Life Skills Guide - Later Adulthood: Websites

The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people of all ages with disabilities should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities. By funding services and supports provided primarily by networks of community-based organizations, and with investments in research, education, and innovation, ACL helps make this principle a reality for millions of Americans.

Explore AARP Resources: Issues & Topics, State Resources, Data & Tools, and much more. Current research highlights the importance of social interaction with friends and family as a key driver impacting happiness among midlife and older adults.

A snapshot of today’s older adults and facts to help dispel myths about aging.

The United States — and the world — are aging. The number of Americans aged 65 and older is projected to double from 46 million to more than 98 million by 2060. It will be the first time in history that the number of older adults outnumbers children under age 5. In addition, older adults will live longer than ever before: One out of every four 65-year-olds today will live past age 90. This demographic shift has moved the focus of health care providers, researchers and policymakers from how to extend the lifespan to ways to improve the quality of our later years. Staying healthy, active and productive are admirable goals for our nation’s older adults. However, society’s view of “old age” has not always kept up with the reality of being old in America. Many current beliefs about aging were based on information that is no longer valid given recent scientific advances.

Collaborative Research for Educating Adults with Technology Enhancements (CREATE) Skills Network is focused upon finding effective ways to use technology in adult learning. It develops, adopts, and evaluates interventions that use technology to build adult learners’ skills and improve their academic outcomes.

The Disaster Preparedness Guide for Older Adults is intended to support older adults and their caregivers in preparing in three easy steps: assess your needs, create a plan and engage your network. The guide provides user-friendly, easy-to-read worksheets that walk individuals and caregivers through a self-assessment to identify specific needs and checklists that create a personalized plan.

Independence Center providing those with chronic mental illness a place to belong, work and achieve. By supporting the development of life skills, people find meaningful work, safe housing and meaningful social opportunities. Programs include: rehabilitation services, housing and residential supports, case management, outpatient psychiatric care and medication management, employment services, a wellness program, education, daily meals and social opportunities.

Everything for kids, teens, & families in St. Louis & the surrounding communities. Includes lists of camps, activities, museums, special needs resources, seasonal events, free holiday events, and much more.

Includes courses regarding the development of the human person, specifically: prenatal development, infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood, late adulthood, and death and dying.

People in the U.S. are living longer than ever before. Many older adults live active and healthy lives. But there's no getting around one thing: as we age, our bodies and minds change. You need to know what to expect. Some changes may just be part of normal aging, while others may be a warning sign of a medical problem. It is important to know the difference, and to let your health care provider know if you have any concerns. Having a healthy lifestyle can help you to deal with normal aging changes and make the most of your life. This includes healthy eating, regular physical activity, and making mental health a priority.

Includes a comprehensive listing of resources in the St. Louis metropolitan area, such as: utility assistance, clothes, food, shelter, hygiene and laundry, reentry resources, immigration and refugee information, older adult information, domestic violence information, disability resources and more.

Resources for Seniors on these topics:

Area Agencies on Aging
Arthritis
Show Me Long Term Care
Adult Abuse Information
Abuse/Neglect Online Reporting
Chronic Disease Control & Prevention
Falls Prevention
High Blood Pressure
Home Care
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program
Missouri Medicaid Audit & Compliance
Nursing Home Compare
Senior Care Choices
Senior Employment
Vital Records

This comprehensive guide includes information on many topics: food assistance, housing, safety, reentry services, disabilities, utility assistance, mental health and much more.

For 50 years, the institute has led a broad scientific research effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is also the primary federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease and related dementia research.

A periodic Chartbook prepared by the Federal Interagency Forum (Forum) on Aging-Related Statistics, provides a comprehensive, easy-to-understand picture of our older population. Readers will find here an accessible compendium of indicators drawn from the most reliable official statistics. Indicators are categorized into six broad groups: Population, Economics, Health Status, Health Risks and Behaviors, Health Care, and Environment. Additional resources explore ways of providing an easy-to-understand picture of timely and relevant data related to older adults.

From Lifespan Development, includes an overview of basic terms related to late adulthood, including attitudes, behaviors, generativity, relationships and more.

Lifespan Development by Lumen Learning is licensed under CC BY 4.0, except where otherwise noted.

Senior Centers in St. Louis provide programs that vary from center to center. Some of these programs include: congregate meals, transportation, health screenings and exercise classes, computer classes, tax assistance, food pantries, benefits assistance, and speakers.

Some of their senior centers also serve as cooling centers in the heat of Summer and warming centers in the cold of Winter.

From Legal Services of Eastern Missouri, this seventy-two page handbook includes laws and programs affecting senior citizens in Missouri.

Includes comprehensive information regarding communication, including an "A-Z List of Interpersonal Skills", an "Interpersonal Skills Self-Assessment" and much more.

St. Louis Oasis proudly offers programs proven to enrich the lives of older adults through Lifelong Learning Experiences, Health and Exercise Classes, Technology Education, and Volunteer Opportunities. For over 40 years, Oasis classes and activities have played a vital role in improving the lives of older adults. Join them in person or online.

Nine page document from the UNESCO Digital Library: Embracing a culture of lifelong learning: older adult learning and active ageing: bridging self-actualization and emancipation.

The Gateway Region YMCA offers all kinds of wellness opportunities for older adults—from baby boomers to seniors. Whether it be SilverSneakers, day/overnight trips, pickleball, etc., you can get involved in a social activity that's right for you.