Media Literacy (Education Outreach): Teacher Resources

This affordable textbook is designed for CIS 120, Digital Literacy, at Chemeket Community College. It is still under development and not yet available for use in other digital literacy classes.

Media literacy is about wonder and imagination, questioning and learning, thinking and reflecting! Media Literacy for Young Children: Teaching Beyond the Screen Time Debates is about all these things, and more importantly, it is about how early childhood educators and professionals can prepare children for their digital future. This book is a first-of-its-kind guide for pre-service and currently practicing teachers and child care professionals looking for pedagogically sound and developmentally appropriate ways to help today's children navigate their media-rich world with confidence, curiosity, and critical thinking. Detailed descriptions of media literacy competencies, along with dozens of activities, strategies, and tips designed for children ages 2-7, demonstrate how to integrate foundational skills, knowledge, and dispositions into existing routines as well as experiment with new lessons.  By examining media through a literacy lens, this book will show you ways to: Use inquiry and media-making to teach children about media; Plan activities to engage children in meaningful media discussions; Engage with families about the importance of media literacy education for young children; Address media concerns with joy and creativity rather than anxiety or fear; and much more!

Misinformation and disinformation both describe misleading or false information--one is spread unintentionally and the other is shared on purpose. Censorship involves suppressing certain information. All three significantly impact how people interpret issues and events. This important title examines the different ways of, and reasons for, controlling information, and how to build information literacy. Free downloadable Teacher's Notes.

Edited by Tom Liam Lynch, this collection of essays drawn from NCTE's many journals provides an excellent starting point for teachers who want to bring critical media literacy into their K-12 and college classrooms. Critical media literacy is not a single star burning brightly in the night sky. It is more like a constellation, a collection of stars that tell a story about how educators engage with young people through an array of communicative modes in the spirit of inquiry, society, and action.  About the Special Issue series: Most teachers and students across the country are grappling with several important issues. We hear from many educators who are looking for compelling and engaging approaches racial literacy, critical media literacy, and trauma-informed teaching.  NCTE is responding to these needs with Special Issues, a series of books designed to directly address these pressing topics in K-12 and college classrooms today. The first volumes collect content on these topics from across all of NCTE's journals in one place, to make the most relevant material accessible and practical.  Edited by expert practitioners in the field, each volume contains teaching tips to help implement these approaches in classrooms. 

During a time of increased book banning and censoring, of scrutiny of the word critical, and even calls for surveillance of K-12 teachers, the burgeoning field of critical media literacy is more important than ever. These new challenges demonstrate the importance of teaching media literacy to address some of the most pressing needs of our youth. This second volume devoted to critical media literacy picks up where the first volume left off, as it continues the work of defining this important area of focus and looks for practical and innovative ways to bring these important topics into ELA classrooms. Editors William Kist and Mary T. Christel have curated and edited a wide range of original essays by leading educators in the field, focusing on pedagogical directions of critical media literacy, integrating it into reading, writing, and interdisciplinary instruction, and new ways of teaching about and with media.

This Minibook is the outcome of a co-creation project with teachers and students to develop media literacy resources for ICT, History, English and Geography in secondary schools. The book is accompanied by a digital resource, available online, where teaching and study materials and further reading are available. This Minibook integrates media literacy activities into a range of GCSE subjects, designed to complement and deepen subject learning, without distracting from the subjects. Case studies and pedagogic guidance are here combined with three core media literacy learning objectives:• Awareness - of representations, values and ideologies at work in media;• Assessment - of audiences, sources, accuracy and purpose;• Action - media agency, engagement and voice

Listen to a podcast with the author now! Talk of so-called fake news, what it is and what it isn't, is front and center across the media landscape, with new calls for the public to acquire appropriate research and evaluation skills and become more information savvy. But none of this is new for librarians and information professionals, particularly for those who teach information literacy. Cooke, a Library Journal Mover & Shaker, believes that the current situation represents a golden opportunity for librarians to impart these important skills to patrons, regardless of their age or experience. In this Special Report, she demonstrates how. Readers will learn more about the rise of fake news, particularly those information behaviors that have perpetuated its spread; discover techniques to identify fake news, especially online; and explore methods to help library patrons of all ages think critically about information, teaching them ways to separate fact from fiction. Information literacy is a key skill for all news consumers, and this Special Report shows how librarians can make a difference by helping patrons identify misinformation.

A timely guide aimed at teachers and students, featuring advice on how to promote the skills to access, understand, question, critically analyse and evaluate digital media. It is important that we understand the news media environment and our engagement with it, in all of its factual, social and ethical dimensions. How is fake news spread, and how can you detect it? What sources should you trust, and why?

