Online Education for preK-12 Learners: Databases

Full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.

Designed specifically for elementary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overview that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.

Access a rich archive of information about the history of Missouri and local communities. Included are educational resources like classroom curricula accessible through this website.

Read full issues of National Geographic Kids online going back to 2009. Click Explore Topics for simple, kid-friendly browsing to learn more about the world around us.

Covers the people and events in African American history from the 1400's to the present.

With A to Z Maps Online, you have approximately 145,000 maps at your fingertips. This combination of proprietary maps and maps from other reputable sources gives you a “one-stop shop” for content that can be downloaded and used without any copyright restrictions. Categories include world maps, continent maps, country maps, state maps, antique and historical maps, and topographic maps. Educators can also find geography quiz games and lesson plans.

Explore the country as a whole, or research a specific state or one of five US territories using A to Z the USA. Find in-depth state and territory information including official state animals and plants, historical timelines, modern and antique maps, demographics, government and more.

Covers more than 15,000 years of American Indian history and culture. More than 600 Native American groups represented.

From Gale, this resource offers access to primary sources and materials relating to LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Find materials from hundreds of institutions and organizations dating as far back as the 1500s, as well as an unparalleled collection of newsletters, newspapers and periodicals by, for, and about the LGBTQ community.

This database contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom in the United States.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles*, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time.

Designed specifically for general research in a public library. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.

Designed specifically for middle school and high school students according to their needs and search abilities. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.

A collection of databases designed to help high school students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.

A collection of databases designed to help high school students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.

Comprehensive general interest resource providing periodical and news information. Also includes Fodor travel guides, NPR programs, and more than 20 reference sets on a wide range of topics.

Features digitized southern plantation records from 1775-1915, documenting the far-reaching impacts of plantations on the nation. Plantation records include both business records and personal papers drawn from archives across the American South. Also has a timeline feature, highlighting key events in the 1800s with quick links to documents relating to those events

Provides full text access to periodicals covering a variety of topics. Includes content taken from reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over a 100,000 photos, maps, and flags.

Full-text database for popular high school magazines covering a wide range of subject areas including history, science, careers and more.

Full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports. Includes biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags.

Access a rich archive of information about the history of Missouri and local communities. Included are educational resources like classroom curricula accessible through this website.

Read full issues National Geographic online going back to 1995. In addition to reading entire issues, you can also search for images and make charts showing the frequency of terms over time.

News for You provides adult ESL students and struggling readers with news and human interest stories that are easy to read and understand. These engaging, timely stories will help students build language, reading comprehension, vocabulary, writing, listening and speaking skills.

Information from many sources on popular research topics for students.

Read It! is designed for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. It offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. You can also find every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, and many modern histories of slavery. For remote access, enter St. Louis County Library as your institution's name.

Covers people and events of historical significance in American history from Pre-Columbian America forward. Content includes primary source materials.

From Gale, access primary sources that trace the path of women's issues from past to present. Discover manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals and more that demonstrate the foundation of women's struggles and triumphs. With over one million never-before-digitized pages, you can take a deep dive into pioneers of women's movements and the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.

Collection of primary sources, reference works, and scholarly journals providing materials for the study of World History.

Covers people in the news and a full range of history-makers featuring biographical profiles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches or obituaries.

Spanish language version of World Book's Student Discovery Encyclopedia.

Indexes over 25,000 full-text encyclopedic records covering an array of subject areas.

Contains full-text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books, videos, animations and lesson plans.

Online access to Magill’s Medical Guide, Salem Health: Cancer, and Salem Health: Psychology and Mental Health.

Online access to Magill's Literary Annuals.

Online access to Great Athletes, Decades: 1960s in America, Great Events: Ancient World, and Great Lives: Ancient World.

Online access to The Solar System.

World Book Advanced, designed to support personalized learning, is an excellent resource for high school and college students as well as life-long learners. In addition to trusted encyclopedia articles from World Book, you can also find over 600 global newspapers and government websites from around the world. For educators, you can also access primary sources with advanced lesson plans and assessments for the classroom.

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

Access the classic World Book encyclopedia online for easy searching and learning.

Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center. Create an account to save your research to convenient folders.

Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures using hundreds of interactive timeliness. Create an account to build and save your own timelines.