This is a list of curated links that our librarians have looked over for accuracy, credibility, and trustworthiness. If you find a broken link, you can email to let us know at reference@slcl.org.
JobNow provides support for individuals on the job market. Connect with live career coaches to receive one-on-one assistance through every step of the job search, including resume help and practice interviews. Career coaches are available daily between 2PM and 11PM. Optimal Resume is also provided within JobNow.
VetNow offers support for veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. Work with live, online navigators who are veterans ready to help their peers. Find job tools designed to help veterans at all stages of the job-hunting process. Build academic skills for college and beyond with live tutoring, practice tests, writing review, language learning, and more.
Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.
Browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more. It also contains a comprehensive Career Changer's Manual for people looking to start fresh in a new industry.
Libby is an innovative mobile app from OverDrive designed to make borrowing and enjoying e-books, magazines, and audiobooks from the library easier than ever.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
Formerly named ReferenceUSA, this online directory contains millions of listings for businesses, residents, new movers, and consumers across the U.S. Look up specific companies or individuals or use advanced search tools to build a list of potential customers, learn more about competitors in your industry and more.
SkillMill by Interplay Learning offers skilled trades training courses online on HVAC, solar, plumbing, electrical and more. Develop skills at your own pace through expert-led video lessons and digital training simulations. Registration is required.
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.
Additional Resources accessible via the St. Louis County Library website
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.
