ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help children ages 2-8+ build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse is 100% educational and fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities (books, puzzles, educational games, science and math videos, art activities, songs, and more) across all major subject areas (Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music)—including more than 2,000 STEM learning activities and 1,200 learning activities in Spanish. Home access includes the Assessment Center which creates customized lessons that are targeted to help a child improve in specific skill areas identified by the assessments.
To use ABCmouse from home, choose Missouri as your state, then St. Louis County Library as your library. Then enter your library card number and PIN. The first time you visit, you will need to provide an email address and create a password.
Full text coverage of scholarly journals in the areas of social science, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world's leading news agency.
BiblioBoard lets you create eBooks and print-ready books, share eBooks with the Indie Author Project, and read eBooks by local St. Louis and Missouri authors.
Book Connections strives to joyfully enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books. It empowers all readers to find great books to read, connect deeply with books and gain insights from authors and illustrators, engage with a diverse collection from other cultures and perspectives, and cultivate a lifelong love of reading. Educators and students can find homework help, homeschool support, lesson plans, discussion guides, and more.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
JobNow provides support for individuals on the job market. Connect with live career coaches to receive one-on-one assistance through every step of the job search, including resume help and practice interviews. Career coaches are available daily between 2PM and 11PM. Optimal Resume is also provided within JobNow.
VetNow offers support for veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and employment transition assistance. Work with live, online navigators who are veterans ready to help their peers. Find job tools designed to help veterans at all stages of the job-hunting process. Build academic skills for college and beyond with live tutoring, practice tests, writing review, language learning, and more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a freely available Web database made up of education-related reports and journal articles published from 1966 to the present. Free and accessible anywhere.
Find more than 2100 full text scholarly journals and over 1700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Collection provides focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality educational journals. Provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and link to sites valuable for teachers.
Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for general research in a public library. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.
From Rosen Digital, the Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro- and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams. Beneficial for grades 7-12 as well as adults.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
Explore our collection of how-to video tutorials that will help you learn how to use the Library's research databases, eMedia like Overdrive and Hoopla, and even social media like Facebook and Pinterest.
Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills
Thousands of searchable and printable educational materials for Pre-K through 8th grade, including skills and activity sheets, mini-books and lesson plans by topics.
