The Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics career cluster includes careers that involve research, testing, and problem-solving.
Careers in the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics career cluster include:
Visit O*NET OnLine's Career Cluster page to learn more about the different occupations available within this cluster.
Visit CareerOneStop's career cluster page to learn more about the trends, facts, and education requirements for occupations within this cluster.
So, You Want to Work with the Ancient and Recent Dead? by
Have you ever been excited by forensic science or psyched to dig up fossils? This comprehensive guide reveals a whole host of careers in the underrated world of the no-longer-living. Covering everything from well known jobs like archaeologists, morticians, coroners, and forensic scientists to the not-so-well-known professions like studying dead stars and planets to playing a zombie on TV, So, You Want to Work With the Ancient and Recent Dead? uncovers a treasure trove of occupational opportunities. In addition to tips and interviews from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Work With the Ancient and Recent Dead? includes inspiring stories from kids who are working toward an exciting career in the area of "dead things" as well as activities, a glossary, and resources to help you unearth your interests and discover a successful career.
The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People, Fourth Edition by
A practical career guide for creatively inclined job seekers of all ages, with tips and counsel on how to use your independent and innovative talents and passions to make money, express yourself, and find a job you love. This new edition of the popular guide for individuals seeking work that suits their unique skills has been completely revised and updated to reflect the freedom offered by the new work order, delve more deeply into freelancing as a career, explore social media as it relates to creative job searches, provide new success stories, and bring all salary information up to date. It also includes descriptions of more than 270 creative jobs, from the mainstream (architect, web designer) to the unexpected (crossword-puzzle maker, police sketch artist). With knowledgeable career guidance, real-life success stories, and eye-opening self-evaluation tools, the fourth edition of The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional Peoplehelps unique individuals find work that supports and compliments their personalities and passions.
101 Careers in Mathematics by
This third edition of the immensely popular 101 Careers in Mathematics contains updates on the career paths of individuals profiled in the first and second editions, along with many new profiles. No career counselor should be without this valuable resource. The authors of the essays in this volume describe a wide variety of careers for which a background in the mathematical sciences is useful. Each of the jobs presented shows real people in real jobs. Their individual histories demonstrate how the study of mathematics was useful in landing well-paying jobs in predictable places such as IBM, AT & T, and American Airlines, and in surprising places such as FedEx Corporation, L.L. Bean, and Perdue Farms, Inc. You will also learn about job opportunities in the Federal Government as well as exciting careers in the arts, sculpture, music, and television. There are really no limits to what you can do if you are well prepared in mathematics. The degrees earned by the authors profiled here range from bachelor s to master s to PhD in approximately equal numbers. Most of the writers use the mathematical sciences on a daily basis in their work. Others rely on the general problem-solving skills acquired in mathematics as they deal with complex issues.
Careers in Physics by
It is estimated that the United States will have over 1 million job openings in STEM-related (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields and occupations by 2018. Salem's new series explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields, emphasising STEM occupations and outlooks and green technologies where applicable. Written for high school and undergraduate students as well as general nonspecialists, this series will provide much needed insight into the career opportunities of this growing filed. The first title in the series contains over 20 profiles of branches or fields of physics such as Astrophysics, Civil Engineering, Cryogenics and Quantum Physics and over twenty corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field. Among the fields/careers covered are: Acoustics - Sound Engineering Technician Aeronautics and Aviation - Aerospace Engineer Astrophysics - Astrophysicist Atmospheric Physics - Meteorologist Atomic and Molecular Physics - Atomic/Molecular Physicist Biophysics - Biophysicist Civil Engineering - Civil Engineer Classical or Applied Mechanics - Mechanical Engineer Condensed Matter Physics - Accelerator Physicist Cryogenics - Cryogenic Engineer Electrical Engineering - Electrical Engineer Environmental Physics - Environmental Engineer Fluid Dynamics - Hydrologist Geophysics - Oceanographer Nanotechnology - Nanosystems Engineer Nuclear Medicine - Nuclear Medicine Technologist Nuclear Physics - Nuclear Monitoring Technician Optics - Photonic Engineer Quantum Physics - Quantum Physicist Solid Mechanics - Materials Physicist Systems Engineering - Robotics Engineer Thermodynamics - Thermodynamics Engineer The essays on the fields of physics include Core Concepts; Applications Past and Present; Impact on Industry; and Social Context and Future Prospect. Also included is a fact-based overview of the branch or subfield it covers. The essays on the corresponding occupation profiles include Education and Coursework; Daily Tasks and Technology; Earnings and Employment Outlook; and Related Occupations. Further reading suggestions accompany all science articles and a listing of occupational web resources accompany all occupational profiles. Every entry also includes sidebars, photos, and graphs illustrating key concepts.
