Skip to Main Content

St. Louis Genealogy and Local History

St. Louis Business and Industry Bibliography

St. Louis business and industry bibliography

 

This bibliography covers materials held by the History and Genealogy Department offering historical information about commerce, business, industry and trades in St. Louis City and County. 

Call numbers follow each title. Call numbers beginning with "R" are for use in the library only. Circulating copies are available for some titles, as noted.

Information about specific businesses can often be found in local history books, many of which are included in History & Genealogies Local History Indexes (see guide). Newspapers are another source of business information. See the online listing of newspaper holdings.

Amsler, Kevin and L. John Scott. Architecture of Maritz & Young: Exceptional Historic Homes of St. Louis. St. Louis: Missouri History Museum, 2013. R 728.092 A528A and circulating copy.

Ayres, Janet S. Finding Aid to the Jefferson National Expansion memorial Research Reports. St. Louis: Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, 2001. R 977.866 A985F.

Bagley, Mary. Front Row: Missouri’s Grand Theatres. St. Louis: Gateway, 1984. R 725.822 B146F and circulating copy.

Bartley, Mary. St. Louis Lost. St. Louis: Virginia Publishing Company, 1994. Call No. R 977.866 B291S and circulating copy.

Brick by Brick: Building St. Louis and the Nation. St. Louis: Saint Louis University, 2004. R 977.866 B849.

Bryan, John Albury. Lafayette Square : The Most Historic Old Neighborhood in St. Louis. St. Louis: Landmarks Association, 1969. R 977.866 B915L.

Bryan, John Albury. Lafayette Square: The Most Significant Old Neighborhood in St. Louis. J. A. Bryan, 1962. R 977.866 B915L.

Bryan, John Albury. Lafayette Square, St. Louis. St. Louis: Reedy Press, 2007. R 977.866 B915L

Bryan, John Albury. Missouri’s Contribution to American Architecture. St. Louis: St. Louis Architectural Club, 1928. R 720 B915.

Cotton, W. Philip, Jr. 100 Historic Buildings in St. Louis County. St. Louis: St. Louis County Department of Parks and Recreation, 1970. R 977.865 S145O and circulating copy.

Coyle, Elinor Martineau. Old Saint Louis Homes, 1764-1865: The Stories They Tell. Saint Louis: Folkstone Press, 1979. R 728.9778 C881O and circulating copy.

Coyle, Elinor Martineau. Saint Louis Treasures. St. Louis: Folkestone Press, 1986. R 917.7866 C881S and circulating copy.

Hebrank, Arthur W. The Geologic Story of the St. Louis Riverfront (A Walking Tour). Rolla, Mo.: Missouri Department of Natural Resources, 1989. R 977.866 H446G and circulating copy.

Historic Churches in St. Louis: A Self-Guided Tour. St. Louis: Archdiocesan Council of the Laity, 1976. R 282 H673.

Hoover, John Neal. St. Louis and the Art of the Frontier. St. Louis: St. Louis Mercantile Library, 2000. R 709.7309 S145S.

Jackson, Patti Smith. St. Louis Arena Memories. St. Louis: GHB Publishers, 2000. R 725.804 J13S and circulating copy.

Jackson, Howard Smith. The Eads Bridge. St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society Press, 1999. R 624.67 M648E and circulating copy.

Jackson, Rex T. James B. Eads: The Civil War Ironclads and His Mississippi. Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, 2004. R 624 J13J.

Jackson, Robert W. Rails Across the Mississippi: A History of the St. Louis Bridge. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001. R 624.35 J13R and circulating copy.

Lathrop, Suellyn. Finding Aid to the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Association Records, circa 1930-1975. St. Louis: Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, National Park Service, 1997. R 977.866 L355F.

Lowic, Lawrence. The Architectural Heritage of St. Louis, 1803-1891: From the Louisiana Purchase to the Wainright Building. St. Louis: Washington University Gallery of Art, 1982. 728.9778 L918A.

Mumford, Eric. Modern Architecture in St. Louis and Postwar American Architecture. St. Louis : Washington University, 2004. R 728.9778 M689.

McCue, George. The Building Art in St. Louis: Two Centuries: A Guide to Architecture of the City and its Metropolitan Region. St. Louis: Knight Publishing, 1981. R 720.9778 M133B and circulating copy.

