Dyslexia and Print Disability Resources: Print Disability Info

A revolutionary new approach to ADD/ADHD featuring cutting-edge research and strategies to help readers thrive, by the bestselling authors of the seminal books Driven to Distraction and Delivered from Distraction. Lost in the discussion of both childhood and adult diagnosis of ADHD is the potential upside: Many hugely successful entrepreneurs and highly creative people attribute their achievements to ADHD. Also unknown to most are the recent research developments, including innovations that give a clearer understanding of the ADHD brain in action. In ADHD 2.0, Drs. Hallowell and Ratey draw on the latest science to provide both parents and adults with ADHD a plan for minimizing the downside and maximizing the benefits of ADHD at any age. They offer an arsenal of new strategies and lifestyle hacks for thriving with ADHD. As inspiring as it is practical, ADHD 2.0 will help you tap into the power of this mercurial condition and find the key that unlocks potential.

It's time to say no to trying to fit square-peg kids into round holes, and yes to raising them from a place of acceptance and joy. A how-to, a manifesto, and a wise and reassuring companion for parents of neuroatypical children, who often feel that they have no place to turn, Differently Wired offers 18 paradigm-shifting ideas--what the author calls "tilts"--that will change everything, including how to Get Out of Isolation and Connect, how to Help Your Kids Embrace Self-Discovery, and how to Show Up and Live in the Present. And through theses "tilts," how to stay open, pay attention, and become an exceptional parent to your exceptional child.    

This straightforward guide provides the essential information for parents and advocates to understand US law and get the right educational entitlements for a child with dyslexia. Using case studies and examples, this book demonstrates clearly how to apply the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) to the unique requirements of a dyslexic child. It offers simple, intelligible help for parents on how to coordinate successfully with their child's school and achieve the right services and support for their dyslexic child; up to and beyond getting an effective Individual Education Plan (IEP). Dyslexia Advocate! is an invaluable tool for parents trying to negotiate a complex legal system in order to get the best outcome for their child. It is an essential guide for anyone who is considering acting as an advocate for a child with dyslexia.

Filled with compelling ideas and practical tips, the updated third edition of this book—formerly titled Macular Disease—broadens its scope to offer a positive, take-charge approach to living with declining sight, regardless of the cause. Featuring photos of special lighting and other aids and insight from the author's own personal experience with impaired vision, this oversized handbook is ideally formatted for readers with vision loss by employing the use of large print on glare-resistant paper. Offering reassurance, hope, and personal insight, this revised edition contains practical tips for performing daily tasks, descriptions of adaptive strategies, and an expanded section on high-tech assistive technologies. With strong endorsements from medical communities, the book includes an invaluable index and resource list for readers.

In 1974, not long after developing the first universal optical character recognition technology, Raymond Kurzweil struck up a conversation with a blind man on a flight. Kurzweil explained that he was searching for a use for his new software. The blind man expressed interest: One of the frustrating obstacles that blind people grappled with, he said, was that no computer program could translate text into speech. Inspired by this chance meeting, Kurzweil decided that he must put his new innovation to work to "overcome this principal handicap of blindness." By 1976, he had built a working prototype, which he dubbed the Kurzweil Reading Machine. This type of innovation demonstrated the possibilities of computers to dramatically improve the lives of people living with disabilities. In Making Computers Accessible, Elizabeth R. Petrick tells the compelling story of how computer engineers and corporations gradually became aware of the need to make computers accessible for all people. Motivated by user feedback and prompted by legislation such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, which offered the promise of equal rights via technological accommodation, companies developed sophisticated computerized devices and software to bridge the accessibility gap. People with disabilities, Petrick argues, are paradigmatic computer users, demonstrating the personal computer's potential to augment human abilities and provide for new forms of social, professional, and political participation. Bridging the history of technology, science and technology studies, and disability studies, this book traces the psychological, cultural, and economic evolution of a consumer culture aimed at individuals with disabilities, who increasingly rely on personal computers to make their lives richer and more interconnected.

