Culture and Travel Guide: Websites

CDC uses Travel Health Notices (THNs) to inform travelers about global health risks during outbreaks, special events or gatherings, and natural disasters, and to provide advice about protective actions travelers can take to prevent infection or adverse health effects. A THN can be posted for: 1) a disease outbreak (higher number of expected cases) in a country or region, 2) sporadic cases of a disease in an unusual or new geographic location, 3) natural and human-made disasters with severe environmental health risks, or infrastructure damage that would limit healthcare services availability and 4) mass gathering events that can lead to disease outbreaks. See types of travel notices.

Provides detailed demographic, economic, and social information on countries of the world. Data also includes flags and maps.

CountryReports delivers unique content on Culture, Countries and Travel from around the world. Students, tourists, libraries, business and researchers appreciate their ability deliver hard to find, fun and current information. Established in 1997 out of a love for international relations and culture. Entirely online, they offer more than 35,000 pages of content on the countries of the world. their cultural, historical and statistical information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike.

College-level courses from major universities around the world across a variety of subjects.

The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the hard work of more than 260,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear - keeping America safe.

Access free courses on a variety of subjects from major universities around the world.

Passenger list records covering the years of 1892-1924.

This free site provides access to a growing collection of databases of digitized records for genealogical research. Users are required to create an account, which is free. Using the website in the History & Genealogy Department allows access to many digital images that cannot be viewed at home.

Each year, the last weekend in August is designated for the Festival of Nations in Tower Grove Park in St. Louis, Missouri. It is a celebration of music, flavors, art and culture from around the world.

Provides information on U.S. international trade data, reports and news.

Find a pronunciation dictionary with recordings from around the world and other language learning resources.

The online GNIS Database provides information about geographic place names in the United States as is commonly found in a printed gazetteer. [United States Geologic Survey]

Explore global arts and culture with virtual museum tours, exhibits, articles, and games.

The International Institute of St. Louis is our community’s immigrant service and information hub. Their programs and services for immigrants, their families, and the wider community are locally and nationally-acclaimed.They connect new arrivals with first-touch services and resources, engage foreign-born and the wider community, and build a more inclusive community.

They believe that travel is for everyone. It helps us learn about ourselves and the world around us. Their goal is to help more people from more backgrounds experience the joy of exploration. Because they believe this builds a kinder, more inclusive, more open-minded world.

Learn about the history of Missouri, its symbols, and its government through the informative facts. [Missouri Secretary of State]

Official Missouri State website serving as portal to the state's online services, agencies, news, data and other Missouri resources.

Contains information about Animals, Environment, History & Culture, Science and Travel.

American culture—our entertainment, our art, and our creative expressions of daily life—has the power to captivate, inspire, and transform us. It brings us together—we share it when we spontaneously recite lines from a favorite movie, dance to the same groove, or recreate a national sports moment on a neighborhood street. It enables us to understand and appreciate our differences—some of the most vital expansions of our democracy, in fact, gained ground through pivotal cultural moments. It spurs important conversations, and can foster important historical change. The National Museum of American History is home to treasured objects and stories about American culture. Come enjoy our exhibitions and programs, or explore our online resources.

Official sites of the U.S. States, their capital cities as well as travel and tourism guides, newspapers and other information like state symbols, history, and more.

Free digital books in the public domain, including many popular classics.

Not-for-profit Road Scholar is the world’s largest and most innovative creator of experiential learning opportunities. They have guided generations of lifelong learners on transformative learning adventures from San Francisco to Siberia, and nearly everywhere in between. They are a diverse community of knowledge seekers and explorers, united in the belief that lifelong learning is a vital part of overall well-being. They believe in living life to the fullest at every age — by experiencing the world, and not just looking at it. By meeting new people, touching history where it happened and delving deep into the cultures and landscapes we explore.

As a steward and ambassador of cultural connections, the Smithsonian's work helps to build bridges of mutual respect and understanding of the diversity of American and world cultures. There are numerous opportunities to discover and connect, from the annual Folklife Festival and family-friendly heritage month celebrations, to exhibitions that explore diversity in the American experience. Through our Cultural Rescue Initiative, the Smithsonian works to advocate and develop capacity to coordinate and participate in emergency preparedness and disaster recovery of cultural heritage worldwide.

Humans are a nomadic species. Driven by our need for recreation, contemplation, connection and reflection, we are on the go. Besides being the world’s largest industry, travel and tourism has enormous and unsustainable impact on energy, water, land and food use. At Sustainable Travel International, they believe that people’s inherent wanderlust, their desire for new experiences and concern for the places they care for most can inspire the protection of the world’s natural and cultural bounty and generate economic opportunity in destinations that rely on visitors.

Protect the nation's transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.

The highest priority of the Bureau of Consular Affairs is to protect the lives and serve the interests of U.S. citizens abroad. Across the globe, they serve their fellow citizens during some of their most important moments – births, adoptions, medical emergencies, deaths, arrests, and disasters. They also help U.S. citizens connect with the world by issuing millions of U.S. passports each year.

One place where the world's nations can
gather together, discuss common problems
and find shared solutions.

UNESCO uses education, science, culture, communication and information to foster mutual understanding and respect for our planet. They work to strengthen the intellectual and moral solidarity of humankind and bring out the best in our shared humanity.

Search for airports by city, state, country, or code, and find links to airport sites.

Maps, printouts, photos, and encyclopedia and dictionary entries on geography, history, environment, and culture.

The purpose of the World Culture Festival is to send a message that the whole world is one family and we can all coexist with our differences. It is an opportunity for leaders from all segments of society – business, politics, religion, academia – to come together and renew their vision to work for the common welfare. The Festival provides a platform for the preservation of local and indigenous traditions through music and dance as well as the opportunity for everyone else to relish and enjoy. This is a movement for the revival of universal human values such as love, compassion, and friendliness.

World Culture USA is an all-volunteer, non-profit organization dedicated solely to the educational purpose of helping to bring people and communities together.

For over 30 years, WTTC has conducted research on the economic impact of Travel & Tourism in 185 countries and issues such as overcrowding, taxation, policy-making, and many others to raise awareness of the importance of the Travel & Tourism sector as one of the world’s largest economic sectors.