Careers in Chemistry by
It is estimated that the United States will have over 1 million job openings in STEM-related (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields and occupations by 2018. Salem's new series explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields, emphasising STEM occupations and outlooks and green technologies where applicable. Written for high school and undergraduate students as well as general nonspecialists, this series will provide much needed insight into the career opportunities of this growing field. Careers in Chemistry contains over twenty profiles of branches or fields of chemistry such as Agricultural Chemistry, Cosmetics Chemistry, Food Chemistry, and Forensic Science. It also contains over twenty corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field (for example, a perfume chemist for Cosmetics Chemistry). All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field. Among the fields/careers covered are: Agricultural Chemistry - Agricultural Chemist Atmospheric Chemistry - Atmospheric Chemist Biochemistry - Biochemical Engineer Chemical Engineering - Production Engineer Chemical Genetics - Geneticist Chemical Technology - Chemical Technician Cosmetics Chemistry - Perfume Chemist Electrochemistry - Fuel Cell Engineer Environmental Chemistry - Environmental Chemist Femtochemistry - Experimental Scientist Food Chemistry - Food Technologist or Nutritionist Forensic Science - Forensic Scientist Geochemistry - Geochemist Green Chemistry - Analytical Chemist Materials Science - Materials Chemist Medicinal Chemistry - Oncologist Nuclear Chemistry - Radiochemist Petrochemistry - Petrochemist Pharmacology - Pharmacist Polymer Chemistry - Plastics Engineer Pulp and Paper Chemistry - Wood chemist Toxicology - Toxicologist The essays on the fields of chemistry include Core Concepts; Applications Past and Present; Impact on Industry; and Social Context and Future Prospect. Also included is a fact-based overview of the branch or subfield it covers. The essays on the corresponding occupation profiles include Education and Coursework; Daily Tasks and Technology; Earnings and Employment Outlook; and Related Occupations. Further reading suggestions accompany all science articles and a listing of occupational web resources accompany all occupational profiles. Every entry also includes sidebars, photos, and graphs illustrating key concepts.
Become a Web Developer by
The world around us is filled with interactive websites and easy-to-use applications. Whether for small businesses or international organizations, web developers use their technical skills to provide information to the public. Become a Web Developer explores the types of work web developers can do, how to become one, and what to expect from the job.
How to Choose Your Perfect Engineering Career by
Choosing a career can be tough. There are so many options and choices available--how do you figure out what is right for you? This book takes students by the hand and helps them explore their interests, personality type, likes and dislikes, and hopes for the future so they can navigate a pathway to their perfect engineering career. With flowchart quizzes that allow the reader to narrow down their options and find a route that is right for them, How to Choose Your Perfect Engineering Career helps take the stress out of making a good career choice. Students will learn what qualifications they need for their ideal career, and where and how to achieve them. They will discover if further education is right for them, or if a more practical route to their ideal career choice is best. They will learn what a day in the life of each career option is like so they can figure out if it might suit them. This is a must-have guide for all students making decisions about their future.
