LibGuides: I Heart St. Louis Reference LibGuide: Take Highway Farty-Far

eBooks on EBSCO Host

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of over 4,200 fiction and nonfiction ebook titles.

The Gateway Arch by Lisa Bullard
ISBN: 9780822594062
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Gateway Arch is the tallest monument in the United States. At 630 feet, it is more than twice the height of the Statue of Liberty. The Gateway Arch honors all the settlers who passed through St. Louis, Missouri, on their way out west. But how was it made? Who designed it? Read this book to find out! Learn about many remarkable sites in the Famous Places series - part of the Lightning Bolt Books(tm) collection. With high-energy designs, exciting photos, and fun text, Lightning Bolt Books(tm) bring nonfiction topics to life.

BiblioBoard

Biblioboard This link opens in a new window
BiblioBoard lets you create eBooks and print-ready books, share eBooks with the Indie Author Project, and read eBooks by local St. Louis and Missouri authors.

Welcome to the Dog Museum of St. Louis

Not everyone can visit the Dog Museum here in St. Louis, Missouri. Here is the next best thing. Do a virtual E-book tour for FREE! I took about 200 photographs. I didn't snap a picture of EVERYTHING, but that's not the point. You get a good idea of what it is like to visit the dog museum. The dog museum is MOVING away from St. Louis and going back to New York. I am trying to live my life without EVER visiting New York... so I made this little photo-tour. I also added a few quotations and a few pictures of dogs that are NOT part of the dog museum... because I wanted to do it. I hope you enjoy it... and the best part is... this book is FREE as all of my books are also FREE! You're welcome.

A to Z Maps Online

A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new window
With A to Z Maps Online, you have approximately 145,000 maps at your fingertips. This combination of proprietary maps and maps from other reputable sources gives you a “one-stop shop” for content that can be downloaded and used without any copyright restrictions. Categories include world maps, continent maps, country maps, state maps, antique and historical maps, and topographic maps. Educators can also find geography quiz games and lesson plans.

Check out Modern USA Maps and the US Interstate Highway System Map in US Expansion maps to find new places to explore.

A to Z the USA

A to Z the USA This link opens in a new window
Explore the country as a whole, or research a specific state or one of five US territories using A to Z the USA. Find in-depth state and territory information including official state animals and plants, historical timelines, modern and antique maps, demographics, government and more.

Looking for interesting things to do in St. Louis? Select Missouri, and then check out the Parks, Forest, and Landmarks and the Points of Interest sections of the database.

Missouri Digital Heritage

Missouri Digital Heritage This link opens in a new window
Access a rich archive of information about the history of Missouri and local communities. Included are educational resources like classroom curricula accessible through this website. Explore the Recreation and Tourism records collection

World Book

Learn about Forest Park, the St. Louis Arch, and other St. Louis attractions.

World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
World Book Advanced, designed to support personalized learning, is an excellent resource for high school and college students as well as life-long learners. In addition to trusted encyclopedia articles from World Book, you can also find over 600 global newspapers and government websites from around the world. For educators, you can also access primary sources with advanced lesson plans and assessments for the classroom.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.

Hoopla

Hoopla
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month. A web and mobile library media streaming platform for audio books, comics, e-books, movies, music, and TV.

60 Hikes Within 60 Miles: St. Louis by Steve Henry
ISBN: 9781634041065
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
It's Time to Take a Hike in Saint Louis, Missouri! The best way to experience St. Louis is by hiking it! Get outdoors with author Steve Henry, with the new full-color edition of 60 Hikes Within 60 Miles: St. Louis. A perfect blend of popular trails and hidden gems, the selected trails transport you to scenic overlooks, wildlife hot spots, and historical settings that renew your spirit and recharge your body. Enjoy the tranquil solitude of the Wilderness Trail at Meramec State Park. Learn about the area's flora and fauna with a family outing to Powder Valley Nature Center. Immerse yourself in history at Trail of Tears State Park. Take in the panoramic views of the Mississippi River Valley at the Little Grand Canyon in Illinois. With Steve Henry as your guide, you'll learn about the area and experience nature through 60 hikes within 60 miles of the greater St. Louis area! Each hike description features key at-a-glance information on distance, difficulty, scenery, traffic, hiking time, and more, so you can quickly and easily learn about each trail. Detailed directions, GPS-based trail maps, and elevation profiles help to ensure that you know where you are and where you're going. Tips on nearby activities further enhance your enjoyment of every outing. Whether you're a local looking for new places to explore or a visitor to the area, 60 Hikes Within 60 Miles: St. Louis provides plenty of options for a couple hours or a full day of adventure, all within about an hour from St. Louis and the surrounding communities.
Best Easy Day Hikes St. Louis by J. D. Tanner; Emily Ressler
ISBN: 9780762763542
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Best Easy Day Hikes St. Louis, MO includes concise descriptions of the best short hikes in the area, with detailed maps of the routes. The 20 hikes in this guide are generally short, easy to follow, and guaranteed to please.
Eva and Boo at the St. Louis Zoo by Dee Livers
ISBN: 9781647538231
Publication Date: 2021-06-15
Have you ever petted a corn snake or watched a polar bear play? Follow Eva and her teddy bear Boo as they explore the St. Louis Zoo.They watch a sea lion play Frisbee, a pelican swim in a beautiful lake, and much more. Along the way, they learn all about animals in the wild and have fun in the process.
St. Louis Civil War Sites and the Fight for Freedom by Peter Downs
ISBN: 9781467152723
Publication Date: 2022-09-19
The Monuments of a Divided State St. Louis was at the center of several key Civil War events from the Dred Scott decision through the Mississippi Campaign that cut the Confederate States in two. Visit the site from which enslaved people tried to cross the Mississippi River to the free state of Illinois. Discover how hundreds of lawsuits by enslaved people set the stage for the Dred Scott decision that lit the fuse to the Civil War. See the military base that produced over 200 Civil War generals and the arsenal that secessionists and unionists fought to control. Author Peter Downs goes behind the monuments and historic sites to explore the people, relationships and events that influenced the course of civil war in St. Louis and the nation.

Kanopy

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month. Browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream.

Eero Saarinen

Explore the life of Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen, whose visionary buildings include St. Louis' Gateway Arch and the General Motors Technical Center in Michigan. Travel with his son, as he showcases the architect's body of timeless work, which continues to inspire amongst renewed interest in 20th-century architects and artists who exploded the constraints of the past to create a robust and daring American aesthetic.

The Gateway Arch

The Gateway Arch: A Reflection of America chronicles for the first time the complete story of this great American symbol… From Thomas Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, and St. Louis' role in westward expansion; to the eventual construction of the largest stainless steel structure in history. The film is narrated by academy award-winner and St. Louis native Kevin Kline and produced by Civil Pictures, producers of the international award-winning documentary The World's Greatest Fair.

I Heart St. Louis Reference LibGuide: Take Highway Farty-Far

Attractions