Life Skills Guide - Adolescence and Youth 10 - 24 Years

Includes helpful tips for life skills that are important for adolescents' and young adults' development.

From We are Teachers, this site encourages parents/guardians/caregivers to help teens build life skills while their teens are still at home.

From the World Health Organization (WHO), this site includes information about that phase of life between childhood and adulthood: adolescence. It includes fact sheets, questions and answers, databases and tools, as well as technical work.

LifeSkills Training (LST) is a classroom-based universal prevention program designed to prevent adolescent tobacco, alcohol, marijuana use, and violence. LST contains 30 sessions to be taught over three years. Three major program components teach students: (1) personal self-management skills, (2) social skills, and (3) information and resistance skills specifically related to drug use. Skills are taught using instruction, demonstration, feedback, reinforcement, and practice. Blueprints serves as a resource for governmental agencies, schools, foundations, and community organizations trying to make informed decisions about their investments in social and crime prevention interventions. The ultimate goal of the Blueprints initiative is to reduce antisocial behavior and promote a healthy course of youth development and adult maturity.

From Act for Youth, these resources are intended to help program leaders work with youth in building life skills. Look for related resources in Supporting Healthy Development. Youth who are prepared for adulthood are comfortable demonstrating fundamental life skills such as communication, conflict resolution, cultural competence, and the ability to cope. Youth programs can help young people develop self-efficacy — a belief in their own capacity to succeed — by providing opportunities to learn and practice these skills in real-life settings.

Casey Life Skills (CLS) is a set of free tools that assess the independent skills youth need to achieve their long-term goals. It aims to guide youth toward developing healthy, productive lives. Some of the functional areas that CLS assesses include:

Daily living and self-care activities
Maintaining healthy relationships
Work and study habits
Using community resources
Money management
Computer literacy and online safety
Civic engagement
Navigating the child welfare system

Their goal is to make the digital world better for kids and families. Includes thoughtful sites to give kids and teens a forum where they can ask honest questions and get candid responses about their physical and mental health. Interactive ways for kids to understand their health needs is also addressed via Best Health Apps and Games for Kids.

Basic life skills gives you the tools you need to navigate life's challenges. No matter your age or life stage, you can always add new skills to your toolbox and improve the ones you already have. The more you know, the more resilient you can be to life’s surprises.

From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), this site includes ontent related to the life skills needed for adaptive and positive behavior that enable individuals to deal with the demands of everyday life, such as communication, decision-making, and goal-setting.

Everything for kids, teens, & families in St. Louis & the surrounding communities. Includes lists of camps, activities, museums, special needs resources, seasonal events, free holiday events, and much more.

From Embark Behavioral Health, this site includes resources for teens and young adults that can help them take better care of themselves and make them more resilient, capable of handling mental and emotional stress.

An award-wining K-12 life skills curriculum available for free to educators worldwide. It includes a Digital Library where you can view, download, and customize all their K-12 resources including curricula, student surveys, training guides, translations, and more. No registration or any personal information required.

A resource for educators to find standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more. Resources cover a variety of subjects and are for kindergarten through 12th grade students.

Includes a Checklist for ages 2-18. The life skills are mostly practical skills that children need to learn to function in life: to take care of themselves, acquire independence, and contribute to their families and society.

Random House has assembled helpful free resources for teaching remotely and homeschooling, including discussion guides, activities, and more. Visit their blog post and click the links for Elementary Resources, Middle-school Resources, and High-school resources.

Random House has assembled helpful free resources for teaching remotely and homeschooling, including discussion guides, activities, and more. Visit their blog post and click the links for Elementary Resources, Middle-school Resources, and High-school resources.

From Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), this paper paper focuses on the importance of life skills education and the benefits of imparting life skill education
in school curriculum i.e. developing emotional, social and analytical skills in students, as they are the important building blocks for a dynamic citizenry who can cope with future challenges.

From Ohio State University Extension (OSUE), the Family and Consumer Sciences Educators have created a “how to” video series, Tips for Teens. Each video offers information about life skills from basic car maintenance, doing laundry, cleaning a bathroom, folding a fitted bed sheet to making healthy shakes and snacks. The new weekly series, Tips for Teens, is designed to help teens develop some awareness, knowledge, aspirations and skills about life readiness.Tips for Teens is a great way to learn how to do a task, and each video takes less than five minutes. The videos get teens focused on what matters: Gaining confidence!

A list of the best K-12 educational videos freely available on the internet. Created and maintained by educators who can store, categorize, and rate the videos. Includes Internet Safety for Kids.

A free collection of the best online learning experiences for kids curated by the editors at Common Sense. Resources for students in Pre-K through 12th grade. Includes Internet safety tips.

Youth In Need has been serving the greater St. Louis area since 1974. It is nationally accredited by the Council on Accreditation, a recipient of the Better Business and has been named a St. Louis Post-Dispatch Top Workplace for seven straight years.
It offers more than 50 direct service and support programs to children, teens and families. Youth In Need provides residential homes, foster care case management, homeless outreach, counseling and support groups, education and infant, child and family development to more than 10,000 children, teens and families at nearly 100 sites, spanning 100-miles, in six counties in eastern Missouri. The agency is one of few programs in the nation that offers a continuum of care for children from birth to adulthood.