STEAM education is a holistic approach to learning that combines science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics. It's an evolution of the STEM education model that adds the arts to the mix. STEAM education encourages students to think outside the box, solve problems innovatively, and make connections between seemingly unrelated subjects. It also helps students develop critical thinking skills by encouraging them to ask questions, identify problems, and develop solutions. (STEAM definition written by Google Gemini.)
Crayola ® Colorful STEAM Activities by
Explore STEAM with hands-on activities! Experiment with color to grow crystals with paint and salt, use kitchen ingredients to create works of art, and more! Each activity is created in partnership with Crayola.
Crayola ® STEAM Teams by
Take a look at the many ways that teams use STEAM to solve problems. From developing smartphones to capturing images of black holes, there's nothing teams can't do when they work together!
Crayola ® Super Simple STEAM Activities by
Use everyday materials to explore STEAM principles! Build a maze from paper plates and chenille stems, create collages with overlapping mediums, make a mosaic out of clay, and explore tessellations by remixing art.
Goo Makers by
What happens when you mix different substances? In this STEAM title, you'll answer this question and others when you make goo, foam, and other slimy stuff. This title supports NGSS for Matter and Its Interactions.
Gross Science Projects by
Science can be messy - and revolting! The projects in this STEAM title are a great way to add some fun to science explorations. This title supports NGSS for Matter and Its Interactions.
Leonardo's Science Workshop by
Leonardo's Science Workshop leads children on an interactive adventure through key science concepts by following the multidisciplinary approach of the Renaissance period polymath Leonardo da Vinci: experimenting, creating projects, and exploring how art intersects with science and nature. Photos of Leonardo's own notebooks, paintings, and drawings provide visual inspiration. More than 500 years ago, Leonardo knew that the fields of science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics (STEAM) are all connected. The insatiably curious Leonardo examined not just the outer appearance of his art subjects, but the science that explained them. He began his studies as a painter, but his curiosity, diligence, and genius made him also a master sculptor, architect, designer, scientist, engineer, and inventor. The Leonardo's Workshop series shares this spirit of multidisciplinary inquiry with children through accessible, engaging explanations and hands-on learning. This fascinating book harnesses children's innate curiosity to explore some of Leonardo's favorite subjects, including flight, motion, technology design, perspective, and astronomy. After each topic is explained with concepts from physics, chemistry, math, and engineering, kids can experience the principles first-hand with step-by-step STEAM projects. They will explore: The physics of flight by observing birds and experimenting with paper airplane designs The science of motion by building a windup dragonfly Gravitational acceleration with water balloons The movement of electrons by making cereal "dance" Technology design by making paper and fabric using recycled material Scientific perspective by drawing a 3D illusion Insight from other great thinkers--such as Galileo Galilei, James Clerk Maxwell, and Sir Isaac Newton--are woven into the lessons throughout. Introduce vital STEAM skills through visually rich, hands-on learning with Leonardo's Science Workshop.
STEAM Lab for Kids by
STEAM Lab for Kids is an art-forward doorway to science, math, technology, and engineering through 52 family-friendly experiments and activities. While many aspiring artists don't necessarily identify with STEM subjects, and many young inventors don't see the need for art, one is essential to the other. Revealing this connection and encouraging kids to explore it fills hungry minds with tools essential to problem solving and creative thinking. Each of the projects in this book is designed to demonstrate that the deeper you look into art, the more engineering and math you'll find. Following clear, photo-illustrated step-by-step instructions, learn about: Angular momentum by creating tie-dyed fidget spinners. Electrical conductors by making a light-up graphite-circuit comic book. Kinetic energy by constructing a rubber-band racer car. Parabolic curves by creating string art with pushpins and a board. Symmetry by making fruit and veggie stamp paintings. And much more! Along with the creative, hands-on activities, you'll find: Suggestions for taking your projects to the next level with "Creative Enrichment." Accessible explanations of the "The STEAM Behind the Fun," including cross-disciplinary related topics. Safety tips and hints. The projects can be used as part of a homeschool curriculum, for family fun, at parties, or as educational activities for groups. Many of the activities are safe enough for children as young as toddlers and exciting enough for older kids, so families can discover the joy of STEAM together. The popular Lab for Kids series features a growing list of books that share hands-on activities and projects on a wide host of topics, including art, astronomy, clay, geology, math, and even how to create your own circus--all authored by established experts in their fields. Each lab contains a complete materials list, clear step-by-step photographs of the process, as well as finished samples. The labs can be used as singular projects or as part of a yearlong curriculum of experiential learning. The activities are open-ended, designed to be explored over and over, often with different results. Geared toward being taught or guided by adults, they are enriching for a range of ages and skill levels. Gain firsthand knowledge on your favorite topic with Lab for Kids.
