Skip to Main Content

Reentry Resources in St. Louis

Introduction

This section contains a list of local organizations that provide basic needs and services, such as clothes, diapers, and household items.

Basic Needs

First Services at Criminal Justice Ministry

Location:

1104 Jefferson Ave
St. Louis, MO 63104

The CJM office is located close to 11 (Chippewa) and 31 (Chouteau) bus stops.

Contact Information:

(314) 652-8062
info@cjmstlouis.org

The Criminal Justice Ministry FIRST Services department provides formerly incarcerated people with immediate needs, including bus passes, emergency medicine, clothing and hygiene items, and referrals to services (e.g. employment agencies, food pantries, and legal assistance). Criminal Justice Ministry also offers $600 rental assistance for people with sex offenses and $200 for others. You need to be referred by a parole officer or Social Service Provider and fill out an online form to make an appointment. If you are not on parole, you can still make an appointment. In order to receive a bus pass, you’ll need to provide a resume. If you don’t have a resume but need a bus pass, FIRST services staff will help create a resume. In order to receive rental assistance, you will need to provide a copy of your lease and a paycheck. 

St. Louis Diaper Bank

The St. Louis Diaper Bank partners with St. Louis area organizations to distribute free diapers, including the St. Louis County Library! Find out more about our diaper distribution program under the "Library Services" section of this guide. The St. Louis Diaper Bank's website offers a digital map and downloadable list to help you locate these distributors. Visit www.stldiaperbank.org/get-diapers to locate organizations where you can access diapers. If you need free diapers today, click “Download Our List of Emergency Partners” or look at the places on their interactive map labelled with a red circle. Click the purple dots to identify resources which can work with you to form longer-term plans for diaper access and other childcare services.

St. Vincent DePaul

The Society of St Vincent DePaul (SVDP), a Catholic organization, provides assistance with utility payment (electric, gas, heating fuel, and water), food, prescription drugs, and basic needs, including clothing and household items. In order to qualify for these services, you must reside within the boundaries of a specific parish. Not every parish provides every program, so be sure to call your local parish to find out.

  • The utility payment program, which includes electric, gas, heating fuel, and water, provides partial payment of bills to avoid utility cut-offs.
  • The clothing and household goods program provides vouchers to the St. Vincent DePaul thrift stores so individuals can get free clothing and household items if they are unable to afford their own.
  • The prescription drug program provides 90- to 180-day prescriptions for low-income individuals with written prescriptions by a physician, clinic, or hospital.

Eligibility Requirements

  • For clothing or household item voucher (to use at a SVDP thrift store), you must provide proof of income.
  • For utility assistance, you must provide proof of income, a Photo ID, and a utility cut-off notice.
  • For prescription drug assistance, you must provide a Photo ID and Social Security Card.
  • You must live within parish boundaries to receive services.

How to Apply: Call the specific parish to schedule an appointment. If you don’t know what parish you live in, look on the SVDP website here. Not every parish provides every service. 

The Center for Women in Transition

The Center for Women in Transition partners with women in the criminal justice system to support their successful transition to their families and to the St. Louis community through the Center’s reentry program, and also works to reduce recidivism and strengthen community. They provide transitional housing (discussed in the Housing section), behavioral health, case management, mentorship, employment, court advocacy, life skills, and peer support for formerly incarcerated women.

Location:

7716 S. Broadway
St. Louis, MO 6311

The Center for Women in Transition is located nearest to 8 (Gravois-Lindell) and 73 (Carondelet) bus stops. Broadway @ Primm is located across from the building.

Contact Information:

(314) 771-5207
cwit@cwitstl.org

How to Apply:
To apply for services, visit www.cwitstl.org/supportivehousing.html to download the program application located at the bottom of the webpage. You can also call or email to learn more about the organization.