McCue, George. Guide to the Architecture of St. Louis. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1989. R 720.9778 P481G and circulating copy.

Millstein, Cydney and Carol Grove. Houses of Missouri, 1870-1940. R 728.0977 M657H and circulating copy.

Orear, George Washington. Commercial and Architectural St. Louis. St. Louis: Jones & Orear, 1888. R 977.866 O66C.

Peterson, Charles E. Colonial St. Louis: Building a Creole Capital. Tucson, Arizona: The Patrice Press, 1993. R 977.866 P485C.

Powell, Mary. Public Art in St. Louis: Sculpture, Architecture, Mural Decorations, Stained Glass. St. Louis : St. Louis Public Library, 1925. R 720 P885P.

Rumbold, Charlotte. Houses of Missouri, 1870-1940. New York: Acanthus Press, 2008. R 977.866 C582.

The St. Louis Cathedral : A Photographic Sketch. St. Louis: St. Louis Cathedral, 1948.  R 726.6 S145.

Savage, Charles C. Architecture of the Private Streets of St. Louis. Columbia: University of Missouri, 1987. R 728.37 S263A and circulating copy.

Sharoff, Robert. American City: St. Louis Architecture: Three Centuries of Classic Design. Mulgrave, Vic.: The Images Publishing Group, 2010. R 720.9778 S531A and circulating copy.

Sluyter, Gary V. St. Louis' Hidden Treasure: A History of the Charless Home, 1853-2003. St. Louis: Senior Circuit, 2003. R 977.866 S634S.

Stiritz, Mary M. St. Louis, Historic Churches and Synagogues. St. Louis: St. Louis Public Library, 1995. R 977.866 S861S.

Trampe, Stephen L. The Queen of Lace: The Story of the Continental Life Building. St. Louis: Virginia Publishing Company, 2003. R 977.866 T771Q.

Treacy, Patricia. The Grand Hotels of St. Louis. Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2005. R 977.866 T784G and circulating copy. R 977.866 T784G and circulating copy.

Associates of St. Louis University Libraries. Literary St. Louis: Noted Authors and St. Louis Landmarks Associated with Them, rev. ed. St. Louis: Landmarks Association, 1974. R 928.1 A849L and circulating copy.

Binder, Deborah J. St. Louis Silversmiths: The Saint Louis Art Museum, December 7, 1980-January 25, 1981. St. Louis: The St. Louis Art Museum, 1980. R 739.23 B612S.

Cuoco, Lorin and William H. Gass. Literary St. Louis: A Guide. St. Louis: The Missouri Historical Society press, 2000. R 928.1 L776.

Ebert, Carl S. A Story of St. Louis World's Fair 1904 Spoons.  St. Louis: S.l. : Ebert, 1982.  R 739.23 E16S.

Grand Center. Grand Center Inc.: Celebrating 30 Years of the Arts and Civic Leadership. Saint Louis: Grand Center, Inc., 2011. R 977.866 G751G and circulating copy.

Kinney-Hanson, Sharon. Art Museums & Galleries in Missouri. Jefferson City: Sheba Review, 1994. R 708 K55A.

Looker, Benjamin. Point From Which Creation Begins: The Black Artists’ Group of St. Louis. St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society Press: Distributed by University of Missouri Press, 2004. R 781.65 L863P.

Luebbering, Ken and Robyn Burnett. Gospels in Glass: Stained Glass Windows in Missouri Churches. Rocheport, Missouri: Pebble Publishing, 2000. R 748.59 L948G and circulating copy.

Mississippi Panorama: The Life and Landscape of the Father of Waters and its Great Tributary. St. Louis: City Art Museum of St. Louis, 1950. 977 C581M.

Roach, Ruth Hunter. St. Louis Silversmiths. St. Louis: Eden, 1967.  R 739.23 R628S and circulating copy.

Spillman, Jane Shadel. Glass from World’s Fairs, 1851-1904. Corning, New York: Corning Museum of Glass, 1986. R 748.29 S756G

1981-1982 Membership Directory : Missouri Association of Life Underwriters. Jefferson City:  MALU, 1981.  R 977.8 N714.

American Advertising Directory, Manufacturers & Dealers in American Goods for the Year 1831. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001.  Knightstown, Ind.: The Bookmark, 1977.  R 670 A512.

