Born: December 5, 1782, Kinderhook, New York
Presidential Term: 1837-1841
Three Interesting Facts (CBS News):
He was the first president born in the United States of America.
He spoke Dutch as his first language.
During his presidency, he purchased a lavish private residence with one of the first flush toilets. It even had a hand-pointed toilet bowl.
Died: July 24, 1862, Kinderhook, New York
Read or listen to reference entries about Martin Van Buren, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Martin Van Buren's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Martin Van Buren
by
This biography introduces readers to Martin Van Buren, including his early political career and key events from Van Buren's administration including the Panic of 1837 and the passage of the Independent Treasury Act. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Martin Van Buren
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Martin Van Buren, eighth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Martin Van Buren. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about Martin Van Buren, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Martin Van Buren
by
Examines the life of the lawyer politician who became the eighth president of the United States and led the country through its first serious depression.