Art & Architecture Guide: Outside Resources

The A+D Museum explores the definitions of architecture and design, from the conceptual to professional practice. They embrace the themes of technology, art, scale, and urbanism. A+D guides their community through the complex effects design has on their lives and the world around us all.

The mission of the Television Academy is to promote creativity, diversity, innovation and excellence through recognition, education and leadership in the advancement of the telecommunications arts and sciences.

AIA was founded in 1857 by 13 architects. Now they have more than 96,000 members. They advocate for the value of architecture and give architects the resources they need to do their best work. Their work drives positive change through the power of design.

A PDF document: Equitable Development Frameworks - an introduction and comparison for architects to explore their role in advancing equitable communities.

The Art Institute of Chicago shares its singular collections with Chicago and the world. They collect, care for, and interpret works of art across time, cultures, geographies, and identities, centering the vision of artists and makers. They recognize that all art is made in a particular context, demanding continual, dynamic reconsideration in the present. They are a place of gathering; they foster the exchange of ideas and inspire an expansive, inclusive understanding of human creativity.

The Association of Academic Museums and Galleries is the leading educational and professional organization for academic museums, galleries, and collections. In recognition of the unique opportunities and challenges of its constituents, the AAMG establishes and supports best practices, educational activities and professional development that enable its member organizations to fulfill their educational missions.

The Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library collects books and periodicals in archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning , decorative arts, design, historic preservation, landscape architecture, painting, photography, real estate development, and sculpture. The Library currently contains more than 625,000 volumes and receives approximately 1,300 periodicals.
The scope of the Avery collection in architecture is outstanding; it ranges from the first Western printed book on architecture, De re aedificatoria (1485), by Leone Battista Alberti, to the classics of modernism by Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier. Avery Drawings & Archives Collection holds approximately two million drawings and original records in more than 950 collections.

The Broad makes its collection of contemporary art from the 1950s to the present accessible to the widest possible audience by presenting exhibitions and operating a lending program to art museums and galleries worldwide. The Broad is home to nearly 2,000 works of art in the Broad collection, which is one of the world’s leading collections of postwar and contemporary art.

The Brooklyn Museum works to bring people together through art and experiences that inspire celebration, compassion, courage, and the will to act.

The Cleveland Museum of Art offers dynamic experiences that illuminate the power and enduring relevance of art in today’s global society. The museum builds, preserves, studies, and shares its outstanding collections of art from all periods and parts of the world, generating new scholarship and understanding, while serving as a social and intellectual hub for its community.

The Council for Art Education promotes visual art education for all K-12 students. A listing of Missouri Art Centers and Non-Profit Associations are available on their website.

Design Museum is an internationally recognized national specialist museum of Finnish design. Design Museum researches, collects, stores and documents design, and displays it both in Finland and in touring exhibitions abroad.

The world's largest cultural and philanthropic organization, Getty advances and shares visual art and cultural heritage in Los Angeles, California and abroad. Getty is the legacy of the businessman and art collector J. Paul Getty, and his view that art is a civilizing influence in society.

Committed to innovation, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation collects, preserves, and interprets modern and contemporary art, and explores ideas across cultures through dynamic curatorial and educational initiatives and collaborations. With its constellation of architecturally and culturally distinct museums, exhibitions, publications, and digital platforms, the foundation engages both local and global audiences.

St. Louis' Home of Education, Arts, and Culture:

HEC-TV is St. Louis’ leading "producer of education and arts television programming, using technology to connect and synergize in innovative, highly successful ways. HEC-TV provides an unparalleled level of service, changing the face of television by engaging viewers, empowering teachers, and encouraging students to achieve unparalleled success."

The Hirshhorn is a leading voice for contemporary art and culture and provides a national platform for the art and artists of our time. Located in the heart of Washington, DC, on the National Mall, they are free to all. As one of the most visited modern art museums in the US, they seek to share the transformative power of modern and contemporary art by creating meaningful, personal experiences in which art, artists, audiences, and ideas converge. The Hirshhorn’s holdings encompass one of the most important collections of postwar art in the world, and they are committed to providing the artists of today a global platform to explore new ways to create, with performance, digital media, video, and technology.