Baskett, Cecil  M., ed. Men of Affairs in Saint Louis: A Newspaper Reference Work. St. Louis: Press Club, 1915.  R 977.866 M534.

Bauman, G. Duncan. Behind the Headlines. Tucson: Patrice Press, 1999. R 070.5 B347B. (St. Louis Globe-Democrat)

Braznell, William. An Airman's Odyssey: Walt Braznell and the Pilots He Led into the Jet Age.  Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2001.  R 629.13 B827A.

Business Executives of America. New York: Institute for Research in Biography, 1950.  R 338.7 B979.

Corcoran, J. C. 20 Years of J. C.: The Man, the Legend, the Lawsuit! St. Louis: Virginia Publishing Company, 2004. R 384.54 C793T and circulating copy.

Faherty, Justin L. Movers and Shakers:  Men Who Have Shaped Saint Louis. Tucson, Arizona: Patrice Press, 1992.  R 977.866 F157M.

Gagel, Diane VanSkiver. Directory of Photographers in the United States, 1888 & 1889 and Canada 1889. Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, Inc., 2002. R 770.92 G133D.

Haynes, Williams. Chemical Pioneers: The Founders of the American Chemical Industry. Freeport, New York: Books for Libraries Press, 1970, 1939.  R 926.6 H424C.

Hunter, Julius. TV One-on-One. St. Louis: Gashouse Books, 2008. R 070.92 H945T and circulating copy.

Kaser, David. Joseph Charless: Printer in the Western Country. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1963. R 977.866 K19J.

Lindbergh, Charles A. The Spirit of St. Louis.  New York: Charles.  Scribner's Sons, 1953.  R 629.13 L742 and circulating copy.

North St. Louis Business Men’s Association, 1895-1970. Florissant, Missouri: American Yearbook Company, 1970.  R 977.866 N867N and circulating copy.

Pfaff, Daniel W. No Ordinary Joe: A Life of Joseph Pulitzer III. Columbia: University of Missouri, 2005. R 070.92 P523N and circulating copy.

Shepley, Carol  Ferring.  Movers and Shakers, Scalawags and Suffragettes: Tales from Bellefontaine Cemetery.   R 977.866 S548M.

Sneider, Martin. Toast: How a Leading Retailer Went from Toast of the Town to Just Plain Toast. St. Louis:  Four Penny Press, 2009.  R 381.141 S671T and circulating copy. (Includes information about the St. Louis shoe industry.)

Terry, Elizabeth. Oysters to Angus:  Three Generations of the St. Louis Faust Family. St. Louis: Bluebird Publishing Company, 2014.  R 977.866 T329O and circulating copy.

Tracy, Walter P. Men Who Make Saint Louis the City of Opportunity. St. Louis: Tracy, 1927.  R 977.866 T762M.

Tracy, Walter P. St. Louis Leadership, 1944. St. Louis: Tracy, 1944.   R 977.866 T762S.

Who’s Who in Railroading in North America. New York: The Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corporation, 1949.  R 385.092 W628.

Agricultural Census Books, 1850-60-70-80, Missouri. St. Louis: Central Microfilm Service. Microfilm.

Benn, Evan. Brew in the Lou: St. Louis’ Beer Culture, Past, Present & Future. St. Louis: St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 2011. R 663.42 B469B.

Corrigan, Patricia. Eating St. Louis: the Gateway city’s Unique Food Culture. St. Louis: St. Louis University, 2008. R 394.12 C825E and circulating copy.

Herbst, Henry. St. Louis Brews: 200 Years of Brewing in St. Louis, 1809-2009. St. Louis: Reedy Press, 2009. R 388.766 H538S and circulating copy.

Lindhurst, James. History of the Brewing Industry in St. Louis, 1804-1860. St. Louis: Washington University, 1939; Reprint, St. Louis County Library, 2011. R 977.866 L745H.

Sanfilippo, Pamela K. Agriculture in Antebellum St. Louis: A Special History Study. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, 2000. R 977.865 S224A.

Croghan Funeral Home, Records of Burials, 1921-1991. Missouri: 1992. R 977.866 C941.

Donnelly Funeral Home Records. St. Louis: St. Louis Genealogical Society. R 977.866 D685.

