Media Literacy (Education Outreach): Generative AI

Unlock the full potential of artificial intelligence to revolutionize your classroom! In "AI for Educators," you'll discover a comprehensive guide to integrating AI into your teaching practice, enhancing student experiences, and transforming educational outcomes.This groundbreaking book dives deep into the world of AI in education, providing practical tools, real-life case studies, and insights into cutting-edge technologies. You'll explore AI-driven strategies to personalize instruction, streamline administrative tasks, and foster innovative and interactive learning experiences.From AI-assisted lesson planning and assessment analysis to virtual and augmented reality, you'll uncover the power of AI in shaping the future of education. As a bonus, we've included a sneak peek into Volume Two, which delves further into the world of AI in special education, preparing students for an AI-driven future, and much more.Whether you're a seasoned educator or new to the world of AI, this book will empower you to harness the transformative potential of artificial intelligence, equipping you and your students for success in the 21st-century classroom. Embrace the future of education today with "AI for Educators" and unlock the extraordinary potential of AI-driven teaching and learning!

Artificial intelligence may change the world more than the iPhone, the internet, or even electricity. It's bound to change education. (It already has.) But how? AI for Educators is a readable guide for educators.It translates AI through a teacher lens.It provides practical ideas you can use in class right away.It unlocks powerful ways to streamline teaching and save time. It also paints a picture of the future our students will face-and provides questions you can help them grapple with. We can use AI to empower teaching and learning. And it can start today.

Use AI to Learn, Think and Create Artificial intelligence is shaping our world in fascinating ways, from digital assistants to self-driving cars. But AI can seem complex and intimidating. This fun and engaging book unravels the mysteries of AI for pre-teens and teens ages 10-19 in an accessible way. In 'AI for Smart Pre-Teens and Teens Ages 10-19', you will learn all about the building blocks of AI, including machine learning, deep learning and neural networks. The book covers the history of AI from early computational systems up through the cutting-edge innovations powering the future. You will discover how AI already impacts your daily life and see future applications in healthcare, sustainability, and more. We learn from what leading AI experts like Sam Altman, Andrew Ng, Elon Musk, Satya Nadella, and others think about the role AI will play in the future. The book also stresses the importance of addressing ethics and bias in these powerful systems. A special chapter provides resources to continue your AI education, like online courses, competitions, and open-source communities. Whether you're a total beginner in AI or already coding, this book will empower you to participate in the AI revolution. You will gain basic AI literacy and skills for creating innovative projects, and pursuing STEM careers. Most importantly, you'll be ready to help shape how AI technologies are used to benefit society. Unlock the mysteries of AI and start unleashing your inner expert today! Dr. Leo Lexicon is an educator and author. He is the founder of Lexicon Labs, a publishing imprint that is focused on creating entertaining books for active minds.

This book is about how you, as a teacher, can use ChatGPT to make your job easier. The book also covers how not to use ChatGPT in your teaching. A central theme of the book is judgement, which is particularly relevant with powerful tools that have not been systematically tested in education. Part 1 of the book provides an introduction to what ChatGPT is and how to get started using the service. The end of Chapter 3 contains some tips that may also be useful for someone who has been using ChatGPT for a while. Chapter 2 is crucial, as it describes four potential pitfalls of AI that teachers need to be aware of. Part 2 focuses on practical applications. Chapters 5–10 contain examples of how you can use ChatGPT to make your job easier, and are probably the ones you will find most useful. While browsing the chapters for inspiration, be sure to read Chapter 4, which covers the dangers of misusing ChatGPT. Chapter 11 covers the issue of ChatGPT and cheating. Part 3 is primarily for those who want to know a bit more about AI itself. Chapter 12 provides background on recent AI developments, including some information on ChatGPT and the company OpenAI that owns the service. Chapter 13 discusses how our view of knowledge may change due to tools like ChatGPT and Chapter 14 covers risks of AI from a broader perspective. Finally there are some tips for those who want to know more about using AI as a teacher or general questions about AI.

The future is here - Artificial Intelligence has arrived, available to anyone from almost anywhere. The first book of the series will guide the user through how to use AI via ChatGPT using a variety of interactive examples. You'll learn tips and tricks for getting the most out of ChatGPT's interface and personalizing it for your use. Grab the book and hang on for an adventure into the practical realm of applied artificial intelligence.

