Born: November 23, 1804, Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Presidential Term: 1853-1857
Three Interesting Facts (The White House):
He became the presidential nominee for the Democratic Party after 48 ballots.
None of his children lived long enough to see him enter the White House.
Under him, the U.S. bought the area of Arizona and New Mexico for $10 million.
Died: October 8, 1869, Concord, New Hampshire
Read or listen to reference entries about Franklin Pierce, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Franklin Pierce's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Franklin Pierce
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Franklin Pierce, fourteenth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Franklin Pierce
by
This biography introduces readers to the life of Franklin Pierce, including his military service, early political career, and key events from Pierce's administration including the Gadsden Purchase, the Treaty of Kanagawa, and the Kansas-Nebraska Act. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Franklin Pierce. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about Franklin Pierce, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Franklin Pierce
by
Presents a biography of Franklin Pierce
Franklin Pierce
by
Presents a biography of Franklin Pierce