LibGuides: Educator Resources: Homework, Tutoring, and General Reference

Homework & Tutoring

Brainfuse HelpNow
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
LearningExpress Library
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep
Use Peterson’s Test and Career Prep to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships, and access online practice tests and eBooks for exam preparation. This resource also provides career tools, resume builders, and study guides for exams like SAT, ACT, GRE, NCLEX, and more.

Quick Reference

These databases are a great resource for your students to use when they are curious about a topic. These can be used to promote research skills for basic questions, and to get practice using encyclopedias.

Explora - Elementary
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Explora - Secondary Schools
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
World Book Student
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.
Gale In Context: High School
A collection of databases designed to help high school students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.

Streaming Video

Kanopy
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.

Browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream.
Hoopla
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.

A web and mobile library media streaming platform for audio books, comics, e-books, movies, music, and TV.