Do you love clothes? Maybe you are considering a career in hairstyling. Perhaps you are branching out into looks beyond society's expectations. Explore reference resources related to fashion, makeup, hairstyles, and skin care.
With Craft & Hobby, enjoy unlimited access to 4,000+ hours of crafting and hobby content in 20 different creative disciplines. Explore hundreds of sewing videos to learn to create your own clothing and accessories. Available in both English and Spanish.
Creativebug gives you access to over 1,000 art and craft video classes for adults and kids, taught by recognized design experts and artists. Topics include jewelry making, sewing, nail art, crafting accessories, homemade beauty products, and more. Create your free account and enjoy unlimited access to instructional videos, patterns, and access to exclusive documentaries and live video feeds on Creativebug Television (CBTV).
With EBSCO eBooks, search the full text of over 4,200 fiction and nonfiction ebook titles. This database includes a variety of books on fashion history, the fashion industry, makeup techniques, skin care, and hairstyles. Read the books on your computer, or download the app to your phone or tablet.
Download the app or open Flipster on your computer to access over several popular magazines including Essence.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including a book on fashion found in the Arts section. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Hoopla is a web and mobile library media streaming platform for audio books, comics, e-books, movies, music, and TV. Enjoy many different books and a few movies about fashion, makeup, and hairstyles. Hoopla is only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.
With Kanopy, browse hundreds of movies on your computer or mobile device. Kanopy has a strong collection of independent, international, and documentaries to stream. Choose from a large selection of movies about fashion history, the fashion industry, hairstyles, and beauty ideals. Only available to residents of St. Louis County. Limit of 10 titles per month.
Libby is an innovative mobile app from OverDrive designed to make borrowing and enjoying e-books, magazines, and audiobooks from the library easier than ever. Explore the extensive collection of fashion and beauty magazines like Elle, Vogue, and Harper's Bizarre.
LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of online courses and tutorials in seven different languages. Many of the courses are business related, but there are also a number of courses on fashion design and basic makeup and hairstying techniques. These self-paced courses include videos that vary from a few minutes long to multi-hour courses with downloadable exercise files. You can use LinkedIn Learning on your computer, or download the app to your phone or tablet.