A landmark insider's tour of how social media affects our decision-making and shapes our world in ways both useful and dangerous, with critical insights into the social media trends of the 2020 election and beyond  "The book might be described as prophetic. . . . At least two of Aral's three predictions have come to fruition."--New York NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY WIRED * LONGLISTED FOR THE PORCHLIGHT BUSINESS BOOK AWARD Social media connected the world--and gave rise to fake news and increasing polarization. It is paramount, MIT professor Sinan Aral says, that we recognize the outsize effect social media has on us--on our politics, our economy, and even our personal health--in order to steer today's social technology toward its great promise while avoiding the ways it can pull us apart. Drawing on decades of his own research and business experience, Aral goes under the hood of the most powerful social networks to tackle the critical question of just how much social media actually shapes our choices, for better or worse. He shows how the tech behind social media offers the same set of behavior influencing levers to everyone who hopes to change the way we think and act--from Russian hackers to brand marketers--which is why its consequences affect everything from elections to business, dating to health. Along the way, he covers a wide array of topics, including how network effects fuel Twitter's and Facebook's massive growth, the neuroscience of how social media affects our brains, the real consequences of fake news, the power of social ratings, and the impact of social media on our kids. In mapping out strategies for being more thoughtful consumers of social media, The Hype Machine offers the definitive guide to understanding and harnessing for good the technology that has redefined our world overnight.

"If I could pick one book to hand to every teen--and adult--on earth, this is the one. True or False is accessible, thorough, and searingly honest, and we desperately needed it." --Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda A former CIA analyst unveils the true history of fake news and gives readers tips on how to avoid falling victim to it in this highly designed informative YA nonfiction title. "Fake news" is a term you've probably heard a lot in the last few years, but it's not a new phenomenon. From the ancient Egyptians to the French Revolution to Jack the Ripper and the founding fathers, fake news has been around as long as human civilization. But that doesn't mean that we should just give up on the idea of finding the truth. In True or False, former CIA analyst Cindy Otis will take readers through the history and impact of misinformation over the centuries, sharing stories from the past and insights that readers today can gain from them. Then, she shares lessons learned in over a decade working for the CIA, including actionable tips on how to spot fake news, how to make sense of the information we receive each day, and, perhaps most importantly, how to understand and see past our own information biases, so that we can think critically about important issues and put events happening around us into context. True or False includes a wealth of photo illustrations, informative inserts, and sidebars containing interesting facts and trivia sure to engage readers in critical thinking and analysis. This title has common core connections.

Can teaching media literacy really change the world? Researchers predict that, in 2015, the average American will spend more than fifteen hours every day listening, reading, clicking, and viewing media. Without question, television, films, radio, and music, the Internet, social media, news programs, and books and magazines are part of our daily lives. And while some claim that all of this media consumption is detrimental to society, the truth is it doesn't have to be. Times have changed. Technology connects us today in new and exciting ways. We have more choices and more control than ever, regarding what and when we will watch, listen to, and read. And, as Julie Smith explains in Master the Media: How Teaching Media Literacy Can Save Our Plugged-in World, with that control comes a heightened level of responsibility to think critically about the content we consume. Written to help teachers and parents educate the next generation, Master the Media explains the history, purpose, and messages behind the media. The point isn't to get kids to unplug; it's to help them make informed choices, understand the difference between truth and lies, and discern perception from reality. Critical thinking leads to smarter decisions-and it's why media literacy can save the world.

This book provides a practical and theoretical look at how media education can make learning and teaching more meaningful and transformative. This second edition includes more resources, photographs, and updated information as well as two new chapters: one exploring the pedagogical potential for using photography in the classroom and the other documenting a successful university course on critical media literacy for new teachers. The book explores the theoretical underpinnings of critical media literacy and analyzes a case study involving an elementary school that received a federal grant to integrate media literacy and the arts into the curriculum. Combining cultural studies with critical pedagogy, critical media literacy aims to expand the notion of literacy to include different forms of mass communication, information communication technologies, and popular culture, as well as deepen the potential of education to critically analyze relationships between media and audiences, information, and power. This book is a valuable addition to any education course or teacher preparation program that wants to promote twenty-first century literacy skills, social justice, civic participation, media education, or critical uses of technology. Communications classes will also find it useful as it explores and applies key concepts of cultural studies and media education.

At a time when misinformation in the media is abundant, this book explains the difficulty in nurturing students to become critical researchers and offers practical lessons that empower students to excavate information that will help them learn. This guide to teaching news literacy explores a wealth of resources and classroom-tested lessons that educators in grades 7-12 can use in their own libraries and classrooms. To introduce the concept of news literacy, the authors explain the steps of the inquiry and research process in detail and examine the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) 2016 report "Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning" and related research studies. Lesson plans corresponding to each stage of the process are coordinated to relevant standards from the CCSS and ISTE and are accompanied by rubrics for providing students feedback on their progress as well as samples of student work as it evolved through the stages. Furthermore, the authors' anecdotal insights from their experiences in collaboratively implementing the lessons with colleagues are an invaluable addition for any librarian seeking to work with teachers to help students become critical researchers.