The Zoom, Fly, Bolt, Blast STEAM Handbook by
For kids who like to make cool things, The Zoom, Fly, Bolt, Blast STEAM Handbook, features fun and easy, step-by-step projects to get young tinkerers making things they never thought possible! Make an automaton, a pneumatic machine, a suspension bridge, a flexible hand, a crash-test car, even a (working) vacuum cleaner! The Zoom, Fly, Bolt, Blast STEAM Handbook gives parents and kids ages 6 to 10 a selection of 18 engaging projects to build together. And when they're finished, they'll have personalized creations that fly, race, and blast off! Each project includes clear and simple instruction, materials lists featuring items that can be found at most common craft or hardware stores, as well as an introduction to the design thinking process. Readers are encouraged to improve an existing design, troubleshoot things that aren't working, and add their own creative touches. This project book is the latest title by Rockport's creative-engineering rockstar, Lance Akiyama, (who you may remember from Rubber Band Engineer, Duct Tape Engineer, and Launchers, Lobbers, and Rockets Engineer) and was made in cooperation with Galileo Learning. Galileo Learning operates over 70 innovation camps in Chicagoland and California, where Lance proudly works as a curriculum developer. Galileo's curriculum is rigorously developed by a small team of project-based learning experts, including former classroom teachers, Stanford University grads, entrepreneurs, artists, and makers. Each project idea is created to support Galileo's mission of developing innovators who envision and create a better world.
Choose from an assortment of STEAM projects like:
Real Chemistry Experiments by
Full STEAM ahead!--21st-century chemistry for kids Chemistry for kids can be so much fun! Real Chemistry Experiments has 40 exciting and engaging experiments with a real-life STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Math) connection for kids. Become a better problem-solver, inventor, and innovator with these fascinating chemistry experiments. Each one has a clear purpose or question that's being asked, step-by-step instructions, a list of materials you'll need, questions to help you record your observations, and more. By the time you're through, you'll have chemistry for kids down to a science! This book of chemistry for kids includes: Easy-to-find materials--From tap water and paper towels, to popsicle sticks and dish soap, the materials needed for these experiments are quick and easy to find. Real-life science--Learn the real chemistry behind how and why each experiment works, like why water and oil don't mix in Oily Oceans, how geodes form in Eggshell Geodes, and more. Chemistry basics--Get tons of info about chemistry and what it is, from the scientific method and the Periodic Table, to atoms and the five main areas of study. Imagine all the things you can learn, create, and discover in this colorful book about chemistry for kids--the sky's the limit!
Crayola ® Nature STEAM Activities by
These projects and experiments show readers elements of STEAM they can see in nature every day. Build a sundial and a wind vane, and collect leaves, grass, and bugs for observation and exploration.
Super STEAM: 10 Fun Experiments about Art and Music by
Art and music are often seen as separate from science, but there is a lot to learn when they are considered together: STEAM! Young scientists investigate chromatography, photography, tone, and how music is made with different objects in this super-fun book of experiments, presented by Scientific American. Each project is preceded by a Background section that explains the scientific concept that the experiment or activity is exploring. The clear instructions guide readers through the rest of the scientific method through gathering materials, setting up, performing the experiment, and examining the results.
STEAM Lab for Kids by
A fun and interactive introduction to Science, Technology, Energy, Art, and Math for the whole family.
Awesome Chemistry Experiments for Kids by
Chemistry comes alive with hands-on science experiments for kids ages 5 to 10 The world of chemistry is packed with awesome ways for kids to learn and play! Filled with colorful and gooey fun, these science experiments for kids are sure to get them interested in discovering how different substances react together. Whether it's creating fizzy bath bombs or making batteries out of coins, each of these science experiments for kids provides a simple hypothesis and the guidance they need to test it out for themselves. Go beyond other science books for kids with: 40 fun chemistry experiments--Introduce kids to real chemistry with experiments that they can do at home using easy-to-find materials--and an adult assistant. Kid-friendly explanations--Ensure young scientists are getting the most out of the experiments with simple breakdowns of exactly what happened, why, and how it connects to STEAM. A handy mess-o-meter and more--Pick the perfect experiment with helpful labels that detail the difficulty, time needed, and the amount of cleanup. Foster a lifelong love of scientific exploration with these amazing science experiments for kids.
Real Science Experiments by
Take your scientific exploration to the next level with real experiments for kids ages 8 to 12 Here's a hypothesis you can prove: science is a ton of fun! These science experiments for kids give you the opportunity to test this theory using 40 exciting activities that teach you all about science, technology, engineering, art, and math--the full STEAM package! From microscopes and candle-powered boats to insect mind control and hydroponics, these science experiments for kids offer a hands-on approach to scientific discovery. Each of these engaging and repeatable experiments give you the chance to get up-close, personal, and creative with all kinds of amazing ideas that will show you how to be a real scientist. This collection of science experiments for kids includes: STEAM for you--Take STEAM learning into your own hands with awesome, easy-to-do science experiments for kids that are perfect for doing at home. Science made simple--From hypothesis to observation to results, learn all about the power of the scientific method--and how you can use it every day. Hows and whys--Each of these science experiments for kids details exactly why things happen the way they do, helping you better understand the results you see. Take your first step into a world of scientific discovery with the help of these amazing science experiments for kids.