How to Choose Your Perfect Math Career by
Choosing a career can be tough. There are so many options and choices available--how do you figure out what is right for you? This book takes students by the hand and helps them explore their interests, personality type, likes and dislikes, and hopes for the future so they can navigate a pathway to their perfect math career. With flowchart quizzes that allow the reader to narrow down their options and find a route that is right for them, How to Choose Your Perfect Math Career helps take the stress out of making a good career choice. Students will learn what qualifications they need for their ideal career, and where and how to achieve them. They will discover if further education is right for them, or if a more practical route to their ideal career choice is best. They will learn what a day in the life of each career option is like so they can figure out if it might suit them. This is a must-have guide for all students making decisions about their future.
Exploring Hi-Tech Careers by
Tech, finance, and media companies are accelerating their digitization of customer services at an unprecedented rate creating a growing demand for STEM professionals. Exploring Hi-Tech Careers takes a deep dive into the thriving hi-tech employment picture for digital engineers, security analysts, data scientists, and experts in blockchain and artificial intelligence. What the job entails, what it pays, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
How to Choose Your Perfect Science Career by
Choosing a career can be tough. There are so many options and choices available--how do you figure out what is right for you? This book takes students by the hand and helps them explore their interests, personality type, likes and dislikes, and hopes for the future so they can navigate a pathway to their perfect science career. With flowchart quizzes that allow the reader to narrow down their options and find a route that is right for them, How to Choose Your Perfect Science Career helps take the stress out of making a good career choice. Students will learn what qualifications they need for their ideal career, and where and how to achieve them. They will discover if further education is right for them, or if a more practical route to their ideal career choice is best. They will learn what a day in the life of each career option is like so they can figure out if it might suit them. This is a must-have guide for all students making decisions about their future.
How to Choose Your Perfect Computer Science Career by
Choosing a career can be tough.There are so many options and choices available--how do you figure out what is right for you? This book takes students by the hand and helps them explore their interests, personality type, likes and dislikes, and hopes for the future so they can navigate a pathway to their perfect computer science career. With flowchart quizzes that allow the reader to narrow down their options and find a route that is right for them, How to Choose Your Perfect Computer Science Career helps take the stress out of making a good career choice. Students will learn what qualifications they need for their ideal career, and where and how to achieve them. They will discover if further education is right for them, or if a more practical route to their ideal career choice is best. They will learn what a day in the life of each career option is like so they can figure out if it might suit them. This is a must-have guide for all students making decisions about their future. ing decisions about their future.ing decisions about their future.ing decisions about their future.
The Wide World of Coding by
The best part about coding is that anyone with a computer can learn how to do it. From education to healthcare to entertainment, software touches almost every aspect of twenty-first century life. Take a high-level perspective on the types of people who create that software--including many jobs that do not involve writing code at all. Learn about the software development cycle and the huge variety of skills developers draw on, including psychology, mathematics, and art, to create amazing apps and programs. Explore why diversity is needed to prevent bias in design. Learn about the different coding languages and what they are used for, how developers choose a language, and tools that simplify coding. Jennifer Connor-Smith breaks down stereotypes about coding as a career that is open only to technology-obsessed gamers, revealing ways people use software to improve medical care, nurture dementia patients, promote social justice, and more. Hands-on activities show you how easy it is to learn to think like a coder. The next generation of coders will require diverse teams, creativity, and ethical codes of conduct to create the best and most successful software. Will you be one of them?
Jobs If You Like Video Games by
Discover what it is like to be a professional gamer, game artist, game tester, drone pilot, and more in this book about jobs of interest to people who like to play video games. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
A Career in Mechanical Engineering by
A mechanical engineer has a wide breadth of opportunities including designing the latest vehicles, improving manufacturing processes, and creating prosthetic limbs. Mechanical engineers are involved in products and systems from design to implementation. What the job entails, what it pays, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Space Careers by
The space industry presents opportunities for engineers, scientists, as well as people involved with marketing, sales, public relations, etc. This book will help you understand the commercial, civil, and military space sectors; locate universities with specialized programs; identify scholarships and fellowships; locate networking opportunities, and identify the top hiring companies and organizations. A completely revised, updated, and expanded edition to the Benjamin Franklin Award winning career book.
