LibGuides: World Mythology: Home

Encyclopedia and Article Databases

The St. Louis County Library has many databases for exploring a variety of topics related to mythology. You can search for specific myths, characters, or regions. You will need a St. Louis County Library card to access these resources. For additional help with these or any electronic resources, please contact the Reference Department.

Resources for Elementary School Children

Explora - Elementary This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
World Book Kids This link opens in a new window
World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

Resources for Teens and Adults

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of scholarly journals in the areas of social science, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world's leading news agency.
Explora - Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 25,000 full-text encyclopedic records covering an array of subject areas.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general interest resource providing periodical and news information. Also includes Fodor travel guides, NPR programs, and more than 20 reference sets on a wide range of topics.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
World Book Advanced, designed to support personalized learning, is an excellent resource for high school and college students as well as life-long learners. In addition to trusted encyclopedia articles from World Book, you can also find over 600 global newspapers and government websites from around the world. For educators, you can also access primary sources with advanced lesson plans and assessments for the classroom.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.