Learn how to use ChatGPT, Bing Chat / Copilot, and Bard to get the most out of these powerful tools. ChatGPT has become a tool hundreds of millions use every day - yet few have mastered the art of sweet-talking these new AI chatbots into providing detailed and accurate responses to user prompts. It's vital for every professional tech user to have an understanding of how AI chatbots work, and how best to put them to work. While the fear is that AI will take people's jobs, it is more likely to be someone using AI that will! Getting Started with ChatGPT and AI Chatbotsexplores the 'big three' AI chatbots - OpenAI ChatGPT, Microsoft / Windows Copilot and Google Bard - demystifying their operation, and providing a wealth of tools for thinking about how to talk to these smart tools. Whether you're a business user, a tech student, or a curious professional, this book is for you to understand and demystify Large Language Models (LLMs) and generative AI tools, harnessing them to enhance your role.

NATIONAL BESTSELLER * "The conscience of the AI revolution" (Fortune) explains how we've arrived at an era of AI harms and oppression, and what we can do to avoid its pitfalls. "Dr. Joy Buolamwini has been an essential figure in bringing irresponsible, profit-hungry tech giants to their knees. If you're going to read only one book about AI, this should be it."--Darren Walker, president of the Ford Foundation A LOS ANGELES TIMES BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * Shortlisted for the Inc. Non-Obvious Book Award To most of us, it seems like recent developments in artificial intelligence emerged out of nowhere to pose unprecedented threats to humankind. But to Dr. Joy Buolamwini, who has been at the forefront of AI research, this moment has been a long time in the making. After tinkering with robotics as a high school student in Memphis and then developing mobile apps in Zambia as a Fulbright fellow, Buolamwini followed her lifelong passion for computer science, engineering, and art to MIT in 2015. As a graduate student at the "Future Factory," she did groundbreaking research that exposed widespread racial and gender bias in AI services from tech giants across the world. Unmasking AI goes beyond the headlines about existential risks produced by Big Tech. It is the remarkable story of how Buolamwini uncovered what she calls "the coded gaze"--the evidence of encoded discrimination and exclusion in tech products--and how she galvanized the movement to prevent AI harms by founding the Algorithmic Justice League. Applying an intersectional lens to both the tech industry and the research sector, she shows how racism, sexism, colorism, and ableism can overlap and render broad swaths of humanity "excoded" and therefore vulnerable in a world rapidly adopting AI tools. Computers, she reminds us, are reflections of both the aspirations and the limitations of the people who create them. Encouraging experts and non-experts alike to join this fight, Buolamwini writes, "The rising frontier for civil rights will require algorithmic justice. AI should be for the people and by the people, not just the privileged few."

"This colorful page-turner puts artificial intelligence into a human perspective. Through the lives of Geoff Hinton and other major players, Metz explains this transformative technology and makes the quest thrilling." --Walter Isaacson, author of The Code Breaker Recipient of starred reviews in both Kirkus and Library Journal THE UNTOLD TECH STORY OF OUR TIME   What does it mean to be smart? To be human? What do we really want from life and the intelligence we have, or might create?   With deep and exclusive reporting, across hundreds of interviews, New York Times Silicon Valley journalist Cade Metz brings you into the rooms where these questions are being answered. Where an extraordinarily powerful new artificial intelligence has been built into our biggest companies, our social discourse, and our daily lives, with few of us even noticing.    Long dismissed as a technology of the distant future, artificial intelligence was a project consigned to the fringes of the scientific community. Then two researchers changed everything. One was a sixty-four-year-old computer science professor who didn't drive and didn't fly because he could no longer sit down--but still made his way across North America for the moment that would define a new age of technology. The other was a thirty-six-year-old neuroscientist and chess prodigy who laid claim to being the greatest game player of all time before vowing to build a machine that could do anything the human brain could do.   They took two very different paths to that lofty goal, and they disagreed on how quickly it would arrive. But both were soon drawn into the heart of the tech industry. Their ideas drove a new kind of arms race, spanning Google, Microsoft, Facebook, and OpenAI, a new lab founded by Silicon Valley kingpin Elon Musk. But some believed that China would beat them all to the finish line.   Genius Makers dramatically presents the fierce conflict among national interests, shareholder value, the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the very human concerns about privacy, security, bias, and prejudice. Like a great Victorian novel, this world of eccentric, brilliant, often unimaginably yet suddenly wealthy characters draws you into the most profound moral questions we can ask. And like a great mystery, it presents the story and facts that lead to a core, vital question:   How far will we let it go?