Community Resources: Mental Health

Provides programs, support, and a Family Support warm line for families with adolescents struggling with depression and suicide.
Warm line (during business hours): 314-952-8274

Provides call, chat, and text counseling services for young LGBTQ+ people in crisis.
Call 866-488-7386 or Text 678-678

Online crisis network. Provides crisis intervention chats.

Our crisis prevention, suicide intervention and postvention support services include community awareness, outreach and education; a youth-staffed telephone hotline; Peer Helper Skills Training; and support for survivors of a completed suicide. Our philosophy is simple; KUTO is teens helping teens help themselves.
Helpline staffed after 4:00 PM 888-644-5886

Want an empathetic, non-judgmental listening ear? Call the St. Louis Queer+ Support Helpline (SQSH) to chat with a trained LGBTQIA-affirming peer counselor.
St. Louis Queer+ Support Helpline: 314-380-7774 Friday-Monday 1:00 PM - 7:00 PM

The Youth Connection Helpline is a dedicated 24/7 hotline for youth, parents, guardians, or other concerned individuals to access crisis intervention, behavioral health and substance use assessment, and service linkage.
314-819-8802 or 844-985-8282
Text: BHEARD to 31658

Online chats, blogs, and forums for members with depression to connect with others with depression. Run by Provident Behavioral Health.

The St. Louis Empowerment Center is a peer run recovery drop-in center designed to meet the needs of individuals who have lived experience with mental health and or substance use issues.
907 Dock Street St. Louis, MO 63147 314-652-6100

Casa de Salud was created in St. Louis, Missouri in 2010 to fill a major void in giving primary health care to new arrivals from other countries, especially uninsured Latinos. The Mental Health Collaborative features low-cost counseling services, provided by a variety of on-site partners. Therapists work with adults, children, individuals, couples, families, and groups of all languages.
3200 Chouteau Avenue St. Louis, MO 63103 314-977-1250

BJC Behavioral Health provides and coordinates an array of mental health services for citizens residing in St. Louis City, St. Louis County, and the counties of St. Francois, Iron and Washington, Missouri. We serve as the point of entry for people eligible for services funded through the Missouri Department of Mental Health, and we also provide services under some health plans and grants.
314-747-7491

Compass Health Network provides a wide variety of mental health and primary health services for residents of St. Charles, Lincoln, Warren and Franklin counties. Multiple locations.
844-853-8937

Community counseling services available to Missouri residents. Clients meet with counseling interns for a low, flat rate. See webpage for individual counseling intern phone numbers.

Offers many types of counseling for those of all ages. Medicaid accepted.
3482 Hollenberg Drive, Bridgeton, MO 63044 (314) 409-8606

Referrals to Epworth Psychological Services are appropriate for children, adolescents, and adults who display behavioral challenges, social barriers, and emotional difficulties. Bi-lingual providers, fluent in both Spanish and English, are readily available for Spanish-speaking clients. Referrals and prospective clients should contact the program directly to verify eligibility for services, which are free if funder requirements are met or available to self-pay and other clients with sliding-scale options.
7520 Natural Bridge Road, Normandy, MO 63121
314-222-4461

Hawthorn is a children's psychiatric hospital that is owned and operated by the Missouri Department of Mental Health. It is the Department of Mental Health's only free-standing children's psychiatric hospital in Missouri and provides treatment services to youth who are residents of Missouri. As a state facility, Hawthorn is required by law to charge for its services, but payments are arranged according to a family's ability to pay.
1901 Pennsylvania Avenue St. Louis, Missouri 63133 314-512-7800

Provides culturally sensitive mental health care for all ages with a sliding scale fee.
5701 Delmar Blvd. St. Louis, MO 63112 314-531-1770

Independence Center is a community-based rehabilitation program for adults with severe and persistent mental illnesses in the St. Louis area, built on the Clubhouse model of psychosocial rehabilitation.
4245 Forest Park Ave. St. Louis, Missouri 63108 (314) 533-4245

Jewish Family and Children’s Services offers a variety of support services to the St. Louis Jewish community, including counseling on a sliding-fee scale. Applicants must be Jewish in order to qualify for financial assistance.
314-993-1000

Counseling to children struggling with divorce, blended families, rebuilding relationships, and more.
2650 South Hanley Road Suite 150 Maplewood, MO 63144 (314) 909-9922

LFCS provides short-term care and support for children and families in need on a sliding-scale fee, and they provide case management and other support services to reunite families in stable situations as soon as possible.

