Encyclopedias Guide: eBooks

The encyclopedia once shaped our understanding of the world. Created by thousands of scholars and the most obsessive of editors, a good set conveyed a sense of absolute wisdom on its reader. Contributions from Albert Einstein, Sigmund Freud, Orville Wright, Alfred Hitchcock, Marie Curie and Indira Gandhi helped millions of children with their homework. Adults cleared their shelves in the belief that everything that was explainable was now effortlessly accessible in their living rooms. All the Knowledge in the World is a history and celebration of those who created the most ground-breaking and remarkable publishing phenomenon of any age.

This comprehensive guide by the host of The Quilt Show covers everything you need to know to become a master quilter. Alex Anderson has taught and inspired countless quilters around the world through her television programs, fabric lines, and numerous books. In All Things Quilting with Alex Anderson, she packs her most indispensable knowledge and advice into a single volume. Encyclopedic in its scope, it covers quilting techniques, essential tools, binding basics, piecing and appliqué, and much more. It is both a master class for novices and an essential reference for experienced quilters.

An essential guide to U.S. politics, from the founding to today With 150 accessible articles written by more than 130 leading experts, this essential reference provides authoritative introductions to some of the most important and talked-about topics in American history and politics. Abridged from the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History, this is the only single-volume encyclopedia that provides comprehensive coverage of both the traditional topics of U.S. political history and the broader forces that shape American politics--including economics, religion, social movements, race, class, and gender.

The complete guide to everything you ever wanted to know about Einstein This is the single most complete guide to Albert Einstein's life and work for students, researchers, and browsers alike. Authoritative entries explain Einstein's family relationships, scientific achievements, political activities, religious views, and more. More than 40 illustrations include photos of Einstein and his circle plus archival materials.

The Encyclopedia of Aerodynamics was written for pilots at all levels from private pilot to airline pilot, military pilots and students of aerodynamics as a complete reference manual to aerodynamic terminology.

Richard Leviton has become the pre-eminent authority on sacred sites and visionary geography. Now he shows in Encyclopedia of Earth Myths how many of the oldest and most evocative of the world's myths contain a secret about the Earth. They tell something vital about its make-up and history and our long-standing human relation to it.

This compendium of misinformation, deception, and self-delusion throughout history examines fakery in the context of science and advertising, humor and law, sports and video games, and beyond.

First published in 1925, this renowned reference remains unsurpassed as a source of essential information, from construction and evolution to repertoire and technique. Includes a glossary and 73 illustrations.

A comprehensive, illustrated guide to the history, lands, and inhabitants of Middle-earth. The fantasy world of J. R. R. Tolkien's Middle-earth contains a rich assortment of people, cities, and creatures--as well as a deep, intertwined history that spans thousands of years.

Ranging from the elegant garments worn by citizens of ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome to the dramatic clothing of nineteenth-century French, English, and German societies, this stunning pictorial encyclopedia chronicles the full sweep of historic dress through the centuries. Exquisitely rendered and magnificent in scope, the Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume is a visual delight for designers, artists, historians, and everyone captivated by fashion's timeless allure.