How reconsidering digital media and participatory cultures from the standpoint of disability allows for a full understanding of accessibility. While digital media can offer many opportunities for civic and cultural participation, this technology is not equally easy for everyone to use. Hardware, software, and cultural expectations combine to make some technologies an easier fit for some bodies than for others. A YouTube video without closed captions or a social network site that is incompatible with a screen reader can restrict the access of users who are hard of hearing or visually impaired. Often, people with disabilities require accommodation, assistive technologies, or other forms of aid to make digital media accessible--useable--for them. Restricted Access investigates digital media accessibility--the processes by which media is made usable by people with particular needs--and argues for the necessity of conceptualizing access in a way that will enable greater participation in all forms of mediated culture. Drawing on disability and cultural studies, Elizabeth Ellcessor uses an interrogatory framework based around issues of regulation, use, content, form, and experience to examine contemporary digital media. Through interviews with policy makers and accessibility professionals, popular culture and archival materials, and an ethnographic study of internet use by people with disabilities, Ellcessor reveals the assumptions that undergird contemporary technologies and participatory cultures. Restricted Access makes the crucial point that if digital media open up opportunities for individuals to create and participate, but that technology only facilitates the participation of those who are already privileged, then its progressive potential remains unrealized. Engagingly written with powerful examples, Ellcessor demonstrates the importance of alternate uses, marginalized voices, and invisible innovations in the context of disability identities to push us to rethink digital media accessibility.

Assistive Technologies in the Library discusses the role technology is playing in providing assistive measures in library to assist the people especially the differently abled ones in an efficient manner. Further it provides readers with the role and importance of library staff in helping differently abled readers in library. Funding and marketing campaigns are discussed in order to promote the initiative and to tell people about the dire need of these facilities even in small scale libraries.

There are plenty of products out there for making information accessible to all users, but how can administrators and managers determine which are the most practical and economical for their particular library? Mates, former director of the Ohio Library for the Blind and Physically Disabled, strips away the technical jargon and introduces dozens of the latest options, including hardware, software, and peripherals. This guide will help readers * Choose the products that are best for their organization, with the help of the evaluative commentary, lists of suppliers, and additional resources included * Set up work stations and train staff on how to use assistive-technology such as screen readers, Braille displays, keyboard options, listening devices, and more * Meet compliance with regulatory agencies while benefiting every member of the community This sensitively written and practical guidebook will be an indispensable resource for ensuring that a library's offerings are accessible to everyone.

This book helps libraries identify and implement new ways to serve their physically or mentally disabled patients. Authors Ann Roberts and Dr. Richard Smith work at the state level with persons with disabilities. They find that very few librarians feel comfortable with providing services addressed to the needs of the disabled, yet those who do offer services and programs other libraries can adopt and adapt. Crash Course in Library Services to People with Disabilities will help librarians get up to speed in understanding disabled persons and what they can do to make library premises and holdings more accessible to them. It provides basic information on the different types of mental and physical disabilities a librarian might encounter, then offers a range of exemplary policies, services, and programs for people with disabilities--efforts that are in place and working across the country. Provides assessment tools that help libraries gauge their ability to meet the needs of disabled patrons Includes a comprehensive index

This planning guide will enable libraries to create and maintain a truly inclusive environment for all patrons.

Simple, straightforward guidance for the practitioner who wants to use assistive technologies to extend library access. Keep it Simple: A Guide to Assistive Technologies provides a basic tutorial on common assistive computer applications and commonly available, inexpensive hardware and software to help librarians incorporate such aids into the library's current infrastructure. Focusing on applications commonly available on Microsoft Office and other low-cost technologies, this book offers guidance for the practitioner that can help every library move toward universal access. Librarians will find advice on planning accessible services, selecting appropriate assistive technologies, marketing disability services and assistive technology, and training staff in disability services issues and the use of assistive technology. Individual chapters cover print, hearing, speech, and mobility disabilities, offering resources and tutorials for each of these disability categories. Tutorials on technologies for individuals with disabilities arranged by disability category 47 Microsoft Accessibility Options screenshots Extensive bibliographies for each disability category and for universal access, training, and marketing A glossary of assistive technology terms Extensive resources for each disability category

In this issue of Library Technology Reports, editor Booth makes the case that that attention to the core principles of consistency, flexibility, and simplicity go hand in hand with libraries' commitments to open information and accessibility.

