This is a list of curated links that our librarians have looked over for accuracy, credibility, and trustworthiness. If you find a broken link, you can email to let us know at reference@slcl.org.
A comprehensive travel resource containing 202 Travel Guides covering 75 topics for each of 202 world cities. Topics include travel essentials, security, neighborhoods, excursions, food and restaurants, culture, language, and more.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
JobNow provides support for individuals on the job market. Connect with live career coaches to receive one-on-one assistance through every step of the job search, including resume help and practice interviews. Career coaches are available daily between 2PM and 11PM. Optimal Resume is also provided within JobNow.
VetNow offers support for veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. Work with live, online navigators who are veterans ready to help their peers. Find job tools designed to help veterans at all stages of the job-hunting process. Build academic skills for college and beyond with live tutoring, practice tests, writing review, language learning, and more.
Provides the latest news and information from nearly every industry and region, with access to popular resources such as The Wall Street Journal, St. Louis Business Journal, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The New York Times, and more!
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.
Browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Libby is an innovative mobile app from OverDrive designed to make borrowing and enjoying e-books, magazines, and audiobooks from the library easier than ever.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
LOTE (Languages Other Than English) Online for Kids is an online database of digital picture books which provides UNLIMITED access to over 1600+ book titles in 50+ World Languages together with English translations.
News for You provides adult ESL students and struggling readers with news and human interest stories that are easy to read and understand. These engaging, timely stories will help students build language, reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, listening and speaking skills.
Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.
Transparent Language Online is a language-learning online resource that builds listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills with unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Native American languages. Pronunciation practices, speech analysis, grammar, writing activities, and vocabulary-building activities are also available.
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.
World Book Advanced, designed to support personalized learning, is an excellent resource for high school and college students as well as life-long learners. In addition to trusted encyclopedia articles from World Book, you can also find over 600 global newspapers and government websites from around the world. For educators, you can also access primary sources with advanced lesson plans and assessments for the classroom.
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.
Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures using hundreds of interactive timeliness. Create an account to build and save your own timelines.
Additional Resources Accessible via the St. Louis County Library Website
Learn languages through fun activities and games. Languages include Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Korean, and Latin. Started in 2000 by a Spanish teacher to support teaching verb conjugations.This site has about 3.5 million registered users, and is used by hundreds of thousands of students a day to learn verbs. It is a community-sourced site: almost all the activities were created by teachers around the world.
Take educational quizzes on English, geography, math, and science. Ad revenue goes to the United Nations World Food Programme to provide help for children and their families.
Access free resources for literacy, early childhood, English learners, K-12 reading, and more from the National Center for Families Learning. For over 30 years, NCFL has worked to eradicate poverty through education solutions for families.
Free, pre-recorded courses from Yale University. In addition to video and audio versions, course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets are also included.
Collection of Chinese language journals appealing to adults, teens, and children. The journals cover a variety of topics, including current events, literature, women's issues, and education. Special software must be installed on your computer to view written Chinese characters.
Parents and educators can access free materials for reading and language arts, including lesson plans, project ideas, student interactives, and printouts.
