Born: August 27, 1908, Stonewall, Texas
Presidential Term: 1963-1936
Three Interesting Facts (lbjlibrary.org):
He was the president of his six-person high school senior class.
He worked as a janitor to pay for college.
He asked his wife, Lady Bird, to marry him on their first date. They were married ten weeks later.
Died: January 22, 1973, Johnson City, Texas
Civil Rights Movement Through the Eyes of Lyndon B. Johnson by
Go inside the Oval Office during the Civil Rights Movement to see the challenges faced by President Lyndon B. Johnson, how he responded to difficult issues, and how he shaped the country during this pressing time in office.
Lyndon B. Johnson by
The My Itty-Bitty Bio series are biographies for the earliest readers. This book examines the life of Lyndon B. Johnson in a simple, age-appropriate way that will help children develop word recognition and reading skills. Includes a timeline and other informative backmatter.
Lyndon B. Johnson by
This biography introduces readers to the life of Lyndon B. Johnson, including his military service, early political career, and key events from Johnson's administration including the Civil Rights Act, the Vietnam War, and the space race. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Lyndon B. Johnson. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Lyndon B. Johnson by
This appealing biography highlights Lyndon B. Johnson's life as he represented Texas in the United States Congress for 24 years and became the 36th President of the United States. Through engaging images, intriguing sidebars and facts, appealing photographs, and easy-to-read text, readers will learn interesting aspects of U.S. history during Johnson's presidency, such as the Higher Education Act, Voting Rights Act, Minority Whip, and the Vietnam War. Text features like a table of contents, glossary, and index are included to help readers navigate the text and develop new vocabulary as they read about Johnson's fascinating life. This book also includes an in-class writing activity that allows students to pay tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Lyndon B. Johnson, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
JFK and LBJ by
A firsthand observer weighs the achievements--and failures--of two fabled American presidents As a young White House correspondent during the Kennedy and Johnson years in Washington, D.C., Godfrey Hodgson had a ringside seat covering the last two great presidents of the United States, John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson, two men who could not have been more different. Kennedy's wit and dashing style, his renown as a national war hero, and his Ivy League Boston Brahmin background stood in sharp contrast to Lyndon Johnson's rural, humble origins in Texas, his blunt, forceful (but effective) political style, his lackluster career in the navy, and his grassroots populist instincts. Hodgson, a sharp-eyed witness throughout the tenure of these two great men, now offers us a new perspective enriched by his reflections since that time a half-century ago. He offers us a fresh, dispassionate contrast of these two great men by stripping away the myths to assess their achievements, ultimately asking whether Johnson has been misjudged. He suggests that LBJ be given his due by history, arguing that he was as great a president as, perhaps even greater than, JFK. The seed that grew into this book was the author's early perception that JFK's performance in office was largely overrated while LBJ's was consistently underrated. Hodgson asks key questions: If Kennedy had lived, would he have matched Johnson's ambitious Great Society achievements? Would he have avoided Johnson's disastrous commitment in Vietnam? Would Nixon have been elected his successor, and if not, how would American politics and parties look today? Hodgson combines lively anecdotes with sober analyses to arrive at new conclusions about the U.S. presidency and two of the most charismatic figures ever to govern from the Oval Office.
Read or listen to reference entries about Lyndon Johnson, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Lyndon Johnson's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles.
Assassination and Its Aftermath by
The world was shocked and frightened when President John F. Kennedy was gunned down by an assassin's bullet in 1963. What would happen to the government of the most powerful nation on Earth? When Kennedy's vice president, Lyndon Baines Johnson, took the presidential oath of office on Air Force One just hours after the assassination, the White House photographer was there. Cecil Stoughton's iconic photo showed the world that the smooth and orderly transfer of power called for in the U.S. Constitution had occurred. His photo helped ease the shock, tension, and fear in an anxious country.
Lyndon B. Johnson by
After the assassination of President Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson became president. He was an influential leader who fought for civil rights and led the country through one of history's most divisive wars. In this fascinating introduction, young readers will learn about Johnson's early life, and his achievements as president, as well as the many ways he is remembered today. Each 24-page book in this series features controlled text with age-appropriate vocabulary and simple sentence construction. The lively text, colorful design, and rich photos and illustrations are sure to capture the interest of emergent readers.
Lyndon B. Johnson by
Presents a biography of Martin Van Buren