The Best Ever Jobs in Technology (STEAM Jobs) by
A series to help kids get inspired by exciting STEAM careersDoes your child dream of afuture career in the exciting world of technology? This book will show them that there is so much more to a science career than using a spanner.The perfect book for budding architects, robotics experts, space technicians, racing bike designers or even film editors. This book highlights the importance of studying STEAM subjects at school to open up the route into these professions. There are lots of careers that use technology in one way or another and this book will open their eyes and mind to the possibilities that technology can bring.Famous and leading tech experts in their fields are featured throughout. Readers will go behind the scenes with architects, radiologists, racing car designers, and CGI experts to discover more about how they do their jobs.This series is ideal for readers aged 9+ who are considering their options at school. Many children worry about job opportunities in the future and these books highlight a great range of jobs in STEM and STEAM subject areas, which can help inspire them to think about where they want their lives to take them.Titles in the The Best Ever Jobs in ArtThe Best Ever Jobs in EngineeringThe Best Ever Jobs in MathsThe Best Ever Jobs in ScienceThe Best Ever Jobs in Technology
A Career as an Auto Mechanic by
In good times and bad, there are certain careers that remain in steady and even high demand. Auto mechanics are always in high demand, especially as cars become more high-tech and computerized. Increasingly few car owners have the necessary expertise to work on their own cars, even for routine maintenance. This book introduces readers to all the various jobs possible within the field, as well as the range of vehicles and engines mechanics can work on, from lawn mowers and weed whackers to foreign sports cars, city buses, yachts, and even jet fighters and rockets. Most importantly, this book maps out the educational, training, and professional path that should be followed to get the reader to a true safe haven from economic uncertainty.
Dream Jobs in Science by
A career in science can involve traveling around the world--and maybe even leaving it! From tracking violent storms or studying penguins in the Antarctic to repairing the International Space Station or searching for new planets, this fascinating book shows that a career in science can lead to thrilling and limitless possibilities.
Getting Paid to Make Games and Apps by
For a technophile, it's not a big leap to want to create something new. This title offers readers from grades seven through twelve the chance to discover career options in game and app development and the education that will qualify them for those options. Apart from figuring out the creative side, the reader will also discover what is necessary to break into an extremely competitive market as a professional. Readers will experience engaging sidebars that introduce successful young developers and their creations, and various types of references throughout will allow the reader to take in the whole world of development.
Jobs in Engineering by
From dams to computers, so much in the world around us requires special kinds of engineering. This essential volume breaks down the many jobs that have to do with engineering--including metallurgists, mechanical engineers, systems engineers, and more--and explains the tasks these engineers accomplish, and also how they train for the position. Within each job's explanation is a sidebar highlighting the work of a successful engineer in that sector. An inviting design draws in readers looking to expand their knowledge of STEM careers available to them.
Jobs in Math by
When you're good at math, the career possibilities are endless! But, the math profession most young readers are familiar with is likely limited to math teachers! This book aims to open readers' eyes to the many ways they can use math to build a career. Including sections on video game designers, statisticians, meteorologists, and sports analysts--plus many more--will both encourage and excite students who enjoy math. Each section also includes a spotlight on a successful professional in each math field.
Jobs in Science by
Whether you want to study the past, the present, or the future, science jobs are where you can do it! But not all scientists are simply studying. They are using their theories and ideas to explain-and change-the world. This book includes sections on oceanographers, brain surgeons, food scientists and many more, expanding the world of science careers for young readers. Full of information about how one becomes each and the tasks that are part of each career, each page of this volume make STEM careers even more enticing.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
3D Printing: Science, Technology, and Engineering (Calling All Innovators: a Career for You) (Library Edition) by
Discover how today's innovators are finding ways to make 3D printers smaller, easier to use, and more affordable than ever.Calling All Innovators series introduces students to careers in science and technology. The complex text allows readers (Grades 5-8) to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. The idea of downloading and printing out a three-dimensional physical object using a personal computer might seem like something out of a science fiction story. However, the latest 3D printing technology is making this incredible dream into a reality. Readers will learn how 3D printing is changing the way we manufacture aircraft, treat injuries, and more.
