Learn about America's culinary heritage using A to Z Food America. You can find cookbooks from fifty states and six US regions, cookbooks from all 33 major US ethnic groups, over 3,000 old TV food commercials dating back to the 1940s and 100+ historic cookbooks dating back to the late 1700s. Develop your cooking skills by watching "how-to" videos and reading articles about ingredients.
With A to Z Maps Online, you have approximately 145,000 maps at your fingertips. This combination of proprietary maps and maps from other reputable sources gives you a “one-stop shop” for content that can be downloaded and used without any copyright restrictions. Categories include world maps, continent maps, country maps, state maps, antique and historical maps, and topographic maps. Educators can also find geography quiz games and lesson plans.
Explore the country as a whole, or research a specific state or one of five US territories using A to Z the USA. Find in-depth state and territory information including official state animals and plants, historical timelines, modern and antique maps, demographics, government and more.
Learn more about food and culture around the world. Easily find traditional recipes from 174 countries as well as interesting information about etiquette, food history, food trivia and more. Also includes historical timelines tracking major food developments and discoveries.
A comprehensive travel resource containing 202 Travel Guides covering 75 topics for each of 202 world cities. Topics include travel essentials, security, neighborhoods, excursions, food and restaurants, culture, language, and more.
A collection of primary source documents about the histories and daily lives of Americans of Asian and Pacific Islander heritage—including those of Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, South Asian, and Vietnamese backgrounds, among others.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
JobNow provides support for individuals on the job market. Connect with live career coaches to receive one-on-one assistance through every step of the job search, including resume help and practice interviews. Career coaches are available daily between 2PM and 11PM. Optimal Resume is also provided within JobNow.
VetNow offers support for veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. Work with live, online navigators who are veterans ready to help their peers. Find job tools designed to help veterans at all stages of the job-hunting process. Build academic skills for college and beyond with live tutoring, practice tests, writing review, language learning, and more.
From Rosen Digital, Digital Literacy empowers learners in grade levels 7-12 with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s digital landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, PSAs, multimedia presentations, digital business plans, social media campaigns and more. Database articles explore cyber bullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism and more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a freely available Web database made up of education-related reports and journal articles published from 1966 to the present. Free and accessible anywhere.
From Rosen Digital, Digital Literacy empowers learners in grade levels 7-12 with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s digital landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, PSAs, multimedia presentations, digital business plans, social media campaigns and more. Database articles explore cyber bullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism and more.
Find more than 2100 full text scholarly journals and over 1700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Collection provides focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality educational journals. Provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and link to sites valuable for teachers.
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for general research in a public library. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.
Browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
LOTE (Languages Other Than English) Online for Kids is an online database of digital picture books which provides UNLIMITED access to over 1600+ book titles in 50+ World Languages together with English translations.
Provides full text access to periodicals covering a variety of topics. Includes content taken from reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over a 100,000 photos, maps, and flags.
News for You provides adult ESL students and struggling readers with news and human interest stories that are easy to read and understand. These engaging, timely stories will help students build language, reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, listening and speaking skills.
Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.
Transparent Language Online is a language-learning online resource that builds listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills with unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Native American languages. Pronunciation practices, speech analysis, grammar, writing activities, and vocabulary-building activities are also available.
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.
