Born: November 2, 1795, Mecklenburg, North Carolina
Presidential Term: 1845-1849
Three Interesting Facts (Britannica Kids):
He had 9 brothers and sisters.
The announcement that he had been elected as president was brought to his house by a secret messenger on a horse at dawn.
Polk was always frail, and he died shortly after leaving the White House.
Died: June 15, 1849, Nashville, Tennessee
Read or listen to reference entries about James K. Polk, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore James K. Polk's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
James K. Polk
by
This biography introduces readers to James K. Polk, including his early political career and key events from Polk's administration including the Oregon Treaty, the Mexican War, and the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
James K. Polk
by
During his one term as president, James K. Polk helped expand the United States so that it stretched from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean, but what else do you know about our 11th president? In this fascinating introduction, young readers will learn about Polk's early life, his achievements as president, and the ways he is remembered today. Each 24-page book in this series features controlled text with age-appropriate vocabulary and simple sentence construction. The lively text, colorful design, and rich photos and illustrations are sure to capture the interest of emergent readers.
James Polk
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of James K. Polk, eleventh president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about James. K Polk. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about James K. Polk, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
America 1844
by
The presidential election of 1844 was one of the two or three most momentous elections in American history. Had Henry Clay won instead of James K. Polk, we'd be living in a very different country today. Polk's victory cemented the westward expansion that brought Texas, California, and Oregon into the union. It also took place amid religious turmoil that included anti-Mormon and anti-Catholic violence, and the "Great Disappointment," in which thousands of followers of an obscure preacher named William Miller believed Christ would return to earth in October 1844. Author and journalist John Bicknell details even more compelling, interwoven events that occurred during this momentous year: the murder of Joseph Smith, the religious fermentation of the Second Great Awakening, John C. Frémont's exploration of the West, Charles Goodyear's patenting of vulcanized rubber, the near-death of President John Tyler in a freak naval explosion, and much more. All of these elements illustrate the competing visions of the American future--Democrats versus Whigs, Mormons versus Millerites, nativists versus Catholics, those who risked the venture westward versus those who stayed safely behind--and how Polk's election cemented the vision of a continental nation.
California's Gold Rush
by
This title examines an important historic event - the gold rush in California. Easy-to-read, compelling text explores the first discovery of gold and the creation of boomtowns in the West, issues with the Mexican government, military desertion, expansionism, and the environmental consequences of mining, key characters such as John Sutter, Samuel Brannan, Colonel Richard B. Mason, and President James K. Polk, the roles of journalism, transportation, and racial discrimination, the development of mining technologies and entrepreneurship, and the effects of this event on society. Features include a table of contents, glossary, selected bibliography, Web links, source notes, and an index, plus a timeline and essential facts. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.