African Mythology by
Who is Chuku? What is Unkulunkulu? Why are myths so important in our lives? Myths are a rich source of history. People use them to make sense of our world. Even before myths were written down, people told and retold the stories of the gods and goddesses of their homeland. Readers of African Mythology will learn the history of myths, as well as their deeper meaning. From Cagn of the San people of the Kalahari Desert to Mboom of the Kuba people of central Africa, this book helps kids understand the myths that shape and direct people's lives. Abdo & Daughters is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Anansi by
West African spider-god Anansi wants all of Sky God's famous stories, but to earn them, he has to outwit several of the animals in his village. It will take all of his cleverness and skills in mischief to pull it off. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Calico Kid is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.
National Geographic Kids Everything Mythology by
National Geographic Everything Mythology is jam packed with fascinating facts and awe-inspiring imagery that brings your favorite fierce mythological heroes to life, introducing kids to gods of ancient worlds, including Greek, Norse, Chinese, America Indian, African cultures, and more. Packed with facts, colorful illustrations, and infused with humor, this fun journey through ancient lore will keep kids fascinated with every turn of the page. National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information.
African Mythology Rocks! by
African myths provide a rich understanding of the cultures that created these fascinating tales. Passed down through the generations, African myths were kept alive by a strong oral tradition. Author Linda Jacobs Altman weaves together traditional tales from seven different cultural groups, including those of Nigeria, Tanzania, Sierra Leone, the Kalahari, and Ghana. She focuses on the distinctions, as well as the similarities, among their lifestyles and legacies. Each of the stories in enhanced by the expert commentary of scholars, wonderful illustrations and a question-and-answer section.
African Myths and Beliefs by
From the earliest hunters and gatherers, African people have shared stories and legends about their origins and beliefs. These legendary myths have embedded themselves in the lives and culture of the African people and are represented in art, design, and music. This powerful narrative explores some of these myths and legends and shows how they continue to manifest themselves in modern African culture. Nearly all pages contain eye-catching photographs or illustrations. Objects of art and totems are presented in large and perfect detail.
African Myths and Legends by
The world's myths are filled with characters, creatures, and stories that have fascinated people for thousands of years. This series mixes dramatic retellings and non-fiction information to give a full picture of a culture's myths. This book explores the gods, goddesses, heroes, villains, tricksters, and quests that make African myths and legends so compelling.
A Dictionary of African Mythology by
In this marvelous collection of hundreds of fascinating, mysterious, and revealing tales, Harold Scheub captures the immense sweep and diversity of African mythology. Scheub offers an unprecedented collection of 400 stories, arranged alphabetically, that touch on virtually every aspect of religious belief. Here are gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine, and much more. Scheub covers the entire continent, from the mouth of the Nile to the shores of the Cape of Good Hope, including North African as well as sub-Saharan cultures. Here, for example, is the tale of Abu Zayd (from the Bani Hilal of Tunisia), an epic hero who battles a jinni; and here too is a myth of how the moon and the toad created the first man and woman, from the Soko of Congo. Scheub not only retells each story, but provides information about the respective belief system, the main characters, and related stories or variants. Perhaps most important, Scheub emphasizes the role of mythmaker as storyteller--as a performer for an audience. He explores various techniques, from the rhythmic movements of a Zulu mythmaker's hands to the way a storyteller will play on the familiar context of other myths within her cultural context. In A Dictionary of African Mythology, Harold Scheub has constructed an invaluable bridge to the richly diverse oral cultures of Africa. In this magnificent collection, he not only provides hundreds of fascinating myths, but recaptures their cultural contexts--in which story and storyteller, tradition and performance, all merge.
Gods and Heroes by
Meet the Original Superheroes. Before there was Batman, Wonder Woman, or Black Panther...there was Indra, Hindu king of gods, who battled a fearsome snake to save the world from drought. Athena, the powerful Greek goddess of wisdom who could decide the fate of battles before they even began. Okuninushi, the Japanese hero who defeated eighty brothers to become king and then traded it all for a chance at immortality. Featuring more than 70 characters from 23 cultures around the world, this A-to-Z encyclopedia of mythology is a who's who of powerful gods and goddesses, warriors and kings, enchanted creatures and earthshaking giants whose stories have been passed down since the beginning of time--and are now given fresh life for a new generation of young readers. Plus, You'll Learn All About:Dragons: The Hydra, St. George's Dragon, and the Australian Rainbow SnakeGiants: Grendel, Balor of the Evuil Eye, Polyphemus, and the Purusha with the thousand headsMonsters: Manticore, Sphinx, Minotaur, Thunderbird, and Echidne, mother of the Nemean lion that nearly killed HeraclesUnderworlds: Travel to Hades, Valhalla, and the Elysian Fields
Introduction to Igbo Mythology for Kids by
The first definitive collection of Igbo legends and traditions for kids, this book explores the mythological origins of the Igbo people, the ancient Nri Kingdom, and Igbo cosmology before delving into the Alusi, or the core Igbo deities. Following this introduction to the pantheon of gods and goddesses, a collection of the most popular Igbo myths, folktales, and legends will immerse kids in exciting stories of tricksters, shapeshifters, and heroes. Introduction to Igbo Mythology for Kids offers a fun look into the stories, history, and figures that characterise Igbo culture.
Kings, Gods and Spirits from African Mythology by