Saint Louis County Library has large databases full of reference sources and primary sources for research into STEM subjects, current events, historical events, social issues, supplemental learning activities, and many other ways yet to be discovered.
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.
Provides searchable full text and indexing of many U.S. and international newspapers, including print and online-only resources. Provides comprehensive news and information on differing perspectives for a variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, international affairs and defense, sports and much more.
Read full issues National Geographic online going back to 1995. In addition to reading entire issues, you can also search for images and make charts showing the frequency of terms over time.
Full text access to the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, St. Louis Post–Dispatch, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today and so many more newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Covers people in the news and a full range of history-makers featuring biographical profiles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches or obituaries.
Provides full text access to periodicals covering a variety of topics. Includes content taken from reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over a 100,000 photos, maps, and flags.
A collection of databases designed to help high school students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.
Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports. Includes biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags.
Explore St.Louis history through local news, events and people with St. Louis Post-Dispatch Collection. Search current and archived issues from 1988 to present with full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Now featuring full-color newspaper pages of daily issues from 2020 to present!
Comprehensive general interest resource providing periodical and news information. Also includes Fodor travel guides, NPR programs, and more than 20 reference sets on a wide range of topics.
The Newspapers.com database offers more than 10,000 digitized newspaper titles for large and small communities in the U.S. as well as newspapers in Canada, Australia, Ireland, the British Isles and Panama. Date range varies by publication.
ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help children ages 2-8+ build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse is 100% educational and fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities (books, puzzles, educational games, science and math videos, art activities, songs, and more) across all major subject areas (Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music)—including more than 2,000 STEM learning activities and 1,200 learning activities in Spanish. Home access includes the Assessment Center which creates customized lessons that are targeted to help a child improve in specific skill areas identified by the assessments.
To use ABCmouse from home, choose Missouri as your state, then St. Louis County Library as your library. Then enter your library card number and PIN. The first time you visit, you will need to provide an email address and create a password.
Thousands of searchable and printable educational materials for Pre-K through 8th grade, including skills and activity sheets, mini-books and lesson plans by topics.
Learn about America's culinary heritage using A to Z Food America. You can find cookbooks from fifty states and six US regions, cookbooks from all 33 major US ethnic groups, over 3,000 old TV food commercials dating back to the 1940s and 100+ historic cookbooks dating back to the late 1700s. Develop your cooking skills by watching "how-to" videos and reading articles about ingredients.
With A to Z Maps Online, you have approximately 145,000 maps at your fingertips. This combination of proprietary maps and maps from other reputable sources gives you a “one-stop shop” for content that can be downloaded and used without any copyright restrictions. Categories include world maps, continent maps, country maps, state maps, antique and historical maps, and topographic maps. Educators can also find geography quiz games and lesson plans.
Explore the country as a whole, or research a specific state or one of five US territories using A to Z the USA. Find in-depth state and territory information including official state animals and plants, historical timelines, modern and antique maps, demographics, government and more.
Learn more about food and culture around the world. Easily find traditional recipes from 174 countries as well as interesting information about etiquette, food history, food trivia and more. Also includes historical timelines tracking major food developments and discoveries.
A comprehensive travel resource containing 202 Travel Guides covering 75 topics for each of 202 world cities. Topics include travel essentials, security, neighborhoods, excursions, food and restaurants, culture, language, and more.
From Rosen Digital, the Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro- and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams. Beneficial for grades 7-12 as well as adults.
From Rosen Digital, Digital Literacy empowers learners in grade levels 7-12 with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s digital landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, PSAs, multimedia presentations, digital business plans, social media campaigns and more. Database articles explore cyber bullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism and more.