We offer various programs designed to be educational and supportive. We work on community advocacy efforts that focus on improving access to treatment and creating better legislation on mental health issues. Explore our website to find helpful information and resources.
5501 Delmar Blvd., Suite A500, St. Louis MO 63112 314-773-1399

Mercy Behavioral Health offers free, confidential evaluations for anyone who has a concern about a psychiatric, behavioral or addictive disorder. Evaluations, as well as referrals to physicians or community resources, are available 24 hours a day.
(314) 251-0555.

Provides a safe, healing environment for the youngest children recovering from abuse, neglect, abandonment or early childhood trauma in the greater St. Louis region. Services include therapeutic residential treatment, a full range of professional psychological services, a therapeutic preschool and case management for young children and families involved in the foster care system due to abuse and neglect. Care includes therapeutic residential treatment (birth-9), professional psychological services (birth-12), therapeutic preschool (3-6) and case management for young children and families.
(314) 533-2229 x223

Provides outpatient therapy to patients of all ages. Sliding scale fee.
1001 Lynch Street, St. Louis, MO 63118
Adult Behavioral Health: 314-615-9105 / Ext. 295
Youth & Family Services: 314-615-9105 / Ext. 292
Outpatient Therapy: 314-615-9105 / Ext. 402

Provides counseling and psychiatric services.
314-533-8200

Salam Clinic was founded to provide free medical care to the uninsured and under-insured in St. Louis.
Salam Clinic Mental Health Services at St. Peters United Church of Christ
1425 Stein Rd. Ferguson, MO 63135 314-521-5694
General Clinic Sessions Every Sunday 12pm-4pm

Provides high quality, in-depth assessment and treatment, available at a fee based on the client’s ability to pay. The Clinic offers assessment services in order to evaluate the nature of the problem and to explore appropriate treatment methods and resources. The Clinic is staffed by advanced clinical trainees in psychiatry, clinical psychology, counseling psychology and social work who serve as therapists.
7700 Clayton Rd Ste 200, St. Louis, MO 63117
314-361-7075, ext. 444 *Para servicios en español llama: (314) 361-7075, ext. 616

Counseling services are available to anyone in need within the Saint Louis University community and throughout the metropolitan St. Louis area. A sliding scale fee can be offered to clients, which must be negotiated first with their therapist based on need and circumstances. Therapy is provided by doctoral and masters-level students currently in the Medical Family Therapy Program at Saint Louis University. All therapists are supervised by faculty who are licensed professionals.
3700 Lindell Blvd. Morrissey Hall, Suite 1100 St. Louis, MO 63108 314-977-2505

The Psychological Services Center at Saint Louis University is an outpatient mental health center operated by SLU's Department of Psychology. Counseling, psychotherapy and psychological assessment are provided by doctoral students in clinical psychology under the supervision of licensed clinical psychology faculty. Clients include children, adolescents, adults, the elderly, couples and families.
314-977-2278

Offers inpatient, outpatient, youth, adult, senior, and urgent care behavioral health services.
Urgent Care: 12355 DePaul Drive, Suite 150 St. Louis, MO 63044 314-344-7200

Offers mental health counseling on a sliding-fee scale. Several offices in the St. Louis area. Translation in over 40 languages available through Language Access Metro Project (LAMP).
314-544-3800

We serve children impacted by all types of traumatic events including childhood sexual abuse, physical abuse, and neglect. We also serve witnesses of domestic abuse and violent crime and children who have suffered accidents, natural disasters, and traumatic bereavement. We also have therapies for children with sexual behavior issues and who are difficult to manage at home and school.
(314) 516-6798

The Community Psychological Service (CPS) is a not-for-profit outpatient mental health center established by the University of Missouri-St. Louis to provide psychological services to residents of the St. Louis metropolitan area. We are committed to providing high quality, affordable counseling and evaluation services to adults, couples, children, and families, and to training effective, empathic psychologists.
314-516-5824

The Center for Trauma Recovery Clinic is a multiservice trauma center dedicated to providing specialized services to trauma survivors and conducting professional education and training programs for mental health professionals. Therapy is available to people who have experienced any kind of trauma.
314-516-6738

Counseling organization that supports the community by providing integrated mental health services to children and adults who have experienced trauma, depression and anxiety, regardless of their ability to pay.
737 Dunn Road Hazelwood, MO 63042 (314) 731-2433

The Washington University Psychological Service Center is an outpatient mental health clinic within the Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. This treatment facility, which was established in 1972, provides training opportunities for advanced doctoral students in the clinical psychology program as well as low-cost treatment options for members of the St. Louis community. Confidential services are available to adolescents, adults, and couples in the greater St. Louis area.
(314) 935-6555