Dictionary of Classical Mythology by
Jenny March's acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A - Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters. Characters such as Achilles and Odysseus have extensive entries, as do epic journeys and heroic quests, like that of Jason and the Argonauts to win the Golden Fleece, all alongside a plethora of information on the creation of the cosmos, the many metamorphoses of gods and humans, and the Trojan War, plus more minor figures - nymphs, seers, kings, rivers, to name but a few. In this superbly authoritative work the myths are brilliantly retold, along with any major variants, and with extensive translations from ancient authors that give life to the narratives and a sense of the vibrant cultures that shaped the development of classical myth. The 172 illustrations give visual immediacy to the words, by showing how ancient artists perceived their gods and heroes. The impact of myths on ancient art is also explored, as is and their influence in the post-classical arts, emphasising the ongoing inspiration afforded by the ancient myths. Also included are two maps of the ancient world, a list of the ancient sources and their chronology, the more important genealogies, and an index of recurrent mythical motifs. Praise for the first edition: "... the Dictionary of Classical Mythology is exemplary, indeed the best I have consulted ... clearly and engagingly written ...it not only gives reliable answers but also encourages reading on." Simon Goldhill, Times Literary Supplement "a prodigious, authoritative gazetteer, each entry both typographically and stylistically readable, and if you know more than is contained in these pages then you have no need of it." Nicholas Lezard, Guardian Book of the Week "Greek myths pervade our own art and literature almost as much as they influenced that of classical times, and this will be an invaluable guide." The Good Book Guide "... a modern encyclopaedia of myth and legend which is user-friendly in layout, presentation and style ... vivid and readable." Paula James, The Classical Review "These stories are frequently the spark that ignites a wider interest in the classical world, and March provides a wealth of inflammatory material." Charles Paterson, JACT Review "This dictionary will still be valuable all through the next century." Sir Hugh Lloyd-Jones "... vivid, detailed where it matters, yet concise, accurate, no padding, always to the point - it's a joy to read." Herwig Maehler
Encyclopedia of Mythological Objects by
Curious about the chains that bound Fenriswulf in Norse mythology? Or the hut of Baba Yaga, the infamous witch of Russian folklore? Containing more than one thousand detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. From Abadi, the named stone in Roman mythology to Zul-Hajam, one of the four swords said to belong to the prophet Mohammed, each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided, including information on its origin, who was its wielder, and the extent of its magical abilities. The text also includes a comprehensive cross-reference system and an extensive bibliography to aid researchers.
Gods of World Mythology by
Certain universal themes run throughout mythologies of the many and diverse peoples of the past. Each pantheon of deities has at least one creator god, for instance. Gods of justice, war, and love are also common. Gods of World Mythology explores some of the leading gods of the Greeks, Romans, Norse, Hindus, Chinese, Aztecs, and Igbo.
Sacred and Mythological Animals by
From the household cat to horses that can fly, a surprisingly wide range of animals feature in religions and mythologies all across the world. The same animal can take on different roles: the raven can be a symbol of evil, a harbinger of death, a wise messenger or a shape-changing trickster. In Norse mythology, Odin's magical ravens perch on his shoulders and bring him news. This compendium draws upon religious texts and myths to explore the ways sacred traditions use animal images, themes and associations in rituals, ceremonies, texts, myths, literature and folklore across the world. Sections are organized by the main animal classifications such as mammals, birds, reptiles, fish, amphibians and insects. Each chapter covers one significant grouping (such as dogs, cats or horses), first describing an animal scientifically and then detailing the mythological attributes. Numerous examples cite texts or myths. A final section covers animal hybrids, animal monsters and mythical animals as well as stars, constellations and Zodiac symbols. An appendix describes basic details of the religions and mythologies covered. A glossary defines uncommon religious terms and explains scientific animal names.
National Geographic Readers: Mythical Beasts (L3) by
Calling all fans of unicorns, dragons, sea monsters, and other mythical creatures! Fly and slither through 100 marvelous magical facts in this new reader, perfect for fluent readers. Packed with weird-but-true facts and tons of info about animals that were mistaken for myths or with abilities beyond belief, this Level 3 reader covers everything amazing, incredible, and downright magical. National Geographic Fact Readers feature the same expert-vetted running text as traditional readers--with a bonus of 100 fun facts spread throughout the book! A fact roundup at the end of each book lets kids review what they've learned. (Plus, they can impress their friends with their animal expertise!)
Don't Know Much about® Mythology by
In this fascinating installment of the New York Times bestselling Don't Know Much About® series, Kenneth C. Davis explores the great myths of the world and their implications for art, science, religion and culture throughout history. What is an Egyptian pyramid doing on the U. S. dollar bill? * Did a pharaoh inspire Moses to worship one God? * What's a Canaanite demoness doing at a rock concert? Since the beginning of time, people have been insatiably curious. They've asked questions about where we come from, why the stars shine and the seasons change, and what constitutes evil. The imaginative answers crafted by our ancestors have served as religion, science, philosophy, and popular literature. In an engaging and delightfully irreverent question-and-answer style, Davis tackles the epic of Gilgamesh; Achilles and the Trojan War; Stonehenge and the Druids; Odin, Thor, and the entire Norse pantheon; Native American myths, and much more, including the dramatic life and times of the man who would be Buddha. From Mount Olympus to Machu Picchu, here is an insightful, lively look at the greatest stories ever told.