Hoffmeister Funeral Home Records (Broadway): Index. St Louis: St. Louis Genealogical Society.  R 977.866 H711.

Index to Gebken-Benz Mortuary : January 1, 1901 to Dec. 31, 1905. St. Louis.  R 977.866 I38.

Parker-Aldridge Funeral Home, Webster Groves, Missouri.  St. Louis: Francis Northrop.  R 977.865 P238.

Peetz Bros. Undertakers, index. St Louis: St. Louis Genealogical Society.  R 977.866 P375.

Records of Wieck Undertakers: Index. St. Louis: Wieck.  R 977.866 R311.

Roberts Funeral Home, 1883-1952. St. Louis, Missouri: 1991.  R 977.866 R643.

Saint Louis Funeral Home Records. St Louis: St. Louis Genealogical Society, 1991-96. Microfilm.

Chittenden, Hiram Martin. The American Fur Trade of the Far West: A History of Pioneer Trading Posts and Early Fur Companies of the Missouri Valley and Rocky Mountains and of the Overland Commerce with Santa Fe. Stanford, California: Academic Reprints, 1954.  R 338.1 C543A.

Dolin, Eric Jay. Fur, Fortune, and Empire: The Epic History of the Fur Trade in America. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2010.  R 970 D664F and circulating copy.

Fivel, Sharon. From Carriage Trade to Ready-Made: St. Louis Clothing Designers, 1880-1920.  St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society. R 391.2 F565F.

Hafen, LeRoy R., editor.  Fur Traders, Trappers, and Mountain Men of the Upper Missouri.  Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1995.  R 978 F983.

Lippincott, Isaac. A Century and a Half of Fur Trade at St. Louis. St. Louis: Washington University, 1916.  R 977.866 L765C.

Musick, James B.  St. Louis as a Fortified Town: a Narrative and Critical Essay of the Period of Struggle for the Fur Trade of the Mississippi Valley and its Influence upon St. Louis. St. Louis: Press of R.F. Miller, 1941.  977.866 M987S and circulating copy.

Rawlings, Jennifer L.  Finding Aid to the Fur Trade Illustration Project, 1945-1948. St. Louis: Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, 2001.  R 338.3729 R259F.

Schulle, Jennifer Marie. “Fashion and Fallen Women: The Apparel Industry, the Retail Trade, Fashion, and Prostitution in Late 19th Century St. Louis.” Ph.D. dissertation,I owa State University, 2005.  R 977.866 S386F.

Sunder, John E. The Fur Trade on the Upper Missouri, 1840-1865. Norman, Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Press, 1965.  R 338.3729 S957F.

Belcher, Wyatt Winton. Economic Rivalry Between St. Louis and Chicago, 1850-1880. New York: Columbia University Press, 1947.  R 330.9773 B427E.

Breun, Benjamin D.  Finding Aid to the Mechanics' Institute of St. Louis Records, 1816-1894. St. Louis: Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, National Park Service, 1991.  R 621.09778 B846F.

Burnett, Betty. St. Louis at War: The Story of a City, 1941-1945. St. Louis: The Patrice Press, 1987.  R 977.866 B964S and circulating copy.

Collier, James E. Trends in Manufacturing in Missouri. Columbia: University of Missouri, 1965.  R 670.977 C699T.

Dacus, Joseph A. A Tour of St. Louis, Or, The Inside a Great City. St. Louis: Western, 1878. R 977.866 D119T

Gray, Rockwell.  A Century of Enterprise: St. Louis, 1894-1994. St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society, 1994.  R 977.865 G781C.

History of St. Louis County, Missouri.  St. Louis: Watchman-Advocate, 1920.   R 977.865 H673.

Hyde, William and Howard L. Conard.  Encyclopedia of the History of St. Louis: A Compendium of History and Biography for Ready Reference (4 Volumes).  New York:  Southern History Company, 1899.  R 977.866 H995E.

Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820: An Edited Printing of the Original Indexes and Information Compiled by the National Archives. Knightstown, Indiana: Bookmark, 1977.  R 338.4 I38.

Kargau, Ernest D. Mercantile Industrial and Professional St. Louis. St. Louis: Nixon-Jones, 1937.  R 977.866 K18M.

