Born: August 10, 1874, West Branch, Iowa
Presidential Term: 1929-1933
Three Interesting Facts (constitutioncenter.org):
He was an orphan.
He was a geologist by trade.
He spoke eight languages, and he and his wife often spoke Chinese in the White House when they wanted to have a private conversation.
Died: October 20, 1964, New York City, New York
Did President Herbert Hoover Really Cause the Great Depression? Biography of Presidents Children's Biography Books by
The Great Depression was truly depressing. Everyone was struggling to make ends meet. The stock market crashed and took the economy with it. Jobs were lost and families were greatly affected. But who is to blame for it? Was it really President Hoover? Let's explore the facts and then let's try to create our conclusions. Begin with this book today!
Herbert Hoover by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Herbert Hoover, thirty-first president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Herbert Hoover by
This biography introduces readers to Herbert Hoover, including his early career as a geology engineer, his early political career, and key events from Hoover's administration including the Great Depression. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Herbert Hoover: a Short Biography by
Herbert Hoover led one of the most fascinating lives of an America in the twentieth century. Orphaned as a young boy he would graduate from Stanford University, build a fortune as a mining engineer, and become the most accomplished humanitarian of his era. His complex personality led many to view him as aloof and uncaring, though ironically through his extreme generosity he helped feed millions of starving Europeans during two World Wars. After a brilliant career as Secretary of Commerce he became president of the United States in 1928 which was at the high point of America's prosperity. Less than one year into his term, he was caught up in the economic maelstrom that put the stock market in free-fall and opened the first chapter of what would become the Great Depression. Hoover's approach to solving the nation's problems was to build a cooperative alliance between government and the business sector rather than rely solely on government largess. Though he came into the presidency in a time of exuberance, he would leave the office under a dark cloud of rejection and defeat. This is the story of man who through his sheer force of will rose to be one of the most accomplished figures in the land during the twentieth century. The book "Herbert Hoover: A Short Biography" gives a concise look at the life and times of the former president of the United States. To illustrate the story there are numerous pictures of the people, places, and events that were part of this man's fascinating life. In addition the book contains: a list of reference books for further reading, a timeline of President Hoover that puts the events of his life and that period of history in sequence, and a section that contains short biographical sketches of the key individuals in the book. 30-Minute Book SeriesThis is the 45th book in the 30-Minute Book Series. Books in this series are fast-paced, accurate, and cover the story in as much detail as a short book possibly can. Most people complete each book in less than an hour, which makes the books in the series a perfect companion for your lunch hour, a school project, or a little down time. About the AuthorDoug West is a retired engineer and an experienced non-fiction writer with several books to his credit. His writing interests are general, with special expertise in history, science, and biographies. Doug has a Ph.D. in General Engineering from Oklahoma State University.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Herbert Hoover. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Herbert Hoover, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
American Exceptionalism in a New Era by
In American Exceptionalism in a New Era, editor Thomas W. Gilligan, director of the Hoover Institution, has compiled thirteen essays by Hoover fellows that discuss the unique factors that have historically set America apart from other nations and how these factors shape public policy. The authors show how America and its people have prospered and emerged as global leaders by prizing individuality and economic freedom and explore key factors in America's success, including immigration, education, divided government, light regulation, low taxes, and social mobility. America isn't perfect, they argue, but it is exceptional. Taken together, the essays form a broad exploration of American attitudes on everything from tax rates and property rights to the role of government and rule of law. They examine the beliefs of statesmen including Alexis de Tocqueville, Abraham Lincoln, Herbert Hoover, and Ronald Reagan--each of whom considered America fundamentally different from other nations. Finally they outline the ways American exceptionalism may be in decline, with consequences both at home and abroad. At a time when "the idea of the American dream is not in high repute in our public discourse," the authors collectively argue that the United States must continue to believe in itself as exceptional and indispensable or else face a world where America no longer sets the standard. Contributors: Annelise Anderson, John Cochrane, William Damon, Niall Ferguson, Stephen Haber, Victor Davis Hanson, Edward P. Lazear, Gary Libecap, Michael McConnell, George H. Nash, Lee Ohanian, Paul E. Peterson, Kori Schake
The Crusade Years, 1933-1955 by
Covering an eventful period in Herbert Hoover's career--and, more specifically, his life as a political pugilist from 1933 to 1955--this previously unknown memoir was composed and revised by the 31st president during the 1940s and 1950s--and then, surprisingly, set aside. This work recounts Hoover's family life after March 4, 1933, his myriad philanthropic interests, and, most of all, his unrelenting "crusade against collectivism" in American life. Aside from its often feisty account of Hoover's political activities during the Roosevelt and Truman eras, and its window on Hoover's private life and campaigns for good causes, The Crusade Years invites readers to reflect on the factors that made his extraordinarily fruitful postpresidential years possible. The pages of this memoir recount the story of Hoover's later life, his abiding political philosophy, and his vision of the nation that gave him the opportunity for service. This is, in short, a remarkable saga told in the former president's own words and in his own way that will appeal as much to professional historians and political scientists as it will lay readers interested in history.
Read or listen to reference entries about Herbert Hoover, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Herbert Hoover's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Herbert Hoover by
Opening with an interest-grabbing introduction, each biography brings out the character of the man -- his early life and its influence on his political aspirations, his election, important events (both good and bad) that occurred during his presidency, and life after his term in office (if applicable).
Herbert Hoover by
Presents a biography of Herbert Hoover