Learning Differences Guide

The ABLE National Resource Center (ABLE NRC) provides all the ABLE information you need in one place. Their mission is to educate, promote and support the positive impact ABLE accounts can make on the lives of millions of Americans with disabilities and their families. We want to drive action to help people open and manage ABLE accounts as a tool to secure their financial future. 

The mission of the Campaign for Grade-Level Reading (CGLR) "is to disrupt the generational cycle of poverty by improving the prospects for early school success for children growing up in economically challenged, fragile and otherwise marginalized families."

Provides a library of free online textbooks, videos, exercises, flashcards, and real world applications for over 5000 concepts from arithmetic to photography. Good for elementary through high school.

Find media literacy lesson plans/activities, and reviews of teacher resources.

College-level courses from major universities around the world across a variety of subjects.

If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.

As a caregiver of someone with a disability, planning for a secure financial future can be an challenging process. Easterseals hosts a financial summit to address how to successfully plan for your loved one's financial future, including topics like ABLE accounts, Special Needs Trusts, and more. Walk away with valuable insight to help your family effectively manage your finances and secure a bright financial future. At Easterseals, they're leading the way through five life-changing programs: Autism, Employment, Early Childhood - Home Visiting, Community Living, and Health Home. Their services are designed to support people with disabilities and their families no matter what stage of life they are in - from therapies and assessments for children to career and social skills training for teens and young adults to independent living and health support for adults.

Lesson plans, student activities, and teacher guides for students in kindergarten through 12th grade from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Create or play existing Jeopardy boards on a variety of educational topics.

Informative articles, videos, and podcasts on a variety of subjects ranging from science to culture.

Everything for kids, teens, & families in St. Louis & the surrounding communities. Includes lists of camps, activities, museums, special needs resources, seasonal events, free holiday events, and much more.

A unit of study within the "Neuroscience & the Classroom: Making Connections" series - Different Learners, Different Minds highlights success stories and many resources. Multimedia resources for classroom instruction and teacher professional development. Materials cover all subjects for kindergarten through 12th grade.

What is a learning disability?

Learning disabilities (LDs) affect how your brain processes information. This could include how you:

Acquire (take in) information.
Organize information.
Retain information.
Understand information.
Use information.

LDA’s mission is to create opportunities for success for all individuals affected by learning disabilities through support, education, and advocacy.

A free statewide resource center "staffed by experts with lived experience that provide tools, resources, training, and peer support to people with disabilities, their families and supporters."

Access free resources for literacy, early childhood, English learners, K-12 reading, and more from the National Center for Families Learning. For over 30 years, NCFL has worked to eradicate poverty through education solutions for families.

The National Center on Improving Literacy is a partnership among literacy experts, university researchers, and technical assistance providers, with funding from the United States Department of Education. Includes resources for improving outcomes for students with literacy-related disabilities, including dyslexia.

The National Institute for Learning Development (NILD) is designed to help learners with a variety of learning differences, including:

ADHD - Neurodevelopmental disorder impacting focus, impulsivity, and hyperactivity.

Autism - Condition affecting communication and social interaction behaviors.

Dyscalculia - Learning disability causing difficulty in understanding and using numbers.

Dysgraphia - Neurological disorder causing difficulty in writing coherently and accurately.

Dyslexia - Learning disorder characterized by difficulties with reading and spelling.

Executive Function Disorder - A behavioral symptom that disrupts a person's ability to manage their own thoughts, emotions and actions.

Nine has focused our efforts on ensuring the more than half a million children in our area who are out of school have the resources they need. In response, Nine created the Nine PBS Educator and Caregiver Toolkit, a collection of free, readily available trusted resources for our region’s educators, caregivers, and parents.

Offers information, activities, and tips for parents of children ages 2-8.

A resource for educators to find standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more. Resources cover a variety of subjects and are for kindergarten through 12th grade students.

Interactive and customizable study tools for students, including flashcards, interactive games, and quizzes.

Video lessons across a variety of topics for elementary, middle, and high school, as well as university.

TED Talks are dedicated to researching and sharing knowledge that matters through presentations and short talks. Their goal is to inform and educate global audiences in an accessible way. Includes many videos about communication.

A list of the best K-12 educational videos freely available on the internet. Created and maintained by educators who can store, categorize, and rate the videos. Includes Internet Safety for Kids.

A free collection of the best online learning experiences for kids curated by the editors at Common Sense. Resources for students in Pre-K through 12th grade. Includes Internet safety tips.