Microfilm and Microfiche
The categories of films are listed in alphabetical order. When a number follows a film description, it is the National Archives microfilm publication number.
Cemeteries
Father Dickson Cemetery Burial Books, 1903-1983. This 13-acre cemetery, founded in 1903, served African Americans in the towns of Webster Groves and Kirkwood in St. Louis County, Missouri.
Washington Park Cemetery. Films include listings by alphabetical order, then by section and lot number.
Census
Arkansas:
Population schedules, 1830-1880, and 1900-1930 slave schedules, 1850 & 1860 Soundex/Miracode for 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 agricultural schedules, 1850-1880defective, dependent and delinquent schedules, 1880 mortality schedules, 1850-1880
Social statistics, 1850-1870
Louisiana:
Population schedules, 1810-1880, and 1900-1930 slave schedules, 1850-1860 Soundex/Miracode, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 agricultural schedules, 1850-1880 defective, dependent and delinquent schedules, 1880 mortality schedules and indexes, 1850-1880
Veteran's schedule, 1890
Mississippi:
Population schedules, 1820-1880, and 1900-1930 slave schedules, 1850 & 1860Soundex, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 agricultural schedules, 1850-1880 mortality schedules, 1850-1880
Veteran's schedule, 1890
City Directories
Louisiana: New Orleans
Mississippi: Biloxi, Clarksdale, Columbus, Greenville, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Jackson, Meridian, Vicksburg
Civilian World War I Draft Registration Cards
Arkansas
Louisiana
Mississippi
County Information
Miss., WPA Source Material for Mississippi History, Counties of Adams, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Holmes, Humphrey's, & Panola
Marriage
Marriage Records of the Office of the Commissioner, Washington Headquarters of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands 1861-1869 - M1875
Mississippi (Soundex) Index to Marriages prior to 1926 - Set Z11
Mississippi (Soundex) Index to Marriages prior to 1926 (White Persons) - Set Z12
Military
Applications for Headstones for U.S. Military Veterans, 1925–1941 – M1916
Index to Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers Who Served With U.S. Colored Troops -M589
Compiled Military Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers who served with the U.S. Colored Troops (Civil War) :
- Artillery: Artillery Organizations - M1818
- Cavalry: 1st through 5th U. S. Colored Cavalry, 5th Massachusetts Cavalry (Colored), 6th U. S. Colored Cavalry - M1817
- Infantry: 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment (Colored) - M1898; 55th Massachusetts Infantry (Colored) - M1801; 1st U.S. Colored Infantry, 1st South Carolina Volunteers (Colored) Company A, 1st U.S. Colored Infantry (1 Year) - M1819; 2nd-7th U.S. Colored Infantry including the 3rd Tennessee Volunteers (African Descent), 6th Louisiana Infantry (African Descent), 7th Louisiana Infantry (African Descent), and Miscellaneous Service Cards - M1820; Infantry Organizations, 8th through 13th, including the 11th (new) - M1821; Infantry Organizations, 14th through 19th - M1822
(The Index to Civil War Slave Compensation Claims is based on the service records of USCT soldiers whose former owners, usually from a border state, filed a compensation claim for their lost services.)
Descriptive Recruitment Lists of Volunteers for the United States Colored Troops for the State of Missouri, 1863-1865 - M1894. See the online index elsewhere on this website.
Documents Relating to the Military and Naval Service of Blacks Awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor From the Civil War to the Spanish American War - M929
Organization Index to Pension Files of Veterans Who Served Between 1861 and 1900 - T289, Rolls 540-579 (These films cover the U.S. Colored Troops.)
Registers of Enlistments in the United States Army, 1798-1914 - M233 (SC has rolls 25-81 covering 1855-1914)
Newspapers (now available thorough Newspapers.com)
St. Louis Argus: 1915 – 1966; 1986 – 1997
St. Louis Palladium: 10 Jan 1903 - 5 Oct 1907
Plantation Records
Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Series G. Part 5. (Includes Natchez Trace Collection - Other Plantation Collections)
Post-Civil War Records
Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands
Marriage Records of the Office of the Commissioner, Washington Headquarters of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Land 1861-1869 - M1875 Also see sample images.