Ensuring accessibility is more important than ever; however, answering questions of what needs to be done and why to make a library accessible can be an uncomfortable and daunting hurdle to true inclusion. This book is a safe, nonjudgmental tool for overcoming this awkwardness, offering readers practical, to-the-point information and guidance that complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Its contributors showcase real-world stories and viewpoints that illustrate ways to provide excellent customer service and a safe environment to all patrons regardless of ability. Readers will learn about bridging the gap between people with disabilities and those without, through empathy, patience, and understanding; techniques for training staff and overcoming discomfort; making your library accessible for people with mobility issues; how to interact and assist a person with limited sight or hearing; guidance for interacting with a service animal handler; advice on library programming for people with learning differences; and best practices for effective service to patrons who use a speech assistance device.

Assistive Technology in Special Education presents a wealth of practical, well-organized information to help families, teachers, and therapists find effective solutions for students with learning, literacy, and cognitive challenges. This third edition features new affordable tools to improve and compensate for challenges related to speaking, understanding, reading, writing, and thinking and remembering, as well as strategies to help students become more organized and efficient. Also highlighted are iOS devices, G Suite (Google Apps and Extensions), online collaborative sites, and features built into the computers and mobile devices readers already use. As technology changes and new operating systems make older programs obsolete, this book will empower readers to explore the most current resources as they become available.

An accessible, practical guide to incorporating the 10 essential EdTech skills and strategies in every learning setting. In a world awash in technology, what EdTech skills and strategies should educators focus on to ensure they are making the best use of online spaces for classroom learning? How can they navigate through the overwhelming number of options in digital tools and spaces? How can they guide students in learning best practices? EdTech consultant Monica Burns answers these and other questions in this powerful and reader-friendly guide to incorporating EdTech across all grade levels and subject areas, and in both distance-learning and face-to-face environments. Readers will gain practical advice on Navigating online spaces, Curating resources, Introducing opportunities for exploring the world, Developing collaboration structures, Providing time and space to create learning products, Assessing students, Creating opportunities for sharing, Connecting student work to relevant audiences, Developing transferable skills, and Planning for tech-rich learning experiences. Each chapter explains why the skill or strategy is essential, including supporting research, classroom examples, guiding questions for planning and reflection, and suggested websites and digital tools for classroom use. The book also includes access to downloadable forms to help you set goals, assess your progress, and build your EdTech tool belt. Timely, accessible, and informed by the author's experience and expertise, EdTech Essentials is a must-read for educators who want proven ways to prepare their students to be productive, responsible users of technology both within and outside the classroom.

This playful yet professional book is designed to help educators select, acquire and implement technology to help all students, but especially those with special needs. School districts often struggle to develop consistent practices for meeting the needs of special education students. With this book, you'll learn how embracing student-centered approaches like project-based learning and growth mindset works to support students with disabilities. You'll get guidance on how to plan and execute educational experiences using technology centered around the needs of students with disabilities. And you'll learn how to effectively and consistently consider and select technological supports based on the specific needs of an individual student with a disability. This book: Details how an educational team can request assistance to determine technology needs. Explains how to conduct and document assessments to help an educational team make informed decisions about technology needs. Describes a proactive approach to professional development for individuals and for those who train others on the use of technology. Assists individuals or teams in creating an action plan for developing a culture of inclusion. Interweaves stories, songs and other exciting features to make learning fun! The New Assistive Tech is a catalyst for breaking down walls between special education and general education, and will help all educators realize they have tech knowledge (and can build upon that knowledge) that can be used to support students with disabilities. Audience: K-12 educators