Lipsitz, George. The Sidewalks of St. Louis: Places, People, and Politics in an American City. Columbia : University of Missouri Press, 1991.  R 977.866 L767S and circulating copy.

Morrison, Andrew. Industries of Saint Louis: Her Advantages, Resources, Facilities and Commercial Relations as a Center of Trade and Manufacture (1885). St. Louis: J.M. Elstner & Co., Pub., 1885.  R 977.866 M878I.

Negroes: Their Gift to St. Louis. St. Louis: Employee Loan Company, 1964.  R 977.865 N393.

Parkin, Robert E.  Overland Trails and Trials and Your Community Today. Overland, Missouri:  Krawll Printing Company, 1956.   R 977.865 P247.

Primm, James.  Lion of the Valley, St. Louis, Missouri. Boulder, Colorado: Pruett Publishing Company, 1981.  R 977.866 P953L and circulating copy.

Rosenfeld, Richard. Hidden Assets: Connecting the Past to the Future of St. Louis. St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society Press  Distributed by University of Missouri Press, 2006.  330.9778 H632 and circulating copy.

St. Louis Commerce Magazine. R 330.9778 S145. Library has 1988-2010.

Sandweiss, Eric.  St. Louis: the Evolution of an American Urban Landscape. Philadephia: Temple University Press, 2001.  R 977.866 S221S and circulating copy.

Tenenbaum, Shelly.  A Credit to their Community: Jewish Loan Societies in the United States, 1880-1945. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1993. Call No. R 334.22 T292C.

Year Book of the Commercial, Banking, and Manufacturing Interests of St. Louis, 1882-83. St. Louis: S. Ferd. Howe & Co., 1882.  R 977.866 Y39.

Holland, Dorothy Garesche. Annotated Checklist of Magazines Published in St. Louis Before 1900. Washington University Studies, No. 2. St. Louis: Washington University, 1951. R 977.866 H734A.

Kaser, David. A Directory of the St. Louis Book and Printing Trades to 1850. New York: New York Public Library, 1961. R 977.866 K19.

Mullen, Robert A. Recasting a Craft: St. Louis Typefounders Respond to Industrialization. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2005. R 686.221 M959R.

Taft, William H. Missouri Newspapers: When and Where, 1808-1963. Columbia: State Historical Society of Missouri, 1964. R 071.778 T124M.

Burbank, David T. Reign of the Rabble: the St. Louis General Strike of 1877. New York: A.M. Kelley, 1966. Call No. R 331.892 B946R.

Docherty, James C.  Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor. Lanham, Maryland: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1996. Call No R 331.88 D637H.

Feurer, Rosemary. Radical Unionism in the Midwest, 1900-1950. Urbana, Illinois: University of Illinois Press, 2006. Call No. R 331.88 F426R.

The History of the Bench and Bar of Missouri. St. Louis, Mo.: Legal Pub. Co., 1898. 977.8 H673

Morello, Karen Berger.  The Invisible Bar: The Woman Lawyer in America: 1638 to the Present. New York: Random House, 1986.  R 340.023 M842W and circulating copy.

Pictorial Directory of the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis. St. Louis: The Bar, 1980, 2000. R 923.4 B223P

Ring, Lucile Wiley. Breaking the Barriers: The St. Louis Legacy of Women in Law, 1869-1969. Manchester, Missouri: Independent Publishing Corporation, 1996. R 340.023 R581B.

Architecture, engineering, and construction

125 Years of Performance and Achievement. Ballwin, Missouri: Fru-Con, 1997. 338.47624 F944O.

Deal, H. B. & Co. The Story of H. B. Deal & Co. Inc., Builders: A Picture and Word History of this Organization since 1922. St. Louis: H.B. Deal & Co., 1943. R 977.866 H111S.

A History of the St. Louis Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers, 1888-1988. St. Louis: ASCF, 1989. 624.092 A512H.

 

Banks

Primm, James Neal.  A Foregone Conclusion: The Founding of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Vol 1. St. Louis: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, 1989. R 332.11 P953F.

Rule, W. G. “The Means of Wealth, Peace, and Happiness:” The Story of the Oldest Bank West of the Mississippi, the Boatmen's National Bank of St. Louis, 1847-1947. St. Louis:  Boatmen's National Bank, 1947.  R 977.866 R935M.

