Community Resources: Immigrants, Refugees, New Citizens

Everything you need to become a naturalized U.S. citizenThe sooner a green card holder becomes a U.S. citizen, the sooner he or she gains a host of benefits: the right to vote and apply for certain federal jobs, faster immigration for family, protection against deportation or new anti-immigration legislation, and more. But the application process itself can be long and confusing--and at worst, create a risk of deportation. With Becoming a U.S. Citizen, you can save months, or even years, and avoid complications. Learn how to: make sure you are eligible for citizenship understand the risks and rewards of applying fill out application forms study for the citizenship exam interview successfully, and deal with any setbacks. Becoming a U.S. Citizen also shows you how to ask for a reduced fee or take advantage of special exceptions if you have a disability, are in the military, or are the spouse of a U.S. citizen. The 10th edition is updated with the latest laws, procedures, and government policies. It includes sample forms, handy checklists, and a study guide to the citizenship exam.

The book that's helped thousands of couples live in the U.S. togetherYou're engaged or married to a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and all you want is the right to be together in the United States. Should be simple, right? It's not. The pile of application forms can be overwhelming, the bureaucracy isn't helpful, and delays are inevitable. This book will help you succeed. Discover the fastest and best application strategy. Avoid common--and serious--mistakes. Prepare for meetings with officials. Prove your marriage is real--not a fraud. Deal with the two-year testing period for new marriages. The 11th edition covers the latest, higher income requirements, easing of Trump-era regulations that put more immigrants at risk of being denied visas as a likely "public charge," and a new COVID vaccine requirement. It also provides handy checklists and illustrative sample forms. Use this book if you are living in the United States or overseas and: your fiancé is a U.S. citizen your spouse is a U.S. citizen, or your spouse is a U.S. permanent resident. Ilona Bray began practicing immigration law because of her concern with international human rights issues. She is the author of Becoming a U.S. Citizen and U.S. Immigration Made Easy, both published by Nolo. Check out her immigration-related postings on Nolo's blog.

The ultimate green card guide The U.S. immigration system is an enormous bureaucracy, soit's vital that you understand it before attempting to apply for a green card.Making a mistake can lead to delays and hassles or even ruin your chances forsuccess. How to Get a Green Cardprovides everything you need to know about qualifying for permanent U.S.residence if you don't have an employer sponsoring you. Find out how to work with U.S. officials and prepare andpresent the right documents at the right time to get a green card through: *    parents,siblings, or adult children *    a U.S.spouse or fiancé *    green cardlotteries (diversity visa) *    politicalasylum or refugee status *    a U visa forcrime victims, or *    anothercategory you might qualify for. The 15th edition covers the latest income requirements forfamily-based green card applicants; the lifting of country-based travel bans;lower procedural hurdles for U visa applicants; the addition of a COVIDvaccination requirement; an increase in the number of refugees accepted to theUnited States; additions to the list of countries whose citizens may obtainTemporary Protected Status; and more.

Todo lo que un inmigrante debe conocer para vivir legalmente en Estados Unidos Inmigrar a Estados Unidos tiene nuevas reglas: Un gobierno que quiere imponer leyes más estrictas, amenaza de deportación, falsa información, estafas, miedo. Todo ha complicado la situación del inmigrante. Por eso Univision te brinda los recursos y los consejos para que puedas enfrentar la nueva realidad que estamos viviendo.  En esta guía, los expertos en inmigración de Univision, el abogado Armando A. Olmedo y el editor principal de inmigración Jorge Cancino, te explican claramente varios aspectos que todo inmigrante debe saber:   * Cómo funciona el proceso migratorio de Estados Unidos   * Las principales visas para entrar al país de visita o para trabajar   * Qué es asilo y refugio y quiénes pueden acogerse a ellos   * Cómo obtener la residencia * Cómo convertirte en ciudadano Americano   * Legal o ilegal: Qué debes hacer ante la nueva realidad * Cuáles son tus deberes y derechos como inmigrante  Con un texto informativo, claras ilustraciones, datos precisos y casos reales,Inmigración, las nuevas reglas es la guía de Univision que te acompañará en tu proceso de inmigración, desde que dejas tu tierra hasta que vives el sueño americano. ENGLISH DESCRIPTION Everything an immigrant must know to live legally in the United States Immigrating to the United States has new rules: a government that wants to impose stricter laws, the threat of deportation, false information, fraud, and fear. This has all complicated the situation for immigrants. Because of this, Univision offers you resources and advice so that you can face the new reality we find ourselves in. In this guide, attorney Armando A. Olmedo and journalist Jorge Cancino of Univision clearly explain several aspects that all immigrants should know: * How the U.S. immigration system works * The primary visas used to enter the country and to work * What asylum and refuge are, and who can be protected by them * How to obtain residency * How to become an American citizen * Legal or illegal: what you should do in the face of the new reality * What your rights and responsibilities as an immigrant are   With informative text, clear illustrations, precise data and real cases, Immigration. The New Rules is the guide by Univision that will accompany you in the process of immigration, from the time you leave your homeland until you are living the American dream.