Through the concept of art as a traditional path of creativity, IAIA excels at skill building, provoking thought and providing exceptional educational opportunities. IAIA is a place to embrace the past, enrich the present, and create the future, moving ahead to paths yet unexplored and undiscovered.The Institute of American Indian Arts sits on the homelands of the Pueblo nations. At IAIA, the spirit and vision of Native American and Alaska Native people is their first priority. Founded on October 1, 1962, the Institute of American Indian Arts offers academic excellence to both Native and non-Native populations. Their goal is empowerment through education, economic self-sufficiency, and expression and enhancement of artistic and cultural traditions.

The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. Travel around the world and across history through 490,000+ works of art.

Mid-America Arts Alliance (M-AAA) is a nonprofit, Regional Arts Organization that serves Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas. They focus on strengthening communities and improving lives through extraordinary cultural experiences. M-AAA exists "to activate, empower, and amplify community through the arts. To do this, we make grants, provide career development, and support arts organizations and artists of all disciplines."

The mission of the Missouri Bandmasters Association (MBA) is to build better bands in Missouri public and private schools through the sponsorship of clinics designed to present new teaching techniques and ideas. The MBA gives band directors of wind and percussion students an active role in the improvement of their profession and promotes and sponsors the Missouri All-State Band.

MODA's mission is to advance the understanding and appreciation of design as the convergence of creativity and functionality through exhibitions, education, and programming for visitors of all ages. They envision a world that celebrates design as a creative force that inspires change, transforms lives, and makes the world a better place. MODA is the only museum in the Southeast dedicated exclusively to the study and celebration of all things design.

Showcasing ancient artistry and modern masterpieces, local legends and global visionaries, their renowned collection of nearly 500,000 works tells the story of the human experience—a story that holds unique meaning for everyone. They welcome diverse perspectives, both within the artwork and among their visitors.

The Museum of Modern Art celebrates creativity, openness, tolerance, and generosity. They aim to be inclusive places—both onsite and online—where diverse cultural, artistic, social, and
political positions are welcome. They are committed to sharing the most thought-provoking modern and contemporary art.

Established by Congress in 1965, the National Endowment for the Arts "is an independent federal agency that is the largest funder of the arts and arts education in communities nationwide and a catalyst of public and private support for the arts. By advancing equitable opportunities for arts participation and practice, the NEA fosters and sustains an environment in which the arts benefit everyone in the United States."

The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art invites all people to explore the art in its care, and through its broad collection, the depths and complexities of human experiences.They welcome and provide free access to everyone to enjoy and contemplate artistic creations from 5,000 years ago to present day.

The Philadelphia Museum of Art—in partnership with the city, the region, and art museums around the globe—seeks to preserve, enhance, interpret, and extend the reach of its great collections in particular, and the visual arts in general, to an increasing and increasingly diverse audience as a source of delight, illumination, and lifelong learning.

Discover the extraordinary house and museum of Sir John Soane, one of the greatest English architects, who built and lived in it two centuries ago. The museum has been kept as it was at the time of his death in 1837, and displays his vast collection of antiquities, furniture, sculptures, architectural models and paintings.

The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation’s first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience.The collection captures the aspirations, character, and imagination of the American people throughout three centuries. The museum is the home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Its artworks reveal key aspects of America’s rich artistic and cultural history from the colonial period to today.

ThoughtCo is a premier reference site with a 20+ year focus on expert-created education content. Discover the rich world of visual arts, including drawing, painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, and more.

As the preeminent institution devoted to the art of the United States, the Whitney Museum of American Art presents the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists. The Whitney is dedicated to collecting, preserving, interpreting, and exhibiting American art, and its collection—arguably the finest holdings of twentieth-century American art in the world—is the Museum’s key resource. The Museum’s flagship exhibition, the Biennial, is the country’s leading survey of the most recent developments in American art.