 

Brewers

Diehl, Digby. The Great American Tradition: the 75th Anniversary of the Budweiser Cyldesdales. United States: Pestalozzi Press, 2008. R 636.15 D559G and circulating copy.

The King’s Reign: Anheuser-Busch, the History of the Brewery in St. Louis. St. Louis: Post Dispatch, 2008. R 338.766 K52.

Macintosh, Julie. Dethroning the King: The Hostile Takeover of Anheuser-Busch, an American Icon. Hoboken, New Jersey: John Wiley & Sons., 2011. R 338.83 M152D and circulating copy.

Plavchan, Ronald Jan. A History of Anheuser-Busch, 1852-1933. North Stratford, N.H.: Ayer Company Publishers, Inc., 1976. 338.766 P719H.

Schlafly, Tom. New Religion in Mecca: Memoir of a Renegade Brewery in St. Louis. St. Louis: Virginia Publishing, 2006. R 663.3097 S338N and circulating copy.

 

Manufacturers

Breuer, William. American Saga: The Fabulous Tale of Sunnen Products Company. St. Louis: Pierre Laclede Book, 1969.  R 338.42 B846A.

Emerson Electric Company: A Century of Manufacturing, 18890-1990. St. Louis: Emerson, 1989.  R 621.3 E53.

Forrestal, Dan J. Faith, Hope, and $5,000: The Story of Monsanto: The Trials and Triumphs of the First 75 Years.  New York: Simon and Schuster, 1977.  R 338.76 F729F.

The Ralston Chronicle, 1894-1994: A Century of Managing Change. St. Louis: Ralston Purina Company, 1994. R 338.7664 R164.

Robin, Marie-Monique. The World According to Monsanto:  Pollution, Corruption, and the Control of the World's Food Supply.  New York:  New Press:  Distributed by Perseus Distribution, 2010.  R 338.766 R655W.

Young, Andrew D.  The History of the St. Louis Car Company, "Quality Shops."  Berkeley, California: Howell-North Books, 1978.  R 338.76 Y68H

 

Newspapers

Hart, Jim Allee. A History of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat. Columbia: University of Missouri, 1961. R 071.7866 H325H.

Hart, Jim Allee. “An Historical Study of the St. Louis Globe-Democrat, 1852-1958.” Ph.D. dissertation, University of Missouri, 1959.  R 977.866 H325H.

Rammelkamp, Julian S. Pulitzer’s Post-Dispatch, 1878-1883. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University, 1967. R 070 R174P.

Times Newspapers Columns: A Collection of Favorite Newspaper Columns by Dwight Bitikofer, Don Corrigan, Cele Cummiskey, Kevin Murphy: Webster-Kirkwood Times, South County Times. St. Louis: Webster-Kirkwood Times, 2001. R 070.44 T583.

 

Miscellaneous

Beck, Bill. Laclede Gas and St. Louis: 150 Years of Working Together, 1857-2007.  St. Louis: Laclede Gas Company, 2007.  R 977.866 B3993L and circulating copy.

McGuire, Randy R. St. Louis Arsenal: Armory of the West. Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2001.  R 977.866 Knoedelseder, William. Bitter Brew: The Rise and Fall of Anheuser-Busch and America’s Kings of Beer. New York : HarperBusiness, 2012. R 338.766 K72B and circulating copy.

Oldani, John L. Sweetness Preserved: The Story of the Crown Candy Kitchen. St. Louis: Virginia Publishing, 2005. R 647.9577 O44S and circulating copy.

Park, David G., Jr. Good Connections: A Century of Service by the Men & Women of Southwestern Bell.  St. Louis: Southwestern Bell Telephone Company, 1984. Call No. R 384.6 P235G.

Bullinger, Edwin W. Monitor Guide to Post Offices and Railroad Stations in the United States and Canada, 1876. Westwood, New Jersey: Bullinger's Guides, 1976.  Q 385.264 B937M.

Edwards, Edward. History of the Volunteer Fire Department of St. Louis. St. Louis : Veteran Volunteer Firemen's Historical Society, 1906.  R 977.866 E26H.

History of the St. Louis Fire Department: With a Review of Great Fires and Sidelights upon the Methods of Fire-Fighting from Ancient to Modern Times. St. Louis: Central Publishing Company, 1914.  R 614.84 H673.