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Alabama, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872 - M1900
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Arkansas, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872 - M1901
Records of the Field Offices for the District of Columbia, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870 - M1902
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Louisiana, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1870 - M1905
Records of the Field Offices for the States of Maryland and Delaware, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872 - M1906
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Mississippi, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872 - M1907
Records of the Mississippi Freedmen's Department ("Pre-Bureau Records"), Office of the Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1865 - M1914
Register of Marriages of Freedmen and Indentures of Colored Orphans: Mississippi - M826, Roll 42
Labor Contracts of freedmen: Mississippi - M826, Rolls 43-50 (These rolls are from the NARA microfilm set Records of the Assistant Commissioner for the State of Mississippi, Bureau of Refugees, Freedman, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1869, M826) For more info about this source, see Freedmen's Bureau Online: Mississippi Marriages and the mainFreedmen's Bureau Online page. Mississippi Freedman's Bureau Labor Contracts Index is available in microfiche stored in burgundy fiche cabinet.
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Missouri, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1872 - M1908
Records of the New Orleans Field Offices, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1869 - M1483
Records of the Assistant Commissioner for the State of Tennessee, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1869 - M999 (SC has Roll 25 only)
Records of the Field Offices for the State of Tennessee, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands - M1911
Freedmen's Savings & Trust Co.
Indexes of Deposit Ledgers in Branches of the Freedman's Savings & Trust Co, 1865-1874 - M817
Registers of Signatures of Depositors: Branches of the Freedman's Saving & Trust Co, 1865-1874 -M816
Southern Claims Commission
Barred and Disallowed Case Files of the Southern Claims Commission, 1871-1880 - M1407 ( fiche)
Records of the Commissioners of Claims (Southern Claims Commission), 1871-1880 - M87
Records of the U.S. House of Representatives: Southern Claims Commission, 1871-1880 - P2257
Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880: Alabama - M2062
Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880: Georgia - M1658 (fiche)
Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871–1880: Virginia - M2094
Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871–1880: West Virginia - M1762
U.S. Court of Claims Docket Cards for Congressional Case Files, 1884-1937 - M2007
A guide to Southern Claims Commission records is available elsewhere on this website.
Slavery
Race, Slavery, and Free Blacks, R 326.0975 R1181]
This microfilm set includes available legislative petitions and a representative sample of county court petitions related to race and slavery for the time period 1778–1867 in 15 southern states (Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) and the District of Columbia. The set is a compilation of the University of North Carolina’s Race and Slavery Petitions Project.
State Slavery Statutes
The index to this microfiche set, State Slavery Statutes: Guide to the Microfiche Collection, R 342.73 S797, is shelved on top of the microfiche cabinet in the History and Genealogy Department. It indexes the statutes by subjects, names, and geographic locations and includes the names of many slaves.
U.S. Customs Service Records: Port of New Orleans, Louisiana
Inward Slave Manifests, 1807-1860
A Partial transcription of Inward Slave Manifests is available in the Slave Data section on the AfriGeneas website.
An index for the Slave Manifests inward bound to New Orleans from Baltimore and other Maryland ports is on pages 132-639 of Cash for Blood by Ralph Clayton, R 973.711 C622C
Outward Slave Manifests, 1812-1860
Wilbur H. Siebert Collection (Underground Railroad)
An online guide is available from the Ohio Historical Society. (PDF format, 4 Mb)
Databases
The following subscription databases can be used free of charge at all St. Louis County Branches and remotely with a valid St. Louis County Library card (some exceptions apply)
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Begins with first Black newspaper in America. Includes Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Frederick Douglas Paper, Provincial Freeman, and The Christian Recorder.
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Includes full text of 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Inquirer published between 1 November 1860 and 30 April 1865
