to the right to counsel and Miranda rights. Court Cases offer nearly 300 articles on the individual court cases through which the rights in the Bill of Rights have been defined and extended. It is through these cases that the Supreme Court has provided authoritative interpretations of the Bill of Rights, thereby establishing doctrines and principles of constitutional law. Additional appendices include a glossary, a time line, an annotated bibliography, and a table summarizing the stances on the Bill of Rights taken by every justice who has sat on the Supreme Court, along with the complete texts of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution and its amendments and a comprehensive subject index.
Us Constitution and Bill of Rights
by
Have you ever wondered about the events that laid the foundations of the United States of America? This title investigates the people involved with and the events leading up to the US Constitution and Bill of Rights. Special features include sidebars, infographics, on-page definitions, online search sidebar, further evidence sidebar and primary sources. This title also includes a timeline, glossary, Web links, index, and common core activities. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Read or listen to reference entries about the Bill of Rights, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore documentaries about the Bill of Rights in Kanopy. These movies are recommended for teens and adults.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about the Bill of Rights. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the document as well as biographies about its primary author, James Madison.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The Bill of Rights
by
Documents of Freedom
by
What are the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights, and the U.S. Constitution? They're important documents that helped to shape our country. But what's the story behind how these documents were created? And what exactly do they say? Read this book to find out.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles.
The Bill of Rights
by
Even before the first glorious ring of the Liberty Bell, America was a land of freedom and promise. The Cornerstones of Freedom series explores what inspires people from all over the world to start life anew here, endure the economic and social upheavals, and defend the land and rights that are unique to the United States of America.
The Bill of Rights
by
Learn about the rights and freedoms protected by the first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution, including their history and importance for Americans today. Additional features to aid comprehension include fact-filled captions and sidebars, detailed photographs, informational diagrams, a table of contents, a phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and an introduction to the author.
The Bill of Rights
by
An analysis of the U.S. Bill of Rights, with information on how it was created and how it has evolved, with examples of major Supreme Court decisions related to it.