Born: June 12, 1924, Milton, Massachusetts
Presidential Term: 1989-1993
Three Interesting Facts (usnews.com):
At the age of 18, he was the youngest pilot in the Navy.
He was a cheerleader at Yale just like his father.
He and his wife Barbara were the longest married presidential couple. They were married for 73 years.
Died: November 30, 2018, Houston, Texas
George H. W. Bush by
This biography introduces readers to George H.W. Bush, including his early political career and key events from Bush's administration including the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty, the Persian Gulf War, and the 1992 Los Angeles Riots. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
George H. W. Bush by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of George Herbert Walker Bush, forty-first president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
George H. W. Bush by
The My Itty-Bitty Bio series are biographies for the earliest readers. This book examines the life of George H. W. Bush in a simple, age-appropriate way that will help children develop word recognition and reading skills. Includes a table of contents, author biography, timeline, glossary, index, and other informative backmatter.
President George H. W. Bush: a Short Biography by
His was one of the great American stories. Born into a privileged New England family, George H. W. Bush joined the navy on his eighteenth birthday, and at age twenty, he was shot down on a combat mission over the Pacific. He married young, started a family, and resisted pressure to become a Wall Street banker, instead, striking out for the adventurous world of the Texas oil patch. Over the course of three decades, Bush would rise through the political ranks from the chairmanship of his county Republican Party to serve as congressman, ambassador to the United Nations, head of the Republican National Committee, Chief of the U.S. Liaison Office to China, and Director of Central Intelligence. He served for two terms as vice president under Ronald Reagan, and, ultimately, President of the United States. During his presidency, the Berlin Wall fell and the Soviet Union splintered. Bush's capable leadership during this dramatic time helped shape a world in which the United States emerged as a lone superpower. After one term in office, he became the first president since John Adams to see his son also become president.This short book covers the life of former President George H. W. Bush from his early years growing up in Connecticut, his rise to power through the political ranks to become the President of the United States, and the years after his term in the land's highest office.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about George H.W. Bush. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about George H.W. Bush, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
41 by
Although it lasted only a single term, the presidency of George H. W. Bush was an unusually eventful one, encompassing the fall of the Berlin Wall and the reunification of Germany, the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the invasion of Panama, the Persian Gulf War, and contentious confirmation hearings over Clarence Thomas and John Tower. Bush has said that to understand the history of his presidency, while "the documentary record is vital," interviews with members of his administration "add the human side that those papers can never capture." This book draws on interviews with senior White House and Cabinet officials conducted under the auspices of the Bush Oral History Project (a cooperative effort of the University of Virginia's Miller Center and the George Bush Presidential Library Foundation) to provide a multidimensional portrait of the first President Bush and his administration. Typically, interviews explored officials' memories of their service with President Bush and their careers prior to joining the administration. Interviewees also offered political and leadership lessons they had gleaned as eyewitnesses to and shapers of history. The contributors to 41--all seasoned observers of American politics, foreign policy, and government institutions--examine how George H. W. Bush organized and staffed his administration, operated on the international stage, followed his own brand of Republican conservatism, handled legislative affairs, and made judicial appointments. A scrupulously objective analysis of oral history, primary documents, and previous studies, 41 deepens the historical record of the forty-first president and offers fresh insights into the rise of the "new world order" and its challenges.
Read or listen to reference entries about George H.W. Bush, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore George H.W. Bush's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