Gods and Goddesses in the Garden by
Zeus, Medusa, Hercules, Aphrodite. Did you know that these and other dynamic deities, heroes, and monsters of Greek and Roman mythology live on in the names of trees and flowers? Some grow in your local woodlands or right in your own backyard garden. In this delightful book, botanist Peter Bernhardt reveals the rich history and mythology that underlie the origins of many scientific plant names. Unlike other books about botanical taxonomy that take the form of heavy and intimidating lexicons, Bernhardt's account comes together in a series of interlocking stories. Each chapter opens with a short version of a classical myth, then links the tale to plant names, showing how each plant "resembles" its mythological counterpart with regard to its history, anatomy, life cycle, and conservation. You will learn, for example, that as our garden acanthus wears nasty spines along its leaf margins, it is named for the nymph who scratched the face of Apollo. The shape-shifting god, Proteus, gives his name to a whole family of shrubs and trees that produce colorful flowering branches in an astonishing number of sizes and shapes. Amateur and professional gardeners, high school teachers and professors of biology, botanists and conservationists alike will appreciate this book's entertaining and informative entry to the otherwise daunting field of botanical names. Engaging, witty, and memorable, Gods and Goddesses in the Garden transcends the genre of natural history and makes taxonomy a topic equally at home in the classroom and at cocktail parties.
The Illustrated a-Z of Classic Mythology by
A comprehensive reference source to the ancient world's most fascinating mythologies, bringing together the Classical legends of ancient Greece and Rome; the fairytale myths of the Celtic world; and from Northern Europe, tales of Germanic gods, Nordic warriors and giants. ,
Monsters and Mythical Creatures from Around the World by
Mythical creatures are cultural artifacts--creations of the human imagination from all around the world. From terrifying monsters to sacred mystical beasts, weird-looking humanoids, magical birds, and many other fantastic beings, the mythological creatures in this book are sure to enchant and amaze! Discover myths and legends spanning from ancient times to modern day from every corner of the globe. Learn the cultural origins of 240 different mythical creatures, captured in ten chapters and 100 colorful illustrations. You will find terrifying bogey monsters as well as benevolent guardians. Meet creatures that symbolize obstacles to overcome, ones that explain the occurrence of disease, some that ward away evil, and others that were created simply for amusement. Explore mythology from the Middle East, Africa, India, Japan, Mexico, Europe, Polynesia, and beyond. This guide is a ticket to travel the world and discover its strangest magical beasts from the safety of your own home.
Mythology for Dummies by
Discover (or rediscover!) history's greatest myths and legends From Grendel and Beowulf to Poseidon, Medusa, and Hercules, the gods, monsters, and heroes of mythology are endlessly weird and fascinating. And if you're looking for a helpful companion to this wild collection of creatures, humans, and deities, you've found it! Mythology For Dummies delivers the straight goods on history's most popular myths, helping you make sense of even the most complicated ancient stories. You'll learn about the origins of your favorite myths, their cultural impact, and more. Discover: The coolest mythological characters, including intrepid Odysseus, the volatile gods of Mount Olympus, and Thor and Loki How ancient mythology intersects with our daily lives in pop culture, high culture, and everything in between Mythological destinations, like Atlantis, and famous sites from Greek, Roman, and Norse mythology An engrossing guide to some of the most enduring and interesting tales from throughout history, Mythology For Dummies serves up the inside scoop on almost every myth or legend you'd care to learn more about.
The Mythology of Plants by
This engaging book focuses on the perennially fascinating topic of plants in Greek and Roman myth. The author, an authority on the gardens, art, and literature of the classical world, introduces the book’s main themes with a discussion of gods and heroes in ancient Greek and Roman gardens. The following chapters recount the everyday uses and broader cultural meaning of plants with particularly strong mythological associations. These include common garden plants such as narcissus and hyacinth; pomegranate and apple , which were potent symbols of fertility; and sources of precious incense including frankincense and myrrh. Following the sweeping botanical commentary are the myths themselves, told in the original voice of Ovid, classical antiquity’s most colorful mythographer. nbsp; The volume’s interdisciplinary approach will appeal to a wide audience, ranging from readers interested in archaeology, classical literature, and ancient history to garden enthusiasts. With an original translation of selections from Ovid’s Metamorphoses, an extensive bibliography, a useful glossary of names and places, and a rich selection of images including exquisite botanical illustrations, this book is unparalleled in scope and realization.
The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology by
This title deals with the myths and legends of the ancient worlds, from Greece, Rome and Egypt to the Norse and Celtic lands, through Persia and India to China and the Far East. It is a comprehensive A to Z of the classic stories of gods and goddesses, heroes, warriors and mythical beasts, with copious cross-references. Over 1000 alphabetical entries describe the central mythical figures of each culture and their importance to the ancient civilizations of their day. It is beautifully illustrated with over 1000 images spanning fifteen centuries of fine art, from the ancient world to the present, including specially commissioned artworks. It presents superb pictorial spreads on the mythical themes and symbols central to each culture. Timeless in scope and appeal, it is a classic and enduring reference work by two expert authorities. In this important volume, the mythologies of the ancient world are brought to life. In the first half, author Arthur Cotterell describes the central mythical figures of classical Greece and Rome, the Celtic heroes and the Nordic gods. In the second part, author Rachel Storm expertly leads us through the powerful pantheon of gods and goddesses of the East from Ancient Egypt, through Central Asia, to the dragon festivals of eastern lands. Pictorial features focus on recurring mythological themes, including heroes, oracles and prophecies. This comprehensive guide to the myths and legends of two great continents is timeless in its universal appeal.