Israel, Benjamin. Putting Black in Blue: The Struggle to Put Uniformed African American Police Officers on the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department. Ann Arbor, Michigan: UMI, 2011, 2008.  R 977.866 I85P.

Miksicek, Barbara. In the Line of Duty: St. Louis Police Officers who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice. St. Louis: St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, 1991.  R 363.22 M636I and circulating copy.

Missouri State Highway Patrol, 1931-1991: 60th Anniversary. Jefferson City, Missouri: Missouri State Highway Patrol, 1991.

Reichard, Max. Origins of the Urban Police: Freedom and Order in Antebellum St. Louis. St. Louis: Washington University, 1975.  R 977.866 R348O.

Schultz, Robert G. Missouri Post Offices, 1804-1981. St. Louis: American Philatelic Society, 1982.  R 977.8 S387M.

Schultz, Robert G. The Street Railway Post Offices of Saint Louis. Chicago: Mobile Post Office Society, 1984.  R 383.4977 S387S.

Wagner, Allen E. Good Order and Safety: A History of the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, 1861-1906.  R 977.866 W132G and circulating copy.

White, Virgil D. Index of U.S. Marshals, 1789-1960. Waynesboro, Tennessee: National Historical Publishing  Co., 1988.  R 929.373 W588I.

Baker, James F.  King Trolley and the Suburban Queens. Kirkwood, Missouri : Meramec Highlands Books, 2005.  Q 388.46 B167K.

Barker, Lesley. St. Louis Gateway Rail: the 1970s. Charleston: Arcadia Publishing, 2006.  977.866 B255S and circulating copy.

Cordes, Bill. St. Louis Water Works Railway. Saint Louis: Tower Grove Press, 2004.  R 977.866 C794S.

Day, Richard Lorey.  East St. Louis, Illinois: A Transportation and Freight Traffic Center. Ann Arbor, Michigan:  UMI Dissertation Services, 2009, 1959.  R 380 D274E.

Ferris, Ruth. St. Louis and the Mighty Mississippi in the Steamboat Age:  The Collected Writings of Ruth Ferris. St. Louis: St. Louis Mercantile Library, 1993.  R 977.86 F394S.

Gillespie, Michael. Come Hell or High Water: A Lively History of Steamboating on the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers. Stoddard, Wis.: Heritage Press, 2001. R 386.3 G478C.

Havighurst, Walter. Voices on the River: The Story of the Mississippi Waterways.  New York: Macmillan, 1964.  R 386.3 H388V.

Horgan, James J. City of Flight: The History of Aviation in St. Louis. Gerald, Mo.: Patrice Press, 1984. R 629.13 H811C.

Lass, William E. Navigating the Missouri: Steamboating on Nature’s Highway, 1819-1935. Norman, Okla.:  Arthur H. Clark Co., 2008.  R 386.30978 L346N.

Lass, William E.  A History of Steamboating on the Upper Missouri River. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska, 1962.  R 977 L346H and circulating copy.

Lorenz, Jane. Finding Aid to the Streckfus Steamers Inc. Records, 1888-1970. St. Louis : Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, National Park Service, 1989.  R 977.866 L869F.

Masterson. V. V.  The Katy Railroad and the Last Frontier.  Columbia: University of Missouri, 1988.  R 385 M423K and circulating copy.

Olsen, Russell A.  Route 66 Lost & Found: Mother Road Ruins and Relics – the Ultimate Collection. Minneapolis : Voyageur Press, 2011. R 917.804 O52R and circulating copy.

Perschbacher, Gerald.  50 Years of Rigs that Run: The Golden Anniversary History of the Horseless Carriage Club of Missouri. St. Louis: G. Perschbacher, 1994.  R 629.2222 P466F.

Perschbacher, Gerald.  Sixty Years of Success: The Horseless Carriage Club of Missouri, 1944-2004. St. Louis: G. Perschbacher, 2004.  R 629.222 P466S.

Pictorial Souvenir of the New S. S. Admiral.  St. Louis: Streckfus Steamers, [1940?].  R 387.2 P611.

Pope, James Sterling.  A History of Steamboating on the Lower Missouri  1838-1849,Saint Louis to Council Bluffs, Iowa Territory. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms International, 1984.   R 977 P825H.

