ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help children ages 2-8+ build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse is 100% educational and fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities (books, puzzles, educational games, science and math videos, art activities, songs, and more) across all major subject areas (Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music)—including more than 2,000 STEM learning activities and 1,200 learning activities in Spanish. Home access includes the Assessment Center which creates customized lessons that are targeted to help a child improve in specific skill areas identified by the assessments.
To use ABCmouse from home, choose Missouri as your state, then St. Louis County Library as your library. Then enter your library card number and PIN. The first time you visit, you will need to provide an email address and create a password.
Full text coverage of scholarly journals in the areas of social science, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world's leading news agency.
Book Connections strives to joyfully enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books. It empowers all readers to find great books to read, connect deeply with books and gain insights from authors and illustrators, engage with a diverse collection from other cultures and perspectives, and cultivate a lifelong love of reading. Educators and students can find homework help, homeschool support, lesson plans, discussion guides, and more.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for general research in a public library. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
From Rosen Digital, the Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro- and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams. Beneficial for grades 7-12 as well as adults.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
Provides full text access to periodicals covering a variety of topics. Includes content taken from reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over a 100,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports. Includes biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags.
Use Peterson’s Test and Career Prep to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships, and access online practice tests and eBooks for exam preparation. This resource also provides career tools, resume builders, and study guides for exams like SAT, ACT, GRE, NCLEX, and more.
Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, health, and marketing data.
The Screen Actors Guild - American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA) Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations.
TeachingBooks is an easy-to-use resource that offers thousands of multimedia resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors. Easily find resources by grade, curricular area, genre, and cultural experience. Readers can find books they might like, build reading lists,and look for homework help. Educators can find teaching ideas, lesson plans, text complexity, book readings, activities, author interviews and insights, and more.
Transparent Language Online is a language-learning online resource that builds listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills with unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Native American languages. Pronunciation practices, speech analysis, grammar, writing activities, and vocabulary-building activities are also available.
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.
World Book Advanced, designed to support personalized learning, is an excellent resource for high school and college students as well as life-long learners. In addition to trusted encyclopedia articles from World Book, you can also find over 600 global newspapers and government websites from around the world. For educators, you can also access primary sources with advanced lesson plans and assessments for the classroom.
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.
Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures using hundreds of interactive timeliness. Create an account to build and save your own timelines.