Green cards, visas, and more: What every immigrant needs to know Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? U.S. Immigration Made Easy has helped tens of thousands of people get a visa, green card, or other immigration status. You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents insider strategies for dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials ways to overcome low income and other immigration barriers, and how to select the right attorney. U.S. Immigration Made Easy provides detailed descriptions of application processes and helps you avoid traps that might destroy your chances. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card. The 20th edition is completely updated to cover recent legal changes owing to the new presidential administration, as well as the latest on DACA. This book does not cover naturalization. If you're interested in U.S. citizenship, see Nolo's Becoming a U.S. Citizen.

"101 American English Idioms" takes the mystery out of these common U.S. expressions and explains their meanings in context. On the audio CD, native speakers read each of the 101 idioms, so you can hear how American English sounds and practice what you have learned."

Grammar in Use is the world's best-selling grammar series for learners of English. This third edition, with answers and interactive eBook, contains 100 units of grammar reference and practice materials, with illustrations in full colour and a user-friendly layout. The eBook has the same grammar explanations and exercises found in the printed book, plus other great features. You can listen to all of the example sentences from the book, record your answers to exercises, highlight text and add your own notes.

The world's best-selling grammar series for learners of English. Basic Grammar in Use Fourth Edition is an American English self-study reference and practice book for beginner level learners (A1-B1). With simple explanations, clear examples, and easy to understand exercises, it is perfect for students who are learning on their own, but can also be used in the classroom. Inside the book is a code for an ebook. The ebook works on PCs, Macs, iPads and Android tablets. It has the same grammar explanations and exercises found in the printed book, plus other great features such as audio for all the example sentences and an easy to use answer key.

Grammar in Use Intermediate is a highly successful grammar text known for its clear, concise explanations and innovative format. Ideal for students preparing for the TOEFL ® test or other standard examinations, the new edition of this popular North American English grammar title offers even more support, with a larger format to include more explanation and practice, eight new units on phrasal verbs, and 10 pages of Additional Exercises. This edition, with answers, can be used in the classroom or for self-study. It includes a CD-ROM featuring additional practice exercises, progress reports, interactive games, and a link to the Cambridge Dictionaries Online. You can even create your own tests to review the language learned.

Guides students to explore and practice a range of language structures in a variety of engaging contexts. Includes audio disc.

Theme-based chapters cover a variety of interesting topics. The specific communicative goals in each chapter are achieved through diverse interactive communicative activities. Includes one audio disc.

Theme-based chapters which cover a wide variety of interesting topics. The specific communicative goals in each chapter are achieved through diverse interactive communicative activities that emphasize the interdependence of listening, speaking, and pronunciation skills. Includes one audio disc.

A comprehensive and entertaining way for students to learn common English idioms. With easy-to-read definitions and examples of 600 of the most common idioms in English, the lessons will both entertain and enlighten students while presenting idioms in a variety of contexts.

The Illustrated Everyday Idioms with Stories series makes learning common English idioms fun. Together, the two books in the series provide easy-to-read examples of 600 common idioms in English.

A guide for new immigrants on passing the citizenship test. Includes maps and 2 audio discs.

A guide for new immigrants to prepare for their citizenship interview. Includes 3 audio books.