Rhodes, Joel P. A Missouri Railroad Pioneer: The Life of Louis Houck. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2008.  R 977.803 R476M.

The St. Louis Municipal Bridge Railway. St. Louis: Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis Historical and Technical Society, 2005.  R 977.866 S145.

Stout, Greg. Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis.  Scotch Plains, New Jersey: Morning Sun Books, 2007.  R 385.0977S889T.

Sverdrup & Parcel Engineering Co. Inner Belt Expressway:  Engineering Report for St. Louis County, Missouri, Division of Highways. St. Louis: Sverdrup & Parcel Engineering Co., 1957.  R 711.7 S968I.

Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis. 50 years of transportation, 1894-1944: St. Louis Union Station and St. Louis. St. Louis: Simmons-Sisler, 1944.  R 977.866 T319F.

Traffic Map of the Saint Louis Metropolitan Area: 1985-1986. Jefferson City: Missouri Highway and Transportation Department, Division of Planning, 1986.  MAP R 977.865 764.

United Railways Company of St. Louis. When St. Louis Moves. St. Louis: United Railways Co. of St. Louis, 1926.  R 388 U58W.

Way, Frederick, Jr. Way's Packet directory, 1848-1983: Passenger Steamboats of the Mississippi River System since the Advent of Photography in Mid-Continent America. Athens, Ohio: Ohio University Press, 1983.  R 387.243 W357W.

Wayman, Norbury L.  St. Louis Union Station and Its Railroad. St. Louis: Evelyn E. Newman Group, 1986.  R 385 W358S and circulating copy.

Westwood, John.  Steam. London:  Octopus, 1980.  R 625.261 W538S.

White, William. Child of an Eagle: Mississippi Steamboating.  Cape Girardeau, Missouri:  Center for Regional History & Cultural Heritage, Southeast Missouri State University, 1980.  R977.8 W589C.

Wymond, Charles E.  Atlas of Railway Traffic Maps. Chicago: La Salle Extension University, 1923.  R 385.2042 W984A.

Young, Andrew D.  St. Louis and Its Streetcars: The Way it Was. St. Louis: Archway Publishing, 1996. St. Louis:  Archway Publishing, 1996. R 388.4 Y68S and circulating copy.

Young, Andrew D.  St. Louis Car Company Album. Glendale, California: Interurban Press, 1984.   R 388.46 Y68S.

Young, Andrew D. Street Cars, Light Rail & Utility Cars of St. Louis: 1899-2003. St. Louis: Archway Publishing, 2003.  R 388.46 Y68S and circulating copy.

Young, Andrew D. Streets & Streetcars of St. Louis: A Sentimental Journey. St. Louis: Archway Publishing, 2002.  R 388.46 Y68S.

Young, Andrew D. When Missouri Took the Trolley. St. Louis: Archway Publishing, 2007. R 388.46 Y68W.

H.B. Deal & Co.

 

Indexed source:

The Story of H.B. Deal & co., Inc., Builders. St. Louis: H.B. Deal & Co., n.d. R 977.866 H111S

Scharf's History of St. Louis City and County (businesses and organizations only)

 

Indexed source:

Scharf, J. Thomas. History of Saint Louis City and County from the Earliest Periods to the Present Day Including Biographical Sketches of Representative Men. Philadlephia: L.H. Everts, 1883. R 977.866 S311

Note: This index lists only business and industry references found in the book.

German Element in St. Louis

 

Indexed source:

Kargau, Ernest. The German Element in St. Louis: A Translation from German of Ernst D. Kargau's St. Louis in Former Years, William Bek, tr. Baltimore: Clearfiled, 2000. R 977.866 K18G

Note: This index lists only business and industry references found in the book.

Shewey's Pictorial St. Louis, Past and Present

 

Indexed source:

Shewey's Pictoiral St. Louis, Past and Present: A Sketch of St. Louis, Its History, Resources, Chronological Events, Tables of Information, and Points of Interest. St. Louis: Arista C. Shewey, 1892. R 977.866 S554

Note: This index lists only business and industry references found in the book.

St Louis Silversmiths

 

Indexed sources:

Roach, Ruth Hunter. St. Louis Silversmiths. s.l.: Roach, 1976. Q 739.23 R628S