LibGuides: 1904 St. Louis Olympics: Databases

Other Research Guides

Sports and Leisure
by Asha Norman Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 105 views this year
I Heart St. Louis Reference LibGuide
by Erin Davis Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 56 views this year
Historic Route 66
by Hillary Peppers Last Updated Jul 6, 2024 137 views this year
Missouri Oddities Road Trip
by Hillary Peppers Last Updated Aug 12, 2024 424 views this year

Database Introduction

The Library offers many databases that can help you explore the 1904 Olympics. Below you will find a list of these databases, a description, and a link to access them. To the left, you will see a list of other guides that may be of interest.

For assistance in using any of these databases, please call the Library at 314-994-3300.

1904 Olympics Databases

Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
The Newspapers.com database offers more than 10,000 digitized newspaper titles for large and small communities in the U.S. as well as newspapers in Canada, Australia, Ireland, the British Isles and Panama. Date range varies by publication.
Historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspaper from 1874-2003.
Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of several national daily newspapers. This database includes: Chicago Daily Tribune (1849-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), New York Times (1857-up to three years behind the current year of publication), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002), and Washington Post (1877-2003).
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text and indexing of many U.S. and international newspapers, including print and online-only resources. Provides comprehensive news and information on differing perspectives for a variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, international affairs and defense, sports and much more.
Explora - General Research and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for general research in a public library. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and top videos from the Associated Press.