The St. Louis County Library offers access to many education-related databases. Below you will find databases that offer online courses and test prep as well as access to live tutoring.
ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help children ages 2-8+ build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse is 100% educational and fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities (books, puzzles, educational games, science and math videos, art activities, songs, and more) across all major subject areas (Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Art, and Music)—including more than 2,000 STEM learning activities and 1,200 learning activities in Spanish. Home access includes the Assessment Center which creates customized lessons that are targeted to help a child improve in specific skill areas identified by the assessments.
To use ABCmouse from home, choose Missouri as your state, then St. Louis County Library as your library. Then enter your library card number and PIN. The first time you visit, you will need to provide an email address and create a password.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
LOTE (Languages Other Than English) Online for Kids is an online database of digital picture books which provides UNLIMITED access to over 1600+ book titles in 50+ World Languages together with English translations.
HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online homework help in a variety of subjects, including writing, FAFSA, and language learning. Videos, flashcards, study tools, test prep, and other resources are available 24 hours a day.
From Rosen Digital, Digital Literacy empowers learners in grade levels 7-12 with digital citizenship skills to navigate today’s digital landscape. Interactive activities guide students through project-based learning activities using digital tools to create podcasts, PSAs, multimedia presentations, digital business plans, social media campaigns and more. Database articles explore cyber bullying, digital research skills, citizen journalism and more.
From Rosen Digital, the Financial Literacy database makes economics and personal finance easy to understand and highly engaging. Articles explore macro-, micro- and global economics as well as personal and household finance. Users will learn to manage credit and debt, save and invest with confidence, plan for college and retirement and avoid fraud and scams. Beneficial for grades 7-12 as well as adults.
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Although LinkedIn Learning is often associated with professional development for adults, the database contains many courses suitable for high school students. Students can learn skills related to photography, graphic design, music and video production, programming, website development, and more!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
SkillMill by Interplay Learning offers skilled trades training courses online on HVAC, solar, plumbing, electrical and more. Develop skills at your own pace through expert-led video lessons and digital training simulations. Registration is required.
Transparent Language Online is a language-learning online resource that builds listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills with unlimited access to more than 120 languages, including ESL for speakers of over 26 languages, and 12+ Native American languages. Pronunciation practices, speech analysis, grammar, writing activities, and vocabulary-building activities are also available.
Treehouse is an online learning platform that teaches coding and web development skills, such as HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP.
Complete the registration form to access Treehouse. Once your request is processed, Treehouse will send you an email confirming your account. Please be patient as account creation may take a few days. Library account holders may only have ONE account with Treehouse.
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.
