Born: April 13, 1743, Albemarie County, Virginia
Presidential Term: 1801-1809
Three Interesting Facts (kids.nationalgeographic.com):
He owned 600 slaves in his lifetime but knew slavery would someday need to end.
He introduced French fries to the United States.
He founded the University of Virginia.
Died: July 4, 1826, Charlottesville, Virginia
Meet Thomas Jefferson
by
When Thomas Jefferson was young, Virginia was still a colony of England. Jefferson thought that many English laws and taxes were unfair, so he studied hard to become a lawyer and help make better laws. Soon he and others came to believe that the colonies should become a new country, and Jefferson was chosen to write the Declaration of Independence. As the third president of the United States, he focused on exploring the country and making it grow. His fairness and love of learning made him one of the most beloved presidents of all time.
Thomas Jefferson: President and Philosopher
by
In this special illustrated edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling Thomas Jefferson- The Art of Power by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jon Meacham, young readers will learn about the life and political philosophy of one of our Founding Fathers. Thomas Jefferson was the third president of the United States. He was one of the authors of the Declaration of Independence. But he was also a lawyer and an ambassador, an inventor and a scientist. He had a wide range of interests and hobbies, but his consuming interest was the survival and success of the United States. This book contains a note from Meacham and over 100 archival illustrations, as well as sections throughout the text about subjects such as the Boston Tea Party, the Library of Congress, and Napoleon Bonaparte. Additional materials include a time line; a family tree; a Who's Who in Jefferson's world; sections on Jefferson's original writings and correspondence, "inventions," interests, places in Jefferson's world, finding Jefferson in the United States today, additional reading, organizations, and websites; notes; a bibliography; and an index. This adaptation, ideal for those interested in American presidents, biographies, and the founding of the American republic, is an excellent example of informational writing and reflects Meacham's extensive research using primary source material.
Who Was Thomas Jefferson?
by
Did you know that John Adams had to coax Thomas Jefferson into writing the Declaration of Independence? It's true. The shy Virginia statesman refused at first, but then went on to author one of our nation's most important and inspiring documents. The third U.S. president, Jefferson was also an architect, inventor, musician, farmer, and-what is certainly the most troubling aspect of his life-a slave owner. Finally, here's a biography for kids that unveils the many facets of this founding father's remarkable and complicated life.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on Thomas Jefferson.
Read or listen to reference entries about Thomas Jefferson, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Thomas Jefferson's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
The Real Thomas Jefferson
by
Thomas Jefferson set the course for a new nation ruled by and for the people. In the Declaration of Independence, his words explained that all people are created equal and all deserve life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Jefferson's vision continues to guide the United States, but his own life wasn't always inspiring. There are hard truths about Jefferson, just as there are towering achievements. In that sense, many people believe Jefferson was very much like the nation he helped create.
Thomas Jefferson
by
Tells the life story of President Thomas Jefferson, the individual who authored the Declaration of Independence. Written in graphic-novel format.
Thomas Jefferson
by
homas Jefferson is one of the most famous men in American history. The list of his political accomplishments, such as writing the Declaration of Independence, serving as Minister to France, becoming America's third President, and spearheading the Louisiana Purchase, is long indeed. But that describes Jefferson the public servant. What about Jefferson the private man? How was he affected by the untimely death of his wife? Where did he long to be above all other places in the world? What was his reaction to his fights with Alexander Hamilton under President George Washington? How did his passion for continually rebuilding his home lead to worry? While most people know of and about many of the political deeds he performed, few know much about his personal life. This biography tells not only the public accomplishments of Thomas Jefferson, but also reveals the private side of his remarkable life.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Thomas Jefferson. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, books and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Thomas Jefferson
by
Look on a nickel and you'll find the face of Thomas Jefferson! This book introduces young readers to Thomas Jefferson, a patriot and president who deeply loved his country.
Thomas Jefferson
by
Themes: Graphic Novels, Illustrated, Biography, Nonfiction, Tween, Teen, Young Adult, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Fast-paced and easy-to-read, these 25-page graphic biographies teach students about historical figures: those who lead us into new territory; pursued scientific discoveries; battled injustice and prejudice; and broke down creative and artistic barriers. These biographies offer a variety of rich primary and secondary source material to support teaching to the standards.
