LibGuides: Health &amp; Wellness Guide: Databases and Websites

Introduction

Below you will find a list of Health-related databases that are accessible with your St. Louis County Library card.

This is a list of curated links that our librarians have evaluated for accuracy, credibility, and trustworthiness. If you find a broken link, you can email to let us know at reference@slcl.org.

Databases

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Integrates the full text of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters topical overviews; and reference books.
Headspace This link opens in a new window
Headspace makes meditation and mindfulness techniques available online so more people can experience the benefits of meditation anytime, anywhere. It's meditation made simple: your personal guide to mindfulness and a restful night's sleep - and St. Louis County Library cardholders get it for free.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Online access to Magill’s Medical Guide, Salem Health: Cancer, and Salem Health: Psychology and Mental Health.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This resource provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular and self-help support. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying and LGBTQ+ issues. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more. Grade level 7-12.

Additional Resources accessible via the St. Louis County Library website

Child Well-Being Resource Ecosystem Map - St. Louis Region
The Clark-Fox Family Foundation has compiled a map depicting resources dedicated to children's education both inside and outside of the classroom. This map is a tool to help you discover what resources are out there and also how they are interconnected. Click on any of the large colored circles to enlarge that section of the map, and hold your cursor over an agency to see what they do.
DocInfo
DocInfo - DocInfo is a free resource for consumers from the Federation of State Medical Boards. Provides physician licensure and disciplinary data.
Drug Information Portal
This free website from the National Library of Medicine provides quick access to high quality drug information from multiple U.S. government agencies. Search for pharmaceuticals by drug trade name or by generic name.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus - An online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Merck Manual (Consumers)
The Merck Manual for Consumers website provides the standard in-home medical encyclopedia online. Find images, symptoms and signs, diagnoses, treatment, and prevention options for many types of medical concerns.
Merck Manual (Professionals)
The Merck Manual for Professionals website provides you with thousands of medical topics and chapters. Find images, symptoms and signs, diagnoses, treatment, and prevention options for many types of medical concerns.
Missouri Division of Professional Registration
Search for a physician licensed to practice in Missouri.
PubMed
From the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, PubMed includes more than 29 million citations for biomedical research from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
United States National Library of Medicine Clinical Studies
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. Explore 381,183 research studies in all 50 states and in 220 countries.