Born: December 28, 1856, Staunton, Virginia
Presidential Term: 1913-1921
Three Interesting Facts (britannica.com):
Even though he was dyslexic, he became the only president to earn a Ph.D.
He won a Nobel Peace Prize for creating the League of Nations.
He suffered a stroke while in office, and the White House covered up how severe it was.
Died: February 3, 1924
Who Was Woodrow Wilson?
by
First he was known as Tommy, then Woodrow, and eventually, Mr. President. Born on December 28, 1856, in Staunton, Virginia, Thomas Woodrow Wilson was a born leader. He was the president of Princeton University, served as governor of New Jersey after
Woodrow Wilson
by
The president who led the United States through World War I, Woodrow Wilson was a brilliant student, teacher, and statesman. He had been a college professor, president of Princeton University, author of books on government, and governor of New Jersey. In his Fourteen Points address in 1918, he proposed the League of Nations, the first international organization committed to world peace. His most bitter disappointment was that his country never joined the organization. Among Wilson's many accomplishments examined in this fascinating biography are tariff reform, the Federal Reserve banking system, the Federal Trade Commission, and the eight-hour workday.
Woodrow Wilson
by
This biography introduces readers to Woodrow Wilson, including his early political career and key events from Wilson's administration including the Underwood Tariff Act, World War I, and winning the Nobel Peace Prize. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Woodrow Wilson
by
When Woodrow Wilson became president in 1913, the United States was a very different country from the one it is today. Women did not have the right to vote, and many children worked long hours in unsafe factories and mines. Wilson wanted to change things and work to help people who had few rights. In this fascinating introduction, young readers will learn about Wilson's early life, his achievements as president, and the many ways he is remembered today. Each 24-page book in this series features controlled text with age-appropriate vocabulary and simple sentence construction. The lively text, colorful design, and rich photos and illustrations are sure to capture the interest of emergent readers.
Woodrow Wilson
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Woodrow Wilson, twenty-eighth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Woodrow Wilson. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Woodrow Wilson, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Presidential Leadership
by
Ever since the presidency of Richard M. Nixon, scholars have been in a quandary over how much they really know about our country's presidents. Nixon, as is now understood, was unstable in personality. The signs appeared well before the discovery of the infamous Watergate tapes, an appalling example of what the presidency could come to. Many Americans have difficulty penetrating the public persona of their leaders. But to know the private side of such figures--the cores of their being--is important, because this side often governs what they do publicly. In Presidential Leadership, Robert H. Ferrell examines four sometimes maligned, sometimes misunderstood presidents: Woodrow Wilson, Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, and Harry S. Truman. Along with these portraits, Ferrell incorporates comments on Hoover and Franklin Delano Roosevelt as well as key figures in each president's administration. Also included in this volume is historian John A. Garraty's interview with Ferrell on American foreign policy from 1919 to 1945. As is his style, Ferrell draws from many sources previously untapped. In the case of Wilson, Ferrell relies on the diary of Colonel Edward M. House, who served under Wilson during his presidency. Ferrell uses White House physician Joel T. Boone's diary to provide an insider's look at Harding, Coolidge, and Hoover. In dealing with these presidents, Ferrell debunks long-held myths and approaches the presidencies with fresh insights into what drove them to make the decisions they made. Throughout the book, Ferrell emphasizes the personal styles of each president. He not only shows how they made their own determinations but also evaluates those whom they appointed to important positions. Scholars of American history will welcome this insightful look at the men who saw the United States through the first half of the twentieth century.
Woodrow Wilson
by
Most famous in Europe for his efforts to establish the League of Nations under US leadership at the end of the First World War, Woodrow Wilson stands as one of America's most influential and visionary presidents. A Democrat who pursued progressive domestic policies during his first term in office, he despised European colonialism and believed that the recipe for world peace was the self-determination of all peoples, particularly those under the yoke of the vast Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian Empires. His efforts to resist heavy reparations on Germany fell on deaf ears, while the refusal of France, Russia and Britain to accept a League of Nations led by America, together with the US Senate's refusal to ratify the League, led to its ultimate failure. Woodrow Wilson has traditionally been seen by both admirers and critics as an idealist and a heroic martyr to the cause of internationalism. But John Thompson takes a different view, arguing that Wilson was a pragmatist, whose foreign policy was flexible and responsive to pressures and events. His conclusion, that Wilson was in fact an exceptionally skilful politician, who succeeded in maintaining national unity whilst leading America onto the world stage for the first time in its history, offers a challenging interpretation for anyone interested in the man and his era.
Woodrow Wilson
by
Before Woodrow Wilson became president of the United States, he spent 25 years at Princeton University, first as an undergraduate, then professor, and finally as president. His experiences at the helm of Princeton--where he enjoyed four productive years followed by four years of wrangling and intense acrimony--reveal much about the kind of man he was and how he earned a reputation as a fearless crusader. This engrossing book focuses on how Wilson’s Princeton years influenced the ideas and worldview he later applied in politics. His career in the White House, W. Barksdale Maynard shows, repeated with uncanny precision his Princeton experiences. The book recounts how Wilson’s inspired period of building, expansion, and intellectual fervor at Princeton deteriorated into one of the most famous academic disputes in American history. His battle to abolish elitist eating clubs and establish a more egalitarian system culminated in his defeat and dismissal, and the ruthlessness of his tactics alienated even longtime friends. So extreme was his behavior, some historians have wondered whether he suffered a stroke. Maynard sheds new light on this question, on Wilson’s temper, and on other aspects of his strengths and shortcomings. The book provides an unprecedented inside view of a hard-fighting president--a man who tried first to remake a university and then to remake the world.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities.
Read or listen to reference entries about Woodrow Wilson, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Woodrow Wilson's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Woodrow Wilson
by
Woodrow Wilson, the 28th president of the United States, was the son of a prominent Presbyterian minister and his equally devout wife. He grew up in the South during the Civil War and in its bleak aftermath, giving him a glimpse of the horrors and hardships of war.
Woodrow Wilson
by
Woodrow Wilson
by
Presents a biography of Woodrow Wilson