Thomas Jefferson for Kids
by
An architect, statesman, farmer, and inventor, Thomas Jefferson had few equals among this nation's founders. Left fatherless at a young age, he was a hardworking scholar who came into his own as a lawyer, landowner, and county leader. Elected to the Virginia Assembly in 1769, Jefferson became an eloquent critic of the colonial policies of Great Britain and King George III. His talents made him the perfect candidate to write the Declaration of Independence, which set the United States apart in a world ruled by monarchs. Jefferson, however, was not without his contradictions. His quill penned the immortal phrase "all men are created equal," but during his lifetime he owned 600 slaves. And though he sought elected office, he was sensitive to criticism and often wished to escape his public role and return to his Monticello estate. Author Brandon Marie Miller captures the complexity of this talented leader through his original writings and hands-on activities from the colonial era
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Thomas Jefferson, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Thomas Jefferson
by
Themes: Graphic Novels, Illustrated, Biography, Nonfiction, Tween, Teen, Young Adult, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Fast-paced and easy-to-read, these 25-page graphic biographies teach students about historical figures: those who lead us into new territory; pursued scientific discoveries; battled injustice and prejudice; and broke down creative and artistic barriers. These biographies offer a variety of rich primary and secondary source material to support teaching to the standards.
Thomas Jefferson's Presidency
by
Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States, was a man of contradictions. Jefferson penned the most stirring claim of the Declaration of Independence: "all men are created equal." Yet during his lifetime, Jefferson owned hundreds of enslaved African Americans. An adamant believer in limited government, Jefferson nevertheless acted without constitutional power to buy land from France--the Louisiana Purchase--that doubled the size of the United States. Jefferson died on the Fourth of July, 1826, exactly fifty years after the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Despite his contradictions, Jefferson's words continue to express the noble ideals of Americans--freedom from tyranny and equality for all.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles on Thomas Jefferson.
Thomas Jefferson
by
From writing the Declaration of Independence to making the Louisiana Purchase, Thomas Jefferson played a big role in making the United States what it is today! In this beginning biography of the third president, young readers will learn about this founding father through vibrant photos, leveled text, and special features such as a timeline, profile, and map.
Thomas Jefferson
by
Renowned artist Maira Kalman sheds light on the fascinating life and interests of the Renaissance man who was our third president. Thomas Jefferson is perhaps best known for writing the Declaration of Independence--but there's so much more to discover. This energetic man was interested in everything. He played violin, spoke seven languages and was a scientist, naturalist, botanist, mathematician and architect. He designed his magnificent home, Monticello, which is full of objects he collected from around the world. Our first foodie, he grew over fifteen kinds of peas and advocated a mostly vegetarian diet. And oh yes, as our third president, he doubled the size of the United States and sent Lewis and Clark to explore it. He also started the Library of Congress and said, "I cannot live without books." But monumental figures can have monumental flaws, and Jefferson was no exception. Although he called slavery an "abomination," he owned about 150 slaves. As she did in Looking at Lincoln, Maira Kalman shares a president's remarkable, complicated life with young readers, making history come alive with her captivating text and stunning illustrations.
Thomas Jefferson for Kids
by
An architect, statesman, farmer, and inventor, Thomas Jefferson had few equals among this nation's founders. Left fatherless at a young age, he was a hardworking scholar who came into his own as a lawyer, landowner, and county leader. Elected to the Virginia Assembly in 1769, Jefferson became an eloquent critic of the colonial policies of Great Britain and King George III. His talents made him the perfect candidate to write the Declaration of Independence, which set the United States apart in a world ruled by monarchs. Jefferson, however, was not without his contradictions. His quill penned the immortal phrase "all men are created equal," but during his lifetime he owned 600 slaves. And though he sought elected office, he was sensitive to criticism and often wished to escape his public role and return to his Monticello estate. Author Brandon Marie Miller captures the complexity of this talented leader through his original writings and hands-on activities from the colonial era