Careers for Tech Girls in Engineering by
Although once considered a field mainly for men, women can look for all kinds of STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) careers. Engineering has many opportunities for girls who enjoy STEM topics. This book covers many engineering career opportunities, with workplaces ranging from a laboratory to deep space. It also offers suggestions as to how readers can turn their dreams into dream careers, such as which classes to take in school, scholarships available specifically for women, and college majors and classes that will be instructive, interesting, and give girls a step up to feel confident in trying out a cool engineering career.
Careers for Tech Girls in Science by
A shortage of women in various fields of the sciences persists, due in large part to social conditioning, lack of support, and outright prejudice. Increasing the visibility and success of female scientists is key to breaking down these outdated stereotypes. Young women with an interest in science will find vital information about internships, careers, resources, and support networks to help them achieve their goals. Female role models in medicine, zoology, ecology, astronomy, and more are profiled. Readers who have a natural curiosity about the world around them will be inspired to make a difference by pursuing a career in the sciences.
Careers for Tech Girls in Video Game Development by
Women have faced an uphill climb in the male-dominated world of video game development, but that is beginning to change. Young women now make up nearly half of all gamers, and some companies are looking to expand the influence of women in the gaming industry and engage with them as creators, rather than only as consumers. This resource introduces middle and high school girls to the world of video game development, covering the kinds of courses, extracurricular activities, and organizations that can help them get into a career in video game development.
Careers in Focus
Meteorology is the science of the atmosphere and its phenomena. There are many kinds of meteorologists, including those who create forecasts that keep airplanes safe when flying; those who conduct research on global warming, acid rain, and pollution; and those who testify in legal proceedings about weather conditions at the time of a crime or car accident. Others work as storm spotters, college professors, and consultants to politicians and private organizations. This field is projected to grow through 2018, predicting a sunny future for those interested in a career in meteorology.
Careers in Focus
Biology is the study of how living things function, how they relate to one another, and how they evolved. Because living things vary greatly in how they live and how they developed, the field of biology is broken into many distinct specialty areas, including microbiology, plant and animal physiology, ecology, epidemiology, cell biology, and marine biology. Biologists play an important role in research to fight diseases and develop life-improving technologies.
Careers in Gaming by
Careers in video gaming are some of the most creative and challenging technical careers in the United States today. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at video gaming jobs ranging from animators to programmers to game developers.
Careers in Internet Technology by
The burgeoning use of smartphones to access the Internet is driving Internet careers as never before. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at Internet technology jobs ranging from search engine optimization experts to cybersecurity analysts to mobile app developers.
Careers in Meteorology by
Interest in weather and extraordinary weather events--as evidenced by the growth industry of weather-as-entertainment television programming and amateur storm chasing--is growing. Interest in the atmospheric sciences, especially meteorology, and especially among young people who have the most at stake in our rapidly shifting atmospheric future, is at an all-time high. This book reveals the surprising array of career paths open to those students who are interested in meteorology and the even more diverse range of employers--from the local TV or radio station to government agencies like NASA and NOAA, from professional sports leagues to airline companies, from the military to private industries, such as insurance, utilities, and fisheries. The high school and post-secondary educational requirements as well as typical career paths and avenues to advancement are all outlined. This comprehensive, all-inclusive, one-stop guide to the field will set weather watchers on the path to an enriching and rewarding career in meteorology.
Careers in Robotics by
Robots are the future and employers need skilled workers who can build, operate, repair, and program these high-tech machines. Comments from people in the industry, current statistics and forecasts, and realistic descriptions provide a useful look at robotics jobs ranging from engineers to technicians to research scientists.
