Deciding what to do after high school can be overwhelming and confusing. Do you go to college? Start in the trades? Join the military? Go right to work? Explore the resources below to help you on your career path.
Brainfuse HelpNow offers free, online homework help for K-12 and adult learners. Use the eParachute option to see what kinds of college majors and careers match your skills and interests. You can also connect with a live tutor daily between 2PM and 11PM to receive online help with the FAFSA.
With EBSCO eBooks, search the full text of over 4,200 fiction and nonfiction ebook titles. This database includes a variety of books on career planning, college hunting, and AP test study guides. Read the books on your computer, or download the app to your phone or tablet.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Select the Education category to access a large of books about career paths, test prep, finding scholarships, choosing a college, and selecting a major.
LearningExpress Library has all kinds of higher education and career resources. Prepare for the ACT, SAT, AP tests, TOEFL, IELTS, college placement tests, and several trade exams with LearningExpress Library. You can also take quizzes to see what kinds of careers might be a good fit, or search for colleges and scholarships. Plus, this database also helps you prepare for AWS certification in many areas.
Libby is an innovative mobile app from OverDrive designed to make borrowing and enjoying e-books, magazines, and audiobooks from the library easier than ever. Find all kinds of books related to college preparation and planning.
Use Peterson's Test and Career Prep to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships, and access online practice tests and eBooks for exam preparation. This resource also provides career tools, resume builders, and study guides for exams like SAT, ACT, GRE, NCLEX, and more.
Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular and self-help support. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying and LGBTQ+ issues. It has recently been updated to meet the needs of today’s teens and with new content on bullying, suicide, vaping, opioid abuse, gender identity, school safety, sexual harassment, COVID-19 and more. Grade level 7-12. Select the "Skills for School, Work, and Life" category to access information about joining the military or preparing for college.
Find more resources for going into the trades in this Trades for Teens LibGuide.