LibGuides: Reentry Resources in St. Louis: Library Databases

Introduction

The library has various databases that can help you write a resume, prepare for an interview, search for jobs, learn a new skill, and more! All of these databases are free to access with your library card.

Small Business Resources

We have databases to help you start and grow a business, and we provide free training to help individuals or groups learn to use these databases. Use this Book a Librarian form to request training on any database or business topic of interest.

Our databases can help you

Access legal forms
Analyze competitors
Create mailing lists
Determine potential
Discover market demand and size
Explore grants
Find potential clients
Learn to run a business
Locate a business
Write a business plan
Local organizations supporting startups

Databases for Job Hunting

Brainfuse JobNow
JobNow provides support for individuals on the job market. Connect with live career coaches to receive one-on-one assistance through every step of the job search, including resume help and practice interviews. Career coaches are available daily between 2PM and 11PM. Optimal Resume is also provided within JobNow.
LearningExpress Library
Provides access to practice tests and online mini-courses to help students, recent immigrants, and job seekers. Available practice tests include the S.A.T., A.C.T., Advanced Placement, G.R.E., Civil Service, Citizenship Exam, TOEFL, and many more.

Databases for Learning & Training

SkillMill
SkillMill by Interplay Learning offers skilled trades training courses online on HVAC, solar, plumbing, electrical and more. Develop skills at your own pace through expert-led video lessons and digital training simulations. Registration is required.
LinkedIn Learning
Previously known as Lynda.com, LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages to help you learn about leadership, career searching, software, marketing, and many other skills essential to the job market. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. With the new upgrade, you also have access to the LinkedIn Learning app!
Please use your library barcode and pin to log into the upgraded LinkedIn Learning. If using the app, the library code is slcl.
Udemy
Offers thousands of on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors across 75 categories for upskilling in the areas of business, technology, and design, as well as courses on health and well-being, the arts and language learning. Courses are replaced monthly with new material addressing emerging topics. On-demand videos in eight different languages taught by native-speaking instructors are also included.
You must be 13 years or older and have your parent or guardian create your account if you are below 18.