Cutting Edge Careers in Robotics by
Due to advances in artificial intelligence and machine learning, job postings for robotics technicians, scientists, and engineers are surging with double- and triple-digit increases every year. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Cutting Edge Careers in Science by
The careers covered in this informative book include those of climate scientist, astronomer, geneticist, biochemist, food scientist, cartographer, and others. What the jobs entail, what they pay, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Cyberspies by
The news is filled with stories of data breaches at companies and of threats to national security as hackers interfere with elections. It's more important than ever for internet users to know how to maintain their privacy online. The digital world has become inescapable, and to be a responsible digital citizen, it is necessary to be aware of the threats to your online privacy and security. This book looks at the legal and illegal forms of cyberspying, goes behind the scenes to explore career paths in cyberintelligence, and looks at the digital threats of cyber propaganda, fake news, cyberterrorism, and threats to the US government and individuals. Readers will learn tools to keep themselves safe and protect their privacy, as well as tips for what to do if they are attacked online, and a final chapter looks at how digitally savvy teens can prepare for a career in cyberintelligence.
Deep-Sea Exploration: Science, Technology, Engineering (Calling All Innovators: a Career for You) (Library Edition) by
The darkest, deepest reaches of the oceans are home to some of the only places on Earth that remain unexplored by humans.Calling All Innovators series introduces students to careers in science and technology. The complex text allows readers (Grades 5-8) to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. Readers will find out how researchers and engineers are working to map out these mysterious depths. They will also learn how humans first began exploring the planet's oceans and how sea exploration has changed over time.
Drones by
Discover how today's pilots can remotely operate the latest aircraft from the surface. Calling All Innovators series introduces students to careers in science and technology. The complex text allows readers (Grades 5-8) to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. Operating aircraft once required pilots to take to the skies in the cockpits of airplanes, helicopters, and other large vehicles. However, this has all changed with the latest improvements in drone technology. Readers will learn how drones can be used to visit places no other aircraft could reach, why drones are so important to modern military operations, and why these unmanned aircraft are so controversial.
Getting Paid to Make Games and Apps by
For a technophile, it's not a big leap to want to create something new. This title offers readers from grades seven through twelve the chance to discover career options in game and app development and the education that will qualify them for those options. Apart from figuring out the creative side, the reader will also discover what is necessary to break into an extremely competitive market as a professional. Readers will experience engaging sidebars that introduce successful young developers and their creations, and various types of references throughout will allow the reader to take in the whole world of development.
Powering up a Career in Software Development and Programming by
Software developers and programmers are vital players in the realm of computers and information technology, building the programs and systems that drive much of what people do in today's tech-intensive world. Whatever their role and work environment, software technologists are engaged in highly rewarding work in terms of both income and contributions to society. This guide introduces readers to some of the fascinating opportunities available in this cutting-edge field, outlining the skills and training necessary to become a top-notch software developer or programmer.
Race Cars: Science, Technology, Engineering (Calling All Innovators: a Career for You) (Library Edition) by
Find out what it takes to be a race car driver.Ever since the first automobiles were invented, people have been competing to see who could drive the fastest. Readers will explore the origins of auto racing and follow the sport's history to see how it has grown to become one of the world's most popular and exciting past times. They will also learn how teams of mechanics, technicians, and engineers design and build some of the fastest cars on Earth. The complex text in this title allows readers to determine the main idea and explain how it is supported by key details. The diagrams, charts, and graphs add clarity and help students navigate the text.
Software Engineer by
As the Digital Age continues to flourish, electronic devices¿found in everything from refrigerators to wristwatches¿are a constant, if not unavoidable, part of everyday life. None of these devices can work without software, and therefore, without the help of software engineering professionals. As the demand for computing devices continues to grow, so too does the demand for software engineers. What the job entails, what it pays, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.