Careers - U.S. Military Service

Provides access to Federal agency Websites based on agency entries in the U.S. Government Manual.

Educational content on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history with a focus on civics.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.

Provides access to the official compilation of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Official Congressional Directory containing biographical information on members of Congress (2007-to the present) along with office listings and standing committees.

Access to the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.

Legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law.

The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law.

Consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (1992-present) which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

A collection of resources for educators to support youth to explore, recognize, and take seriously the civic potentials of digital life. Intended for grades 7-12.

Provides economic information (1995 to the present) on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, federal finance, and international statistics.

Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It provides overviews of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

Access demographic, economic and population data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Explore census data with visualizations and tutorials.

Provides news, contacts, information, and communication for and about the Federal Depository Library Program.

Allows for searching of the Federal Register which is the official publication for Notices, Rules, and Proposed Rules from Federal Agencies and Organizations as well as Presidential Documents and Executive Orders.

Govinfo is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO) and it provides free, public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.

Access the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL), a database of over 50,00 non-classified presidential directives, policy and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources related to Homeland Security. [Naval Postgraduate School]

Site provides full-text opinions and not full text of opinions of the court issued since May of 1990 and has an archive of historic Supreme Court Decisions. It is indexed by topic and party name. [From Cornell University]

The National Military Family Association (NMFA) has again partnered with Bloom: Empowering the Military Teen to better understand the experience of America’s military teens. In 2021, they fielded their first Military Teen Experience Survey, and over 2,000 military-connected kids ages 13-19 gave them a snapshot of their lives. They shared information about moves, deployments, and transferring schools. They told them how hard it was to feel connected after a move, how they’d lost credits in school, struggled to get into the right classes, and were unable to enroll in the extracurriculars they love. Using the Short-version Warwick Edinburgh Mental Well-Being Scale (SWEMWBS), a validated instrument, to measure their well- being, they learned that they needed to do a better job paying attention to children’s mental health. And they took them by surprise when, despite all the things that make military life difficult, over half declared their own intent to serve in the future. "Military life is hard – but it is also good."

Provides census data including population, housing, agriculture and economic data for each of the states, counties, tracts and blocks from 1790-2010.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.

A searchable database of the laws enacted by the 104th, 105th, 106th, 107th and 108th Congresses.

Access to Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks.

Searches for U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1893. Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number. Also searchable by citation, case title, and full text.

Includes information about joining the military, contact information, resources for parents, and much more.

This site includes facts and figures regarding the U.S. Army Recruiting Command's recruitment efforts, such as:
Labor market: Most challenging labor market since the inception of the all-volunteer force
Awareness: 50% of youth admit they know little to nothing about military service
Qualified youth: 71% of youth do not qualify for military service because of obesity, drugs, physical and mental health problems, misconduct, and aptitude
Family business: 79% of recruits have a relative who served
Disconnect with society: Only 1% of the population currently serves; veteran population is declining.

Provides access to the official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. (vol. 502-Vol. 582)

Search for U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760. Supreme Court opinions are browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number.

Access to the official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.

Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Contains the permanent collection of laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress from 1951-2016.

Every branch of the military sets its own standards for enlisting. Learn about the specific requirements for each, including the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB).

Why don’t young Americans want to join? Military recruitment is down. A declining number of Americans are eligible to join the Army, Navy, or Air